We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem Hidden in Plain Sight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wellcome Collection

Wellcome Collection
183 Euston Rd, London NW1 2BE, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)
44 020 7611 2222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #133 of 1,081 attractions in London
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This museum shows the connection between medicine, art and life.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Gem Hidden in Plain Sight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This place is right opposite Euston Station in central London but not that many Londoners know about it, those that do become loyal fans. It has three elements, the Wellcome collection of bizzre and unusual medical artifacts [free], regular exhibitions [typically free and very good] and a cafe with gift shop that has free wifi and is a great place to meet up.

If you like a beer then the Euston tap is a must http://www.eustontap.com/ with some of the best real ale in London, its right outside the station hidden inside a monumental gate house and the Bree Louise is a short stagger away

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    55
    10
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not open on Mondays”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

While the library and cafe were open, I could not see any of the exhibits and had to go back at a later date.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I'm living in London for a few months (not a native), and as I walked home from work one day I happened upon the Wellcome Collection. The exhibition on the ground floor didnt quite connect with me (this gallery changes regularly), but upstairs fascinated me. First, the look at the human body in 'Medicine Now' was brilliant, looking at medicine through sciene and art. And then I went to the Medicine Man gallery (which is Wellcome's Collection of mainly medical related articfacts).

And absolute delight to discover this place, and more surprises ensued, as there was Napoleons toothbrush, Nightingales shoes, Nelson's razor, Darwins walking sticts etc. And this fascinating, and slightly random, collection including artificial limbs, a Peruvian Mummy, anti masturbation tools, Japanese sex toys, etc.

The cafe is meant to be great too (but I didn't go) and I hope to make it to one of their talks before I move from London.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This really is worth a visit, especially if you are interested in medical history. the audio guide is excellent, pulling no punches in describing a number of things, and including some very gruesome stuff too. There is also a brilliant café with nice food at reasonable prices. Best of all, it's free!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great for a rainy day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Interesting collection, a random mix of art and museum pieces, some a little bit gruesome, like the shrunken head. A great kids activity pack, cafe and cool finds in the shop. Some really interesting talks on the calendar, 3D printing and eating insects, Unfortunately we were only in London for a few days so couldn't go to any, but well worth a visit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wellcome Collection also viewed

 

Been to Wellcome Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wellcome Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wellcome Collection to your Saves list