We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Metro Hotel

Save Saved
You added Metro Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Metro Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7A Craven Rd | Paddington, London W2 3BP, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #889 of 1,073 hotels in London
Bron, Rhone-Alpes, France
1 review
“Good for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Went in the Metro Hotel in February 2013 with three friends (4 nights stay). So yes, this is not the hilton, it's a minimal service, but you have what you pay for. And for the price I was surprised, especially having read comments of people who had a bad time there. It wasn't our case. The room was good, beds also. Fridge in the room, toilets and shower in a tiny space but it was okay.

I would recommend the hotel for a short stay + small budget.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    19
    21
    19
    24
See reviews for
13
36
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We booked & paid for 4 nights at this centrally located hotel. When we arrived back at the hotel on the 3rd nignt we were told we had to change rooms the following morning. We packed our suitcases and went on a day trip to Oxford arriving back about 9pm. When we asked which room we were in we were told we were at another hotel. The young man on the desk was very apologetic & guided & helped us to another hotel then proceded to show us our room - up 6 flights of narrow stairs. We are in our seventies, one with a heart condition, so consider we were put into a situation which could have caused serious consequences.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We booked a 3 single bed en suite room. We needed somewhere close to central to stay while we checked out London. And let me say this place did not disappoint. The staff were friendly. We stayed in room 6. This is a great little budget hotel. The room we was given was awesome. The beds were clean and fresh. We had laminated flooring which was great because there was never and issue with spillages if we were to have a few drinks. The beds had wheels which made it tons of fun and it would start rolling every time we would lean against the wall. The room also came with fold up chairs which was an added bonus. Each bedroom had its own light which was ideal if one of us had a nightmare and we could turn it on without waking up others. This room even came with a fridge! That was just the icing on the cake! the continental breakfast we had was to die for. just what we needed after a heavy night out.. The hotel has free wi-fi with a decent signal. The en suite was really good. it was clean. the shower was powerful and kept at a high temperature. The location of this hotel is perfect. 1 minute power walk from Paddington tube station. 5 minutes walk from Hyde park. There is even a convenience store right opposite. Great little Italian cafe next door. If i had one negative feedback i would say that they should have a microwave. I've had 2 awesome nights in London and i feel the Metro hotel had played a big roll in it too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodz, Poland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. We were 3 persons staying on a triple room. The room was quite small but it was exactly as showed on pictures at the time we made the reservation..so we were not surprised. The hotel is extremly well located and the neighborhood is really nice you can find pretty much everything there. This is a budget hotel, so I will recommend this place for young people, easy going kind, no luxury, just a place to crash in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in September (2012). It is very close to Paddington rail station and the tube stations (the website gives directions, but this all depends on which exit you come out of and whether this is rail or tube, I still don't know now which exit we came out of!). We received a warm welcome from a young guy. The hotel is probably not good for older people or people who struggle with stairs as you go in the front door (via a buzz and camera system) and go straight up a lot of stairs. Our room was on the same floor as reception. It was fairly warm weather outside but our room was so hot it was uncomfortable. We had to have the window wide open all night which, with the generator right outside the window, made for a pretty rubbish nights sleep. At first we thought our room was quite clean but the more we looked, the more dirt we found. The bed was fairly comfortable. Being at the back of the hotel, we couldn't hear any road noise but we think we could probably hear the rumble of the underground. The walls between the rooms are quite thin so not very sound proof. The breakfast, delivered on a tray to your room at a time of your choice, was not brilliant - consisted of biscuits, crackers, longlife style yogurts, crossaints and pastry and some other fairly random things. It was such a disappointment not to have had any milk provided for a cup of tea; in the room there is a kettle, coffee, tea bags, cups and powedered milk which tasted awful in tea. On the second morning we declined the breakfast and instead went to the little Italian style cafe right next door, paid about £6 each for a lovely cooked breakfast and cup of tea! The shower was ok, warm and powerful. I'd say that if it wasn't for the cheap price (about £44 per night per room), the short stay, the friendly guy on reception and the good location (it's close to Notting Hill and Hyde Park, although the immediate surroundings aren't great) we would have been more disappointed, but these things made it bareable.

Room Tip: Probably best to ask for higher floor room (if ok with stairs) and at the back of the hotel, to avoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I went to London in September 2012 for a 2 day trip with my wife and needed a hotel just to sleep in as we had a lot of sight seeing planned. When we arrived at the Metro we had to climb a set of steep stairs just to get to reception where we were told by a very young gentleman (who is the only member of staff) that we were on the 3rd floor, more stairs to climb with luggage!. When I opened the door I was amazed at the size of the room, it was a box room with a double bed in it and not much else, at the time I thought ok we are only here to sleep so let's get on with it. The bed was broken and sloped to th left hand side, the blanket that was on the bed made both of us sneeze with the dust after only 2 minutes, the window did not close properly and let in a draft and a lot of noise from the street, the floor was not clean and my wife put down a newspaper on it to walk about (the 2 feet that could be walked on). The shower room was a little better but the actual shower it's self was small and did not have enough room to move about in.

When we came back at night time we were tired so want just to sleep. however this was not possible beacouse of the 24/7 work that was being done on the Paddington Tube Station, not the fault of the hotel however as mentioned above the window did not provide any sound blockage. I had to buy ears plugs for the next nights stay.

The breakfast is amazing if you want a sugar rush first thing in the morning, it consists of a packet crossiant, bourbon creams, crackers, processed cheese, cup cakes and a carton of OJ. Needless to say we didn't eat much of it.

When we were checking out the man was no where to been seen, we waited for about 20 minutes however as there is no bell to grab his attention we just had to leave the key and go.

I would like to say something nice about this hotel but I can't. Yes it is cheap but please if you are reading this spend a little more to avoid a sleepless night with dust filled blankets. You would be better going to a hostel than staying here if you need to do things on the cheap.

Mike

Room Tip: There are no good rooms in the hotel, they are box rooms with beds that are old, broken and filled w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

recommend this hotel for budget traveller looking for vlaue and location ,just go out the main entrance of paddington station take a right 100m and its across the road beside hairdresser and italian restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Metro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel

Address: 7A Craven Rd | Paddington, London W2 3BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #889 of 1,073 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Metro Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Budget Places, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Metro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metro Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.