We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New York style in the heart of London” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ham Yard Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ham Yard Hotel to your Saves list
Ham Yard Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Ham Yard, London W1D 7DT, England (Soho)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Ascot,
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
“New York style in the heart of London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

Fans of the Firmdale chain have been awaiting Ham Yard with considerable anticipation and my wife and I finally managed to organise an overnight at the Bank Holiday weekend. It was worth the wait!

Committed enthusiasts for the smaller hotels such as Covent Garden or Charlotte Street will find a very different atmosphere and feel here due to the all-new hotel's size and consequently different vibe but they will not be disappointed to find that all of the best aspects of every Firmdale outpost remains firmly in place. Friendly, engaging and relaxed staff. Stylish, comfortable and remarkably well equipped bedrooms. Buzzy and bustling bar and restaurant. All these familiar aspects have been transferred to Ham Yard - thanks in part to many of the senior team having been moved across from the other venues - creating a comfortably familiar personality.

Perhaps the biggest similarity will be noticed by those who have stayed at Crosby Street in New York. The extra size, the larger crowds of drinkers and diners, the greater numbers of staff are all reminders of the US outpost. But there is much to keep Firmdale traditionalists happy.

Quiet, relaxed corners abound. There is still the reassuring provision of an honesty bar for a late nightcap in the resident-only library. The engaging nature of everyone from check-in to room service remains firmly Firmdale!

And the rooms couldn't belong anywhere else! They may be boasting the latest style-book look, but clearly Kit Kemp and her creative team were determined to ensure continuity - even if some of the colour and trend combinations are clearly bang up to date the rooms have that "how do you manage to put so many potentially divisive elements together and come up with a harmonious feel" Firmdale style!

For stick-in-the-muds at least the bathrooms have exactly the same look as all the other properties.

It would be wrong not to say that there are perhaps one or two initial teething troubles to be ironed out. Clearly many of the restaurant team are new to Firmdale and so some elements of service can be tightened. But the quality of the food, drink and general service is way above the price-tag! This will undoubtedly become a go-to location London's hip and trendy - deservedly so.

If you are staying, don't miss out on the fourth-floor roof terrace. It is a peaceful, green retreat from the fast pace of the public areas and I can imagine many a cocktail reception taking place in here in the time ahead.

Welcome Ham Yard - I can only imagine that the teams at Soho and Haymarket will be both envious and worried - which probably means they will work even harder to pull back their loyal clients who perhaps have been tempted by the new arrival!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    30
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
34
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Just back from a bank holiday weekend in London. We stayed at the Ham Yard having been regulars at The Soho Hotel for some time. We decided to give The Ham Yard a "go" and (not surprisingly with Firmdale's standards) it was was wonderful. The design, fit and finish is quite stunning and the staff friendly and so helpful. Afternoon tea was a highlight but don't plan on eating for the rest of the delay.

So...why the dilemma? We love the Soho Hotel; we now love The Ham Yard as well; where do we stay next time? I suppose the answer is visit twice as often and alternate:-)

Well done again Firmdale.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We have stayed at most of the Firmdale hotels and always had a great time there and Ham Yard was no exception.
It is a little clam oasis in the midst of Soho. It is beautifully furnished as they always are, and as always we felt truly welcome and at home! We had a deluxe junior suite which was gorgeous and spacious and we loved the floor to ceiling windows.
The bar has a great vibe and we tried some expertly made and delicious cocktails. We didn't have afternoon tea but it looked lovely!
We would highly recommend the bowling alley! We spent a fabulously fun hour sipping champagne and being very bad at bowling. The setting is very special!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

On our final day of a family weekend trip to London with our 7 year old son. It was his 1st trip to the capital and the hotel was just in the perfect location for all of the sightseeeing. Rooms and staff are fantastic and it gets the balance just right between luxury an friendliness. We ate in the hotel one night and that was great as well with an extensive kids menu. All that's left this morning is another quality breakfast and a ten pin bowling in their basement private bowling alley. Hopefully back very soon!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Just returned from a client lunch witha colleague (four of us in total) and had a wonderful afternoon at Ham Yard Restaurant. The surroundings a lovely & the staff are attentive and freindly.

As it was a slightly chilly day today, we decided to eat inside by the window but the courtyard looks great and i would certainly pop in for a cocktail on a sunny afternoon. The location is great, 3-4 min walk from picadilly station but down a small side road, so no hustle and bustle!

We all enjoyed our starts - crab with poached duck egg for me, burrata and scallops for my colleague and our guests.

Our mains were just as tasty, however we all thought there was alot of fish and veggie options but not meat - no steak for instance which was a bit of a shame.

Instead of wine we all opted for cocktails- I have a delicious one, forgotten the name but it had prosecco and elderflower - so good I had two!!

All in all a great hotel restuarant, perfect central location serving good quality food and drink. The bill came to £171 for 4 people with starters, mains and a round of cocktails (plus one more for me) - which I think was well worth.

I'd certainly go again and would reccomend to anyone- both business and pleasure!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, null, Monaco
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Very new clean morden hotel.
Very helpful and polite staff.
You are near to all theatres and musicals!
Good food in the restaurant and they are open very late!
The rooms are really big for the city centre hotel
I don't give 5 stars only because of the absence of the swimming pool

Room Tip: Ask for a view from your window- some rooms look on the roofs and they are not as charming as in Par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Wonderful new hotel in London. The hotel itself has lots of different rooms and great decor in all. Don't miss the roof top terrace which is a lovely space. We had afternoon tea outside and location and food was brilliant. We could not eat all the food but it was lovely - the pimms dessert was especially delicious! They catered for vegetarians too. Staff were very friendly and gave us a tour of the hotel afterwards which included many rooms which can be hired privately. There is also a bowling alley, dancefloor and well equiped gym/spa.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ham Yard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ham Yard Hotel

Address: 1 Ham Yard, London W1D 7DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in London
#20 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ham Yard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tablet Hotels, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ham Yard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ham Yard Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ham Yard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.