We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful afternoon tea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ham Yard Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ham Yard Hotel to your Saves list
Ham Yard Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Ham Yard, London W1D 7DT, England (Soho)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 1,066 Hotels in London
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful afternoon tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Like a previous reviewer, we also enjoyed a delicious afternoon tea in the drawing room of this wonderful new hotel. Special mention has to go to our excellent waiter, Paul, who ensured our mother daughter treat was truly special.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    36
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
29
46
11
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This new firmdale output steps away from Piccadilly is a bright beautiful oasis. Large by Firmdale standards (Soho Hotel, Covent Garden Hotel, etc), but relaxed and comfortable. The courtyard in front is great for dining and the large spacious bar is well appointed. We had breakfast and dinner at the Ham Yard dinning room. The food was very good. For breakfast, the avocado on rye and chili beans and eggs were delicious. For dinner, the gnochi was a standout. The rooms are very large with floor to ceiling windows and granite marble bathrooms. All rooms are unique and the beds are extremely cosy. The rooms were surprizingly quiet. We face the back on an alley with rooftop views. Also, special items: the roof terrance and garden for drinks or snacks, the fitness center and spa as well as the bowling alley (L20 per person per hour). The staff were very nice and welcoming. Don't miss tea (the scones are great!). If you like small boutique hotels this may be too big for you, but the Kip Kemp design and staff still make this unique relaxing and a first class choice. Looking forward toward our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

worked round the corner from Ham yard .. this hotel creates a new buzz to the area .. been here for their opening evening .. evening coffee .. show round to view all areas of the property .. extremely impressive .. had dinner with friends last night .. the starter Scallop is to die for .. main Seared Tuma another thumbs up !! we were so full .. cannot fit in dessert ! service is excellent .. very cozy dining area and not expensive at all .. Ham yard has now become my favourite entertainment location .. kept up the good work Firmdale group .. thank you .

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I am a Firmdale groupie so had to stay at Ham Yard. Arrived at 13:00 but room was not ready so went for lunch in the bar area. After sitting for 15 minutes and no sign of any staff member approaching we left for the Soho Hotel, part of the same group, for lunch. Arriving back at 14:30 our room was still not ready and the receptionist was about to send us away to wait in one of the public rooms when her manager offered a free upgrade. Our room was amazing and large with bath and walk in shower. Breakfast was excellent and after shopping all day we returned to find our room had not been serviced, time 16:00. Quick word at the desk and this was quickly resolved. The hotel is out of this world but has many staffing and service issues that I hope will be resolved through time. I stay in London 2-3 times a year, primarily to stay in Firmdale hotels, but next time it's back to the Haymaret.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

A couple weeks ago I had to be in London for an evening work event, and a friend of mine said if you have time you should see the new Ham Yard Hotel in Soho, it's a short walk from Selfridges- our 'final' destination.

We had a tour of the newly opened hotel and had a delicious afternoon tea in their restaurant.

Girly afternoon tea for three was the best I've ever had! There were mini crispy duck burgers, chorizo sausage rolls, red velvet cupcakes, amazing macaroons, along with the traditional sandwiches, scones, clotted cream, strawberry jam and selection of cakes.

If you have an hour or so spare I would highly recommend afternoon tea at Ham Yard. The service was fantastic, the ambiance was great- I love the decor, and there's an option of having tea in the conservatory, lounge, restaurant, outside or on the roof terrace! How many places in London can you enjoy afternoon tea with a savoury twist and in the fresh air?!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Just spent 4 days at Ham Yard with my family...excellent in every way. Wonderful staff, bedrooms are large with even larger bathrooms. Very comfortable bed. Gym was superb and we got to watch Wimbledon on the huge screen in the Cinema. Ate one dinner in the bar and tried almost every dish as they were all small plates. Excellent although also ordered off the main menu and loved their gnocchi. We were worried about the location being right off of Piccadilly Circus but even though it is one block away you would never know it unless you wanted to use the tube as the property is built onto itself and it was quite quiet and peaceful in its square. The location was particularly great for shopping, good pubs and restaurants but our favorite was a small ramen shop just next door which was the best we have had anywhere but Japan. Definitely would go back but would like to try Firmdale's other London hotels.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This past Saturday afternoon I reserved a spot for about 15 of us, and without a doubt, everyone enjoyed it. Lots of great seating areas with couches, natural light coming in from numerous high skylights, great decor. And great service, especially from Lizzie, who looked after us for about 5 hours (and an overall total of about 25 people eventually I think).

This is my new go-to place. It's by the same folks who do Charlotte St Hotel and Soho Hotel and the Refuel Bar, but this is by far the largest bar space. And they have an outdoor courtyard where you can sit too. Absolutely brilliant time, thank you Ham Yard.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ham Yard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ham Yard Hotel

Address: 1 Ham Yard, London W1D 7DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in London
#21 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ham Yard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Venere, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Ham Yard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ham Yard Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ham Yard Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.