We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm staying here again!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of London City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added London City Hotel to your Saves list
London City Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Borough High Street, London SE1 1JX, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #232 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“I'm staying here again!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Does what it says on the tin – it’s a good room right in the middle of Southwark (come out of Borough tube, next door on your right). Clean rooms, attentive reception. Prices reasonable for central London too. Can’t say anymore than that for just one nights stay but I have no criticism on it personally.

However I saw no access to any of the rooms for those less able – there are a lot of narrow and steep stairs (not saying there wasn't any, I just didn't take it in).

Easy to book either direct or through booking.com. Similar in some respects to a Premier Inn, I’d describe it as “no frills, but professional”.

I think I'll stay in this area again in future - it's a vibrant place to go and there are plenty of good pubs & eateries in the area.

Room Tip: I had a room at the back so there was no road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1948john, Guest Relations Manager at London City Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review and for staying with us at London City Hotel.

Really pleased to hear that the location worked for you. It is an incredibly central location, next to the tube station with plenty of sights for tourists and access to the city for business visitors.

As you mentioned it in your review, I will take this opportunity to say that we have ground floor access, since opening up four new rooms.

Hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    185
    35
    12
    10
See reviews for
61
117
66
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vitoria, ES
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I'd like to thank to all London City Hotel personnel for my accomodation during 2 days. Jet-lag after 12 hours from Miami and they helped me out with a fast accomodation and an affordable price. The apartment was so clean and clear! It's the same as viewed on pics! thank you very very much and I wanna spend my next days off at London City Hotel! the location couldn't be better, next to Borough Station, Borough Market, Tate, London Bridge, London Tower... greetings from Brazil!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1948john, Guest Relations Manager at London City Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Paula,

Thank you very much for your review. On behalf of all the staff we really appreciate your comments and are very pleased to know that you received a good service and the apartment worked well for you.

Please do keep in touch and we hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

As a solo traveller who likes quiet and comfort, this was a nice surprise. I had a small en suite double bedded room on the ground floor. Compact, but with everything I needed, very clean and quiet, and a most comfy bed. Couldn't be handier to Borough station, but no train noise noticed by me. And the Café Riva downstairs do an excellent breakfast! Nothing else needed. My thanks to the very helpful and welcoming staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1948john, Guest Relations Manager at London City Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Lesley,

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. It is very good to know that the benefits of word of mouth helped you to find us.

From your review it sounds like you stayed in one of our single deluxe rooms. The rooms on the ground floor opened very recently and are proving very popular, especially with the easy access to Cafe Riva and all its delights.

We look forward to receiving any of your friends that you recommend us to.

Kind regards,
Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in May and found it to be a brilliant little hotel. Right next to Borough tube station (i.e. the front door is about 4 metres from the entrance to the station - turn right and there you are) it is within walking distance of the Tate Modern (15 mins) and the amazing Borough Market (10 Mins). The tube station is on the main Northern Line so it's extremely easy to travel around London and it connects directly to London Kings Cross/St Pancras International. The hotel itself, including a small reception i one of the rooms at the front, is up quite a steep but short flight of stairs - you need to ring the doorbell when you first arrive and they will let you in. We stayed in room 5, on the first floor at the bak along the corridor from the reception. A double ensuite, it was a decent size, clean and a comfy bed - & tea & coffee making facilities were included.
There is no restaurant or breakfast available, but from what I can tell the downstairs cafe is owned by the same people. We never tried it (Borough Market was one of the main reasons we were visiting) but it always looked quite busy which must be a good sign.
There are plently of nice shops, pubs and cafes nearby (although you HAVE to go to Borough Market if you get a chance!!)
When we were due to leave they even offered to store our bags for the day as our flight home wasn't until the evening.
All in all, a lovely hotel with friendly staff which will be my first choice now each time we travel to London.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1948john, Guest Relations Manager at London City Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Katy,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed review of our hotel and local area. The location is excellent and you are right about Borough Market. A fantastic place to wander around with delicious produce to photograph and eat! Shame that you did not make it into Cafe Riva (many of our ingredients are sourced from Borough Market and small scale producers), maybe next time.

We very much welcome guests to leave their luggage to make the most of your last day in London. Good to know that it was so helpful for you.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards,
Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Country
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Picked this hotel on the strengths of the reviews. 2 nights in a twin room with ensuite. The room was clean, simple but had everything you needed. We were on the top floor, this hotel has no lift, but I am 7 months pregnant and managed the stairs! The room did not have air con, but a large fan was provided, also because of the location you can actually sleep with the window open, a rare thing in London.

This is a great location right next to borough tube, you turn right out of the tube, and you will spot a door just after the riva coffee shop, ring the bell and your in. Staff were very friendly, we could leave our luggage on day of check out and pick up later.

What is nice about the location is only 10 mins and you in the hustle and bustle of borough market, London bridge, but then you get back to the hotel, and it is nice and quiet. Riva coffee shop did a great breakfast, at a good price. Plenty of evening dinning options if your staying near hotel.

This location is great for the shard, borough market, southbank, we were visiting the globe and this was excellent. Great price would definitely stay again.

Ignore the swimming pool rating, pressed by mistake and then could not take off.

Room Tip: If you can stay at the back of the hotel, nice and quiet. Also if you do not mind sharing a bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1948john, Guest Relations Manager at London City Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Laurista,

Thank you very much for your glowing review. I am really pleased that your stay with us worked so well for you.

You are absolutely right about the area it is incredibly vibrant with many tourist attractions but also has the feel of a working city which has local businesses, shops and places to eat used by Londoners as well as tourists.

Congratulations on climbing the stairs whilst 7 months pregnant. Had we been able to we would have accommodated you on our ground floor. When you come back with your baby and buggy please do request a ground floor room. This will give you direct access to the Cafe as well, so coffee and good quality food will never be far away! These rooms are also at the back of the hotel, soundproofed and incredibly quiet.

Kind regards and best wishes for the soon to be new arrival.
Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Great time at the London city hotel, is perfect if you are having a short getaway! Close to all attractions! Getting around no problem! Would stay here again, rooms where clean and modern! Very pleased :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1948john, Guest Relations Manager at London City Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for leaving a review. Sounds like we met all your needs and the hotel worked perfectly for your short break.

Please do come back again.

Kind regards,
Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This hotel is immediately next to Borough tube. It is in a great location and no more than 5 mins from Borough Market with its stalls, coffee shops and thriving night scene. The welcome was very friendly and helpful and really made you feel a valued customer. Rooms are not large and are fairly basic but were exactly what I needed and fair at the price. The cafe downstairs under the same ownership does a really good breakfast.

Room Tip: Get breakfast fro the cafe in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1948john, Guest Relations Manager at London City Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Rob,

Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review.

I am really pleased to read that you felt very welcome on arrival and during your stay. This is really important to us as a staff team.

Great that you made use of Cafe Riva on the ground floor for that all important first meal of the day!

Kind regards,
Claudia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to London City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London City Hotel

Address: 200 Borough High Street, London SE1 1JX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#166 Romantic Hotel in London
#210 Family Hotel in London
#216 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — London City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
London City Hotel - Affordable Central Accommodation. With many of London’s best features right on our doorstep, London City Hotel provides comfortable and affordable accommodation for business visitors and tourists. Great pride is taken in treating each guest as an individual and on creating a warm and friendly atmosphere. The hotel has been designed to meet your home comforts; our friendly and professional service aims to ensure you have a very pleasant relaxing stay. Situated next door to Borough tube station (less than 10 second walk - turn right when you exit), the hotel puts guests in the very heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your London City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London City Hotel England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage London City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.