We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange but well located!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Gallery Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Gallery Hotel to your Saves list
The Gallery Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8 - 10 Queensberry Place | South Kensington, London SW7 2EA, England (Knightsbridge / South Kensington)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #659 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Strange but well located!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The hotel - in need of refurbishment with yellowing woodwork, peeling wallpaper, stained carpet and shabby curtains, but the room provided what was needed being a bed, a bathroom with hot water and tea making facilities. We actually booked into the gainsborough hotel opposite but we're told to go across to the gallery hotel.
Staff - pleasant but the waitress seriously requires some training!
Food and service - Awful, in edible and I'm not fussy! Quite astounding how bad it is. Very reluctant waitress who seemed to waft in and out occasionally without doing anything - No crockery, no cutlery, had to make up our own table taking what we could find from others, ordered full English, did not get what ordered, had to ask for tea, toast, all cold, the fried eggs must have been fried the previous day, lettuce browning at the edge was scattered over it?!, when asked for butter or marg was told there wasn't any! We ended up locating some herb butter and shared it with the other tables getting up and down ever time we required some so we all had a scrape of it! We complained and the receptionist dealt with it well.
Location - perfect for royal Albert hall, natural history museum, shopping and the tube.

We shall not return, it felt like some seedy seaside hotel, not something in such a tourist location in London .

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    106
    50
    21
    22
See reviews for
30
74
26
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whistable
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

I want to be fair so £90 a night B&B 5 minutes walk from South Ken isn't bad, not great but not bad. Clean with polite staff and to get your head down it was ok. However I stay in a fair amount of these more individual hotels over the years as I just don't like chains so my comparison is fair and appropriate I think.

4 stars, not a chance! No Morning papers neither delivered to the room ( we don't do them!) or even in the lobby by 7.30, bed so hard and old you could feel the ridges, decorators in the room next door until after 9 pm and when I mentioned this to reception they didn't know they were there.

Room small and I mean small, in this price bracket you will not be doing cartwheels around the room but in comparison to the two SW5 hotels I use this was small with an outlook between building which made the rom dark, particularly as the curtains were broken. I have seen less knackered bathroom fittings in the scrap metal dealers next to my mates factory.

Pay for wifi and a 1980,s telly with three grainy working channels but loads of pay for films! And finally I know a little about food so when I'm served break kites that has pre chopped mushrooms smaller than the worst Chinese dish ever and all ingredients hot and cold the cheapest from bulk caterers then I'm disappointed.

All in all it was like stepping back to the 80's and not in a way that made me feel good

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

The Hotel is very well located, and central. Decor is very good, Ist impression very good---however!! Room quite small for 2, T.V on loan from Science museum, Tea making facilities provided, but hunt the power point behind bedside table!! T he room was not double glazed, so you could hear every bus and plane all night long, even with tissue in ears!!!. Would NOT choose this hotel again. On a health and safety point towel rail in bathroom was very hot. Small niggle at breakfast ,bowls of marmalade and honey, but no small dish to take to table.

Room Tip: Ask to see room first, wish I had!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland Neck, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

For a hotel in such a location, 3 min walk to the tube, near the museums and the Royal Albert Hall, this was a really good value hotel. By London standards the room was an OK size, had everything we needed (and a complimentary cup of tea on arrival which was nice). Good quality bed linen was a plus. Lovely building and friendly discreet staff (especially the young lady at breakfast!). We were overlooking the front but it is not a busy road (ear plugs recommended for any hotel in London). Would choose this hotel again for all the above reasons. Continental breakfast was plentiful (if a little dull).

Room Tip: This is London - wear earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorkshire
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

This was an interesting place to stay, lots of original features and antique stuff. Good location for getting about. Had a twin room for a few days pre-Christmas shopping. Good sized room, all mod cons, full sized bath and super forceful shower, comfy beds BUT the traffic noise was unbelievable. I went and bought some earplugs from Boots the next day - old Victorian building with rattling, single glazed sash windows. I feel a bit mean saying poor sleep quality but this place would so benefit from secondary glazing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

This was a lovely hotel 10 years ago and there are still beautiful elements - paintings, public spaces - lounge etc... and the staff are friendly and helpful. However the bedrooms - I saw two because the first one I had sprung a leak - had peeling paper, damaged curtain rails with curtains falling off, and badly marked paintwork; the second room was also very dirty. Also, the food I ordered from room service was horrible - I can't believe a cook doesn't know what a toasted sandwich is, and the Full English Breakfast was a disappointment because of the cheap and overcooked bacon. This really is not a four star hotel at the moment.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We spent a weekend at Gallery and was really nice stay overall.The location is unbeatable few minutes walk from museums and tube station. We had a complimentary cup of tea upon our check in and was so kind of them. The room was quiet and clean. All members of staff were very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gallery Hotel

Address: 8 - 10 Queensberry Place | South Kensington, London SW7 2EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Knightsbridge / South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#348 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gallery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Closed for renovations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gallery Hotel London
The Gallery Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gallery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.