We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Cleveland was average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Cleveland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Cleveland to your Saves list
The Cleveland
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   39 - 40 Cleveland Square, London W2 6DA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #79 of 541 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Carmichael California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The Cleveland was average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My husband and I would give The Cleveland an average score. It was adequate not top notch. The staff was friendly and helpful. t
The street was quiet and pretty. The Wifi was great and the breakfast good. The breakfast included rolls or croissants, museli, milk, orange juice, and fruit. You could tailor your breakfast according to your needs. We were on the second floor and had to walk 6 flight of stairs to get to our room (no elevators). The shower was small with no soap holder, the sealer in the shower had a small case of mold, the baseboard were ruined in parts by water and the paint was worn off it. The bathroom also lacked a fan. The bed was fine but the carpet was moderately dirty and stained. In some parts of the wall along the baseboards there were spots as if something had splash on it (it should have been remove when cleaning the room). The air conditioning was sometimes didn't work. The Cleveland was in a good location to tube and train stations.There was no fitness center.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    224
    58
    14
    12
See reviews for
148
156
19
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
135 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

What a great little spot for the 6 nights we spent in London. On a very quiet, classy, dead end street but only a few blocks from Kensington Park, the restaurants and shops on Queensway, and the tube stops at Paddington, Queensway and Bayswater. Kitchenette was great for breakfasts. Bathroom was, uh, tight, but the rest of the room (and comfy bed) more than made up for it.

Room Tip: Don't worry if you get a basement room. Ours was very quiet and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royersford, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here during the Triathlon World Championships because I wanted a place close to Hyde Park but without the hustle and bustle of the bigger hotels where all the teams were stayng. It was perfect!! Small hotel, decent size rooms, quiet nice neighborhood. Plus we got a free breakfast option when we booked online, which was delivered to our room every morning! There were two tube stops in a short walk which got us anywhere we needed to go. Everybody at the hotel was very pleasant and accomodating!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

A friend recommended this hotel and it is a find, especially since it easily accommodated our party of 5 in one room. The rooms are spacious and very clean and even have a small dinning area with a mini kitchenette (microwave, stove and refrigerator) Breakfast was not included but we went grocery shopping and since we had the kitchenette it was no problem, they do offer breakfast though!
Location is very good, close to underground and bus stations.
The front desk personnel are very helpfull and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We booked this place on a recommendation from a work colleague. The Cleveland is very close to Hyde Park. Was easy to walk to Oxford street (took about 20 min). Small restaurants in the vicinity for meals.
The room was quite nice and had plenty of space. Staff were very helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stay somewhere else. My fourth night here, I woke up in the middle of the night scratching my arms. Woke up to find myself covered with small, red, itchy bites that had not been there before I went to bed -- classic bedbug bites. Had to get the night porter to take away all the bedding and bring me a set of clean sheets. The next morning, the manager rudely brushed off my allegations and said I must be mistaken and gotten the bites elsewhere (any basic Google search and online image confirmed that I was not). She did book me into another hotel for the last night of my reservation, but it was even worse than this one.

Pity, because the first three nights were fine. However, despite being a quiet neighborhood, I had a couple of noisy nights here, too.

Also, this hotel is in an awkward location. It's close to Bayswater station, but Paddington and other stations are a serious hike. Be warned. It is not conveniently located to Paddington Station.

The room did come with a nice and convenient kitchenette and free wifi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

3 of us stayed in a deluxe room (25) and were very impressed...really clean, modern apartment room with comfy double bed in one section and sofa bed in another. Shower room was really clean, and decent towels!

Breakfast was included in the rate, and was fresh and a good standard. We only stayed for 1 night after a concert at Hyde Park (15 min walk), but would def try and book again if needed to stay in London. Quiet, convenient location, with good pubs nearby..highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
The Darlington Hyde Park
#199 of 1,054 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,636 reviews
Hotel The Caesar
#321 of 1,054 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,298 reviews
Parkwood at Marble Arch
#68 of 541 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Georgian House
Georgian House
#59 of 541 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 903 reviews
The Drayton Court Hotel
#40 of 541 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cleveland

Address: 39 - 40 Cleveland Square, London W2 6DA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 541 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cleveland 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cleveland Hotel is an independent hotel in Bayswater combining the services of a boutique hotel with all the comfort and amenities of serviced apartments. Ideally located on a tranquil and leafy garden square away from the hustle and bustle of London the hotel is just a short walk to London's famous Hyde Park on Bayswater Road and Paddington Station offering excellent transport links to Heathrow Airport and London's lively West End. The Cleveland Hotel has retained all of its beautiful Georgian period features, yet each one of our 30 contemporary studio rooms have been beautifully refurbished with the contemporary traveler in mind. Every room is fully equipped with modern kitchenettes, AC, LED TVs, free Wi-Fi and our friendly, multilingual staff, are on hand 24 hours per day offering you all the services of a boutique hotel. We offer our guests complete flexibility, comfort and security making us an ideal choice regardless of whether you are traveling for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Otel so you can book your The Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cleveland Hotel London
Cleveland Square London
Hotel Cleveland Square
The Cleveland London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cleveland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.