We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cleveland

Save Saved
You added The Cleveland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cleveland
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   39 - 40 Cleveland Square, London W2 6DA, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 521 London B&B and Inns
Norfolk
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with friends, it's in a great location a short walk to either Queensway or Bayswater tube stations, it's very clean and comfy and well equipped with a kitchenette it also has air conditioning, would defo stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    148
    40
    12
    11
See reviews for
88
121
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Charming combination of older hotel with modern and updated conveniences. We stayed in a studio apartment with a tidy closet style kitchen area with a roomy table and sofa suite area. In close walking distance of Paddington Station and Bayswater underground. Elevator for easy access to upper floors. Nice and friendly staff. Reasonably priced for the area of London.

Room Tip: On a quiet street, ours was on third floor with a view of the back street buildings, pretty much the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at The Cleveland for 9 days in August 2013 after much research on family friendly hotels with kitchenettes. Overall it was a good experience, but I would probably look around for a more charming hotel next time.

Pros:
- Kitchenette was very functional for breakfasts and some dinners saving us a lot of money
- Good bathroom, though mildew in shower
- Dining table, good lighting, air conditioning
- Outside of building has charm and across from a beautiful green space. Also on a dead end street which was nice
- lots of storage for clothes, so we could unpack and move in
- Close to Whiteley's shopping center for evenings with kids after long days sight-seeing (trampoline bungy jumping, Toys R Us, Marks and Spencer grocery store, Pizza Express, sushi and gelato)
- Close to Bayswater and Queensway stations and not a far walk to Hyde Park/Kensington Gardens
- 5 minute walk to laundrymat near Whiteley's which was key so we didn't have to bring as many clothes

Cons:
- terribly uncomfortable pull out couch only suitable for children who don't weigh much
- wi-fi broke down two days before the end of our trip with no sense of urgency to fix. This is key for us as we were checking in with work, keeping in touch with family this way, so terribly inconvenient
- overall, the room lacked charm - brown carpet, brown bedspread cover, drab decor

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The room was lovely and clean and a decent size - very small bathroom though and no lift if you are staying on the top floor. Staff were pretty friendly (except the guy on the desk when we left - must have been having a bad day!) Is in a good location close to restaurants and tube station. Room also had a kitchenette which was great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room no higher than the third floor so you don't have to carry your luggage up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Slightly expensive but it was our first time staying in an ApartHotel. It was very convenient to have a small kitchen in the room. Fully air conditioned room, temperature to suit you. Stayed in the basement of the hotel, so had Issues with Internet and mobile phone reception. Fully serviced each day, they even did the washing up. Would stay in this type of accommodation again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with 2 friends in August. We were pleasantly surprised when opening the door - the room was spacious with a double and decent pull out bed. The bathroom was spacious and well equipt and the kitchenette a great bonus. It was a quiet location and only 8 minutes walk to the nearest tube station. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Look on laterooms, we got a bargain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I had booked an executive room to make sure it would be at least a bit above standard. It seems that the standards of this hotel were pretty low, though. I got a below the ground room (!) which stank of cooked food. The decorative cushions were the filthiest I'd ever seen since my days as a student in low-budget hotels and one of the bathroom walls was covered in mould. No decorative fireplace in sight, by the way (which foolishly was one of the reasons I had found the room attractive on the Internet site).
I complained immediately but was told that all rooms were booked so that was my lot! If I were prepared to wait it out one day (during a three night stay) they might be able to move me to a room thta would at least see the sun. They also seemed pretty surprised when I mentioned I had been expecting a fireplace, since they only had two rooms like that. Don't they look at their own site?
To cut a long story short, the room was so awful that I left and had to check into another, unavoidably more expensive, hotel as it was last minute and I did not have time to do a proper search.
My review is based on the one room I saw. If the others are better, just make sure you get one of those.

Room Tip: Warning! Executive rooms under ground level!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cleveland

Address: 39 - 40 Cleveland Square, London W2 6DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 521 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cleveland 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cleveland Apartments/Hotel is located in a quiet area near Hyde Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cleveland Hotel London
Cleveland Square London
Hotel Cleveland Square
The Cleveland London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cleveland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.