We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room good for families but lacks charm” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Cleveland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Cleveland to your Saves list
The Cleveland
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   39 - 40 Cleveland Square, London W2 6DA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #79 of 541 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Room good for families but lacks charm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at The Cleveland for 9 days in August 2013 after much research on family friendly hotels with kitchenettes. Overall it was a good experience, but I would probably look around for a more charming hotel next time.

Pros:
- Kitchenette was very functional for breakfasts and some dinners saving us a lot of money
- Good bathroom, though mildew in shower
- Dining table, good lighting, air conditioning
- Outside of building has charm and across from a beautiful green space. Also on a dead end street which was nice
- lots of storage for clothes, so we could unpack and move in
- Close to Whiteley's shopping center for evenings with kids after long days sight-seeing (trampoline bungy jumping, Toys R Us, Marks and Spencer grocery store, Pizza Express, sushi and gelato)
- Close to Bayswater and Queensway stations and not a far walk to Hyde Park/Kensington Gardens
- 5 minute walk to laundrymat near Whiteley's which was key so we didn't have to bring as many clothes

Cons:
- terribly uncomfortable pull out couch only suitable for children who don't weigh much
- wi-fi broke down two days before the end of our trip with no sense of urgency to fix. This is key for us as we were checking in with work, keeping in touch with family this way, so terribly inconvenient
- overall, the room lacked charm - brown carpet, brown bedspread cover, drab decor

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    224
    58
    14
    12
See reviews for
148
156
19
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The room was lovely and clean and a decent size - very small bathroom though and no lift if you are staying on the top floor. Staff were pretty friendly (except the guy on the desk when we left - must have been having a bad day!) Is in a good location close to restaurants and tube station. Room also had a kitchenette which was great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room no higher than the third floor so you don't have to carry your luggage up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Slightly expensive but it was our first time staying in an ApartHotel. It was very convenient to have a small kitchen in the room. Fully air conditioned room, temperature to suit you. Stayed in the basement of the hotel, so had Issues with Internet and mobile phone reception. Fully serviced each day, they even did the washing up. Would stay in this type of accommodation again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with 2 friends in August. We were pleasantly surprised when opening the door - the room was spacious with a double and decent pull out bed. The bathroom was spacious and well equipt and the kitchenette a great bonus. It was a quiet location and only 8 minutes walk to the nearest tube station. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Look on laterooms, we got a bargain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I had booked an executive room to make sure it would be at least a bit above standard. It seems that the standards of this hotel were pretty low, though. I got a below the ground room (!) which stank of cooked food. The decorative cushions were the filthiest I'd ever seen since my days as a student in low-budget hotels and one of the bathroom walls was covered in mould. No decorative fireplace in sight, by the way (which foolishly was one of the reasons I had found the room attractive on the Internet site).
I complained immediately but was told that all rooms were booked so that was my lot! If I were prepared to wait it out one day (during a three night stay) they might be able to move me to a room thta would at least see the sun. They also seemed pretty surprised when I mentioned I had been expecting a fireplace, since they only had two rooms like that. Don't they look at their own site?
To cut a long story short, the room was so awful that I left and had to check into another, unavoidably more expensive, hotel as it was last minute and I did not have time to do a proper search.
My review is based on the one room I saw. If the others are better, just make sure you get one of those.

Room Tip: Warning! Executive rooms under ground level!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here in July and although we had a bit of difficulty finding the hotel in the side streets to begin with we felt that this was in a very good location - close to 2 tube stations and walked through Hyde Park to Harrods and Natural History Museum.
The staff here were very friendly and the rooms very clean.
The mini kitchen in the room was very useful and the free breakfast provided was adequate. The breakfast consisted of bread and croissant, butter, jam, cheese. Fruit, orange juice and bottled water. Cereal was also an option. This was delivered to our room at a pre-arranged time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed here with two friends at the beginning of August 2013 for one night. We had a ground floor room for the three of us and we couldn't have been happier with our stay.
The staff were friendly, approachable and very helpful. The room was fantastic, a great size with a large double bed and a decent size pullout bed. Sliding doors revealed a kitchenette which was sleek and stylish as well as useful. The bathroom was lovely and everything was very well maintained and extremely clean.
The location was great, 10 minute walk to the the tube station and Hyde Park. I wouldn't hesitate to book another stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
The Darlington Hyde Park
#199 of 1,054 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,636 reviews
Hotel The Caesar
#321 of 1,054 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,301 reviews
Parkwood at Marble Arch
#68 of 541 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Drayton Court Hotel
#40 of 541 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 217 reviews
Pimlico
Georgian House
Georgian House
#59 of 541 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 906 reviews
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#88 of 541 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cleveland

Address: 39 - 40 Cleveland Square, London W2 6DA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 541 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cleveland 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cleveland Hotel is an independent hotel in Bayswater combining the services of a boutique hotel with all the comfort and amenities of serviced apartments. Ideally located on a tranquil and leafy garden square away from the hustle and bustle of London the hotel is just a short walk to London's famous Hyde Park on Bayswater Road and Paddington Station offering excellent transport links to Heathrow Airport and London's lively West End. The Cleveland Hotel has retained all of its beautiful Georgian period features, yet each one of our 30 contemporary studio rooms have been beautifully refurbished with the contemporary traveler in mind. Every room is fully equipped with modern kitchenettes, AC, LED TVs, free Wi-Fi and our friendly, multilingual staff, are on hand 24 hours per day offering you all the services of a boutique hotel. We offer our guests complete flexibility, comfort and security making us an ideal choice regardless of whether you are traveling for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Otel so you can book your The Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cleveland Hotel London
Cleveland Square London
Hotel Cleveland Square
The Cleveland London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cleveland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.