We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cleveland

Save Saved
You added The Cleveland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cleveland
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   39 - 40 Cleveland Square, London W2 6DA, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 522 London B&B and Inns
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location, clean hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with 2 friends in August. We were pleasantly surprised when opening the door - the room was spacious with a double and decent pull out bed. The bathroom was spacious and well equipt and the kitchenette a great bonus. It was a quiet location and only 8 minutes walk to the nearest tube station. I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Look on laterooms, we got a bargain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    144
    40
    12
    11
See reviews for
85
120
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I had booked an executive room to make sure it would be at least a bit above standard. It seems that the standards of this hotel were pretty low, though. I got a below the ground room (!) which stank of cooked food. The decorative cushions were the filthiest I'd ever seen since my days as a student in low-budget hotels and one of the bathroom walls was covered in mould. No decorative fireplace in sight, by the way (which foolishly was one of the reasons I had found the room attractive on the Internet site).
I complained immediately but was told that all rooms were booked so that was my lot! If I were prepared to wait it out one day (during a three night stay) they might be able to move me to a room thta would at least see the sun. They also seemed pretty surprised when I mentioned I had been expecting a fireplace, since they only had two rooms like that. Don't they look at their own site?
To cut a long story short, the room was so awful that I left and had to check into another, unavoidably more expensive, hotel as it was last minute and I did not have time to do a proper search.
My review is based on the one room I saw. If the others are better, just make sure you get one of those.

Room Tip: Warning! Executive rooms under ground level!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here in July and although we had a bit of difficulty finding the hotel in the side streets to begin with we felt that this was in a very good location - close to 2 tube stations and walked through Hyde Park to Harrods and Natural History Museum.
The staff here were very friendly and the rooms very clean.
The mini kitchen in the room was very useful and the free breakfast provided was adequate. The breakfast consisted of bread and croissant, butter, jam, cheese. Fruit, orange juice and bottled water. Cereal was also an option. This was delivered to our room at a pre-arranged time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed here with two friends at the beginning of August 2013 for one night. We had a ground floor room for the three of us and we couldn't have been happier with our stay.
The staff were friendly, approachable and very helpful. The room was fantastic, a great size with a large double bed and a decent size pullout bed. Sliding doors revealed a kitchenette which was sleek and stylish as well as useful. The bathroom was lovely and everything was very well maintained and extremely clean.
The location was great, 10 minute walk to the the tube station and Hyde Park. I wouldn't hesitate to book another stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed for two weeks at this comfortable and well-maintained hotel. When we arrived one of the hotel staff took our luggage to the room to which we were initially assigned on the top floor. It was light and airy, with a fine view overlooking the local area. The only problem for us was that the elevator didn't go to this floor and we both have knee problems, so Barbara, the hotel manager, moved us the next day to another room with elevator access. The move was painless. We left our packed luggage in the room and when we returned it, along with food we had in the refrigerator, had been moved for us.

Both rooms were large enough so that we and all our luggage fit quite comfortably. Each had a kitchenette area with a small refrigerator, cooktop, microwave, and basic supply of dishes, silverware, and cutlery. Additional pots and pans are available upon request.

The continental breakfast had a satisfactory selection of options and arrived promptly each morning at the time we requested.

The front desk staff were all friendly and helpful, giving us directions when we needed them and they are on duty 24 hours a day.

The Bayswater tube station was only a few blocks away, next to a Saisnbury grocery store, with other groceries such as Marks and Spence within close walking distance. If you want to eat out there are a large number of pubs and restaurants, including one of our favorite London places, Bella Italia. The Bayswater tube station is on the Circle Line within easy access to all the central area sights.

And not to be forgotten is Kensington Gardens/Hyde Park, a few blocks away, where we spent time enjoying the magnificent trees, lakes, pathways, and a glimpse of Kensington Palace. We found lots of sketching opportunities there.

We would recommend this hotel with no reservation.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs, ask for a room which has direct elevator service. We were transfer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed over night before trip on the eurostar. The hotel was very close to hyde park a really nice walk and your on high street kensington also royal albert hall.In room facilities were excellent microwave and facilities to cook. staff were very helpful will definately stay again .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a great place to stay. It's in a nice location on a smart street not far from Paddington (10-15 minutes' walk with luggage!)
The receptionist was friendly and helpful, the bedroom was very bright and spacious, with a really comfy bed, nice clean everything, good bathroom, big window so lots of daylight, and air con.
There is a little kitchenette, and a table for you to eat at, which personally I think is really useful because eating out in London can get very expensive. It's small but definitely enough to make yourself a simple meal.
The word 'apart-hotel' can have negative connotations of bedsits, but this is nothing like that at all. Also great value for money: £99 for a night in a very spacious double room with an extra large double bed. I would definitely go back.
One thing for people with mobility issues - this is two buildings knocked together so even though there is a lift you might have to go up and down a couple of small flights of stairs to reach your particular room... just ask the staff though, they were really amenable with me.

Room Tip: I had a choice of a room on the third floor or a lower floor and was advised that the higher ones ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cleveland

Address: 39 - 40 Cleveland Square, London W2 6DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 522 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cleveland 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cleveland Apartments/Hotel is located in a quiet area near Hyde Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cleveland Hotel London
Cleveland Square London
Hotel Cleveland Square
The Cleveland London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cleveland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.