We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Apart-Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cleveland

Save Saved
You added The Cleveland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cleveland
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   39 - 40 Cleveland Square, London W2 6DA, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 521 London B&B and Inns
England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Brilliant Apart-Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed here with two friends at the beginning of August 2013 for one night. We had a ground floor room for the three of us and we couldn't have been happier with our stay.
The staff were friendly, approachable and very helpful. The room was fantastic, a great size with a large double bed and a decent size pullout bed. Sliding doors revealed a kitchenette which was sleek and stylish as well as useful. The bathroom was lovely and everything was very well maintained and extremely clean.
The location was great, 10 minute walk to the the tube station and Hyde Park. I wouldn't hesitate to book another stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    147
    40
    12
    11
See reviews for
87
121
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed for two weeks at this comfortable and well-maintained hotel. When we arrived one of the hotel staff took our luggage to the room to which we were initially assigned on the top floor. It was light and airy, with a fine view overlooking the local area. The only problem for us was that the elevator didn't go to this floor and we both have knee problems, so Barbara, the hotel manager, moved us the next day to another room with elevator access. The move was painless. We left our packed luggage in the room and when we returned it, along with food we had in the refrigerator, had been moved for us.

Both rooms were large enough so that we and all our luggage fit quite comfortably. Each had a kitchenette area with a small refrigerator, cooktop, microwave, and basic supply of dishes, silverware, and cutlery. Additional pots and pans are available upon request.

The continental breakfast had a satisfactory selection of options and arrived promptly each morning at the time we requested.

The front desk staff were all friendly and helpful, giving us directions when we needed them and they are on duty 24 hours a day.

The Bayswater tube station was only a few blocks away, next to a Saisnbury grocery store, with other groceries such as Marks and Spence within close walking distance. If you want to eat out there are a large number of pubs and restaurants, including one of our favorite London places, Bella Italia. The Bayswater tube station is on the Circle Line within easy access to all the central area sights.

And not to be forgotten is Kensington Gardens/Hyde Park, a few blocks away, where we spent time enjoying the magnificent trees, lakes, pathways, and a glimpse of Kensington Palace. We found lots of sketching opportunities there.

We would recommend this hotel with no reservation.

Room Tip: If you have trouble with stairs, ask for a room which has direct elevator service. We were transfer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed over night before trip on the eurostar. The hotel was very close to hyde park a really nice walk and your on high street kensington also royal albert hall.In room facilities were excellent microwave and facilities to cook. staff were very helpful will definately stay again .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a great place to stay. It's in a nice location on a smart street not far from Paddington (10-15 minutes' walk with luggage!)
The receptionist was friendly and helpful, the bedroom was very bright and spacious, with a really comfy bed, nice clean everything, good bathroom, big window so lots of daylight, and air con.
There is a little kitchenette, and a table for you to eat at, which personally I think is really useful because eating out in London can get very expensive. It's small but definitely enough to make yourself a simple meal.
The word 'apart-hotel' can have negative connotations of bedsits, but this is nothing like that at all. Also great value for money: £99 for a night in a very spacious double room with an extra large double bed. I would definitely go back.
One thing for people with mobility issues - this is two buildings knocked together so even though there is a lift you might have to go up and down a couple of small flights of stairs to reach your particular room... just ask the staff though, they were really amenable with me.

Room Tip: I had a choice of a room on the third floor or a lower floor and was advised that the higher ones ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

we stayed here for 6 nights and the staff were allways very friendly and helpful. we had a room next to the stairs which was a bit noisy at times. the room was quite small and bathroom tiny but we got used to tripping over suitcases and the bed was comfortable.good location near a number of tube stations, hyde park, restaurants and pubs which pretty well is all we need.

Room Tip: ask for one of the bigger suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Quick overnight stopover in London on our way to Istanbul. We wanted a quiet hotel near Paddington to get to/from Heathrow quickly. I had stayed in some grim budget places on Bayswater Road 30 years ago as a student so my expectations for the area were not high. However, the Cleveland Hotel was a lovely surprise. Located on a quiet residential street with a lovely garden in the square, the room was large, the bed was comfortable with nice linens, and the bathroom was huge and very clean. The staff were helpful and efficient. Our room was on the ground floor in the back so it felt a bit like a cave with not much light, but that was perfect for us. We were tired and jet lagged and needed a good rest. Tube station and buses were close and we had dinner at the Mitre pub, which was also a nice find. Walking time to Paddington Station to catch the Heathrow Express about 7-8 minutes. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTHANTS
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just had a very pleasant one night stay in this hotel, whilst in London to see Robbie Williams at Wembley. Lovely spacious clean suite with kitchenette, which was actually hidden behind wardrobe type doors, not a separate roomj, but everything there. We were only in the room for a few hours but lovely comfy beds & spacious bathroom with walk in shower (Room No. 7 in basement)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cleveland

Address: 39 - 40 Cleveland Square, London W2 6DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 521 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cleveland 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cleveland Apartments/Hotel is located in a quiet area near Hyde Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cleveland Hotel London
Cleveland Square London
Hotel Cleveland Square
The Cleveland London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cleveland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.