We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cleveland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Cleveland to your Saves list
The Cleveland
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   39 - 40 Cleveland Square, London W2 6DA, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
WINTER 2015 - 15% OFF
Ranked #86 of 534 London B&B and Inns
Burgas, Bulgaria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Nice and comfortable hotel with great location!Very friendly and helpful staff!Very quiet place near Hyde Park!Large and very comfortable rooms!I definitely recommend it!This will be my hotel for my next visit in London!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    163
    42
    12
    11
See reviews for
95
128
16
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rajamäki, Southern Finland, Finland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We went to Bayswater area hotel, Hotel Cleveland this april..it was totally amazing..surpricingly quiet, with cooking facilities..very clean...lots of space.. the bed was just right..slept around the clock..and loved their services...everything went smoothly..we did ot have to wait for the room or anything..exellent location...will come again for sure!

Room Tip: downstairs rooms 1,2,3 are very quiet!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I booked the hotel short term, because of some excellent ratings here on tripadvisor and due to its location close to Paddington Station. Location is very good, Cleveland Square is very quiet, nice and clean.

I was welcomed by the receptionist, who stood in front of the hotel (smoking) and greeted me with the words "welcome to home away from home". Well - it was rather the "cellar away from my cellar"

The Hotel is also very clean. You get free WiFi. I can't say too much about the service, because all I did was checking in and out. All in all they seemed very friendly. Dislike: I was charged on arrival, which is quite unusal. I got room #5 , which is located below street level (as well as rooms #4 and #6) and has a size of max. 10 m2. No space to leave your luggage or belongings. This left aside, the room vas very clean with modern interior.

I asked for a different room, but was told, that in my category there was only one other room above sea level available and I had reserved later, so it would be unfair to put me in the other room. This sounds fair, but did not really help me.

For 127 GBP/night (single room) I definitely expect a bigger room somewhere above street level. On my last trip to London (also April 2013) I stayed in The Mad Hatter in Southwark for 140 GBP in a much bigger double room.

Can't really recommend the Cleveland. Go somewhere else.

PS: I booked over a online booking platform (HRS), because on the Cleveland`s website it was sold out

Room Tip: ask for a room above street level. Don't accept rooms 4-6
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
göteborg
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel is situated in Bayswater, a nice neighbourhood. It is near Hyde Park where it is nice to take a walk. They don't serve breakfast at the hotel, but it nice to start the day by having breakfast out and then take the Tube to explore the city! I can highly recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Booked The Cleveland for 3 adults in 1 room after reading reviews on Tripadvisor. Needed somewhere near The Royal Albert Hall. Very happy with the choice, clean hotel, friendly helpful staff and great location. Lovely walk through the park to get to RAH but the park was closed when we came out so if you are using the hotel as somewhere to stay when seeing a show/concert a taxi or tube may be needed. We walked back around the outside of the park, quite a distance but gave us chance to talk about the concert. I would highly recommend the Cleveland.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This hotel was perfect for our family of 3 adults. The rooms were very clean and we liked having the small kitchen area, which was perfect for grabbing a quick breakfast. The staff were very helpful. We e-mailed the hotel for additional information a couple of times before we left home and each time we received a prompt response. We were able to leave our luggage at the front desk when we arrived early in the morning. When we checked in later in the afternoon, they had already taken our luggage to our room. They showed us to our room and then promptly provided additional items we requested. Hotel is in a good location -- safe with good access to the tube. Paddington Station is about half a mile away and the Lancaster Gate stop is also nearby. A Boots drugstore and the Whiteley's shopping center are only about a 10 minute walk from the hotel. Whiteley's has a Marks & Spencer where we shopped for food. We would definitely stay at The Cleveland again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I liked the layout of the boutique hotel, the room, reception, hallway, interior design were all very beautiful. The staff were very friendly. It was only a 5 minute walk to either Bayswater or Lancaster Gate tube and in a very safe area. We didn't have breakfast included in our package, but the kitchenette facilities in the room had a fridge, sink, kettle and little hob so we made our own which was perfect. I had also read that the breakfast wasn't worht the £10 so we didn't bother including it. I thought the price was reasonable for what we got. The weather was extremely cold for when we were there and there was an awful draft from the single glazed window so the staff had to put in an electric heater.

Prior to arriving, I had mentioned that this was a special occasion and the staff suggested we upgrade to the executive room (room 18) for an extra payment. I was disappointed with the room as it looked like the standard rooms.

Room Tip: 1st floor room was nice and bright - alot of stairs for other rooms so be aware
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cleveland

Address: 39 - 40 Cleveland Square, London W2 6DA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 534 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cleveland 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cleveland Hotel is an independent hotel in Bayswater combining the services of a boutique hotel with all the comfort and amenities of serviced apartments. Ideally located on a tranquil and leafy garden square away from the hustle and bustle of London the hotel is just a short walk to London's famous Hyde Park on Bayswater Road and Paddington Station offering excellent transport links to Heathrow Airport and London's lively West End. The Cleveland Hotel has retained all of its beautiful Georgian period features, yet each one of our 30 contemporary studio rooms have been beautifully refurbished with the contemporary traveler in mind. Every room is fully equipped with modern kitchenettes, AC, LED TVs, free Wi-Fi and our friendly, multilingual staff, are on hand 24 hours per day offering you all the services of a boutique hotel. We offer our guests complete flexibility, comfort and security making us an ideal choice regardless of whether you are traveling for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, T4B, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cleveland Hotel London
Cleveland Square London
Hotel Cleveland Square
The Cleveland London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cleveland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.