We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy with trip but expected more” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cleveland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Cleveland to your Saves list
The Cleveland
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   39 - 40 Cleveland Square, London W2 6DA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #81 of 526 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very happy with trip but expected more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I liked the layout of the boutique hotel, the room, reception, hallway, interior design were all very beautiful. The staff were very friendly. It was only a 5 minute walk to either Bayswater or Lancaster Gate tube and in a very safe area. We didn't have breakfast included in our package, but the kitchenette facilities in the room had a fridge, sink, kettle and little hob so we made our own which was perfect. I had also read that the breakfast wasn't worht the £10 so we didn't bother including it. I thought the price was reasonable for what we got. The weather was extremely cold for when we were there and there was an awful draft from the single glazed window so the staff had to put in an electric heater.

Prior to arriving, I had mentioned that this was a special occasion and the staff suggested we upgrade to the executive room (room 18) for an extra payment. I was disappointed with the room as it looked like the standard rooms.

Room Tip: 1st floor room was nice and bright - alot of stairs for other rooms so be aware
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    208
    53
    14
    12
See reviews for
130
151
18
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandane, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Cleveland hotel was beyond all expectations! The staff was friendly, it was easy to find it (walking distance from Paddington station) and the rooms were amazing! HUGE rooms, with large beds, kitchenette and a fancy bathroom. The only negative things were that the beds were a bit uncomfortable and there was no heating on the bathroom, but this is only trifles! In comparison to other hotels in London this is the best I have stayed on!
All in all a perfect stay in London and I would defiantly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to London!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luneburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Nicely located 5 minutes walking distance from Paddington Station. Nothing to complain about - however, breakfast was a bit minimalistic... Our room was quiet, even though on street level (road is a dead end). Service friendly and helpful - and we got an upgrade.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

After reading previous reviews we requested a quiet room on a higher floor for our stay.Unfortunately when we checked in there was only a room on the ground floor left.The room was clean,the bathroom small and just outside the window was what looked and sounded like a compressor...a very noisy compressor!
Continental breakfast served in the room was ok but have stayed in better locations for a similar price.
To sum up I think this hotel is more 3* than 4*.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

At 107 GBP a night and a stone's throw from Hyde Park, who can complain? But we were so very pleased to find our triple room to be extremely spacious, with full kitchenette, uber-comfy beds, and a great shower. Great location, great room, terrific price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a kitchenette. Supermarket is only 2 blocks away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was my first trip to the UK. A friend recommended this general area and I chose The Cleveland partially from reading other Trip Advisor reviews.

We requested and received one of the fourth floor rooms. As explained in another review, the elevator doesn't go up to the final floor, but we're hikers so that doesn't bother us.

The room was clean and amenity-laden. It was nice to have a stove top, microwave, small refrigerator, and hot water pot. Also a kitchen sink. The decor was modern including a flat screen telly. We were very comfortable in the room.

The location of the hotel was especially top-notch. Hotel Cleveland is tucked away on a quiet residential street, yet it's only a five minute walk from the Bayswater Tube Station, as well as a number of restaurants and shops. Also on our street was a laundromat so we were able to do a wash mid-trip which was great because we had packed lightly.

Hotel Cleveland's staff was friendly and knowledgeable. They went out of their way to answer our questions.

Oh, and there was also an espresso machine in the front lobby. Nice touch!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Was given a room downstairs with a view of a wall. Also had a constant noise from a heating system or pipe throughout the night. Room was spacious though and clean with fridge, microwave and toaster. Shower on the small side I would say. 1 km walk to Paddington station is a plus as it connects to the Heathrow Express and various subway lines. Hyde Park is also quite near by.
Would give 4 stars if not for the mentioned issues with my room; so maybe avoid room 03 in the basement, if you can.

Room Tip: Avoid basement and room #03
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cleveland

Address: 39 - 40 Cleveland Square, London W2 6DA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 526 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cleveland 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cleveland Hotel is an independent hotel in Bayswater combining the services of a boutique hotel with all the comfort and amenities of serviced apartments. Ideally located on a tranquil and leafy garden square away from the hustle and bustle of London the hotel is just a short walk to London's famous Hyde Park on Bayswater Road and Paddington Station offering excellent transport links to Heathrow Airport and London's lively West End. The Cleveland Hotel has retained all of its beautiful Georgian period features, yet each one of our 30 contemporary studio rooms have been beautifully refurbished with the contemporary traveler in mind. Every room is fully equipped with modern kitchenettes, AC, LED TVs, free Wi-Fi and our friendly, multilingual staff, are on hand 24 hours per day offering you all the services of a boutique hotel. We offer our guests complete flexibility, comfort and security making us an ideal choice regardless of whether you are traveling for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, CityZen, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cleveland Hotel London
Cleveland Square London
Hotel Cleveland Square
The Cleveland London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cleveland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.