We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for weekend trips” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cleveland

Save Saved
You added The Cleveland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Cleveland
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   39 - 40 Cleveland Square, London W2 6DA, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 526 London B&B and Inns
Luneburg, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect for weekend trips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Nicely located 5 minutes walking distance from Paddington Station. Nothing to complain about - however, breakfast was a bit minimalistic... Our room was quiet, even though on street level (road is a dead end). Service friendly and helpful - and we got an upgrade.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    152
    41
    12
    11
See reviews for
90
124
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

After reading previous reviews we requested a quiet room on a higher floor for our stay.Unfortunately when we checked in there was only a room on the ground floor left.The room was clean,the bathroom small and just outside the window was what looked and sounded like a compressor...a very noisy compressor!
Continental breakfast served in the room was ok but have stayed in better locations for a similar price.
To sum up I think this hotel is more 3* than 4*.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

At 107 GBP a night and a stone's throw from Hyde Park, who can complain? But we were so very pleased to find our triple room to be extremely spacious, with full kitchenette, uber-comfy beds, and a great shower. Great location, great room, terrific price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a kitchenette. Supermarket is only 2 blocks away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was my first trip to the UK. A friend recommended this general area and I chose The Cleveland partially from reading other Trip Advisor reviews.

We requested and received one of the fourth floor rooms. As explained in another review, the elevator doesn't go up to the final floor, but we're hikers so that doesn't bother us.

The room was clean and amenity-laden. It was nice to have a stove top, microwave, small refrigerator, and hot water pot. Also a kitchen sink. The decor was modern including a flat screen telly. We were very comfortable in the room.

The location of the hotel was especially top-notch. Hotel Cleveland is tucked away on a quiet residential street, yet it's only a five minute walk from the Bayswater Tube Station, as well as a number of restaurants and shops. Also on our street was a laundromat so we were able to do a wash mid-trip which was great because we had packed lightly.

Hotel Cleveland's staff was friendly and knowledgeable. They went out of their way to answer our questions.

Oh, and there was also an espresso machine in the front lobby. Nice touch!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Was given a room downstairs with a view of a wall. Also had a constant noise from a heating system or pipe throughout the night. Room was spacious though and clean with fridge, microwave and toaster. Shower on the small side I would say. 1 km walk to Paddington station is a plus as it connects to the Heathrow Express and various subway lines. Hyde Park is also quite near by.
Would give 4 stars if not for the mentioned issues with my room; so maybe avoid room 03 in the basement, if you can.

Room Tip: Avoid basement and room #03
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Perfect little hotel tucked away in a quiet square a short walk from Paddington station. Gentleman on the night shift was very helpful in making sure we had everything, as we arrived late.

Room was big, clean and had a nice bathroom. Appeared to be some damp stains on the walls but not an issue. Bed was comfortable.

Would stay again, and for the price and location, an absolute bargain.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

A hidden gem. Tucked away in quiet Cleveland Square, a short walk from Paddington station. Staff were helpful, sheets were crisp, room was beautifully decorated whilst maintaining the period features of the original building. The room was vast with a huge bed - I hardly noticed my other half who apparently slept in the same bed, and a sofa bed for our daughter that was probably king sized. The bathroom was well-equipped and modern. A decent TV and a kitchenette was also provided which would be of use to those spending a longer period here. Slightly negative points, and they are the only things I can fault, are the lack of sockets within the kitchen area (had to use an extension lead) and the carpet was probably due for a clean but was by no means filthy.

Room Tip: ground floor best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cleveland

Address: 39 - 40 Cleveland Square, London W2 6DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 526 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cleveland 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cleveland Apartments/Hotel is located in a quiet area near Hyde Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your The Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cleveland Hotel London
Cleveland Square London
Hotel Cleveland Square
The Cleveland London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cleveland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.