We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy room” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Cleveland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Cleveland to your Saves list
The Cleveland
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   39 - 40 Cleveland Square, London W2 6DA, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #78 of 532 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Noisy room”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

After reading previous reviews we requested a quiet room on a higher floor for our stay.Unfortunately when we checked in there was only a room on the ground floor left.The room was clean,the bathroom small and just outside the window was what looked and sounded like a compressor...a very noisy compressor!
Continental breakfast served in the room was ok but have stayed in better locations for a similar price.
To sum up I think this hotel is more 3* than 4*.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    203
    50
    13
    12
See reviews for
127
145
17
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

At 107 GBP a night and a stone's throw from Hyde Park, who can complain? But we were so very pleased to find our triple room to be extremely spacious, with full kitchenette, uber-comfy beds, and a great shower. Great location, great room, terrific price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a kitchenette. Supermarket is only 2 blocks away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was my first trip to the UK. A friend recommended this general area and I chose The Cleveland partially from reading other Trip Advisor reviews.

We requested and received one of the fourth floor rooms. As explained in another review, the elevator doesn't go up to the final floor, but we're hikers so that doesn't bother us.

The room was clean and amenity-laden. It was nice to have a stove top, microwave, small refrigerator, and hot water pot. Also a kitchen sink. The decor was modern including a flat screen telly. We were very comfortable in the room.

The location of the hotel was especially top-notch. Hotel Cleveland is tucked away on a quiet residential street, yet it's only a five minute walk from the Bayswater Tube Station, as well as a number of restaurants and shops. Also on our street was a laundromat so we were able to do a wash mid-trip which was great because we had packed lightly.

Hotel Cleveland's staff was friendly and knowledgeable. They went out of their way to answer our questions.

Oh, and there was also an espresso machine in the front lobby. Nice touch!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Was given a room downstairs with a view of a wall. Also had a constant noise from a heating system or pipe throughout the night. Room was spacious though and clean with fridge, microwave and toaster. Shower on the small side I would say. 1 km walk to Paddington station is a plus as it connects to the Heathrow Express and various subway lines. Hyde Park is also quite near by.
Would give 4 stars if not for the mentioned issues with my room; so maybe avoid room 03 in the basement, if you can.

Room Tip: Avoid basement and room #03
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Perfect little hotel tucked away in a quiet square a short walk from Paddington station. Gentleman on the night shift was very helpful in making sure we had everything, as we arrived late.

Room was big, clean and had a nice bathroom. Appeared to be some damp stains on the walls but not an issue. Bed was comfortable.

Would stay again, and for the price and location, an absolute bargain.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

A hidden gem. Tucked away in quiet Cleveland Square, a short walk from Paddington station. Staff were helpful, sheets were crisp, room was beautifully decorated whilst maintaining the period features of the original building. The room was vast with a huge bed - I hardly noticed my other half who apparently slept in the same bed, and a sofa bed for our daughter that was probably king sized. The bathroom was well-equipped and modern. A decent TV and a kitchenette was also provided which would be of use to those spending a longer period here. Slightly negative points, and they are the only things I can fault, are the lack of sockets within the kitchen area (had to use an extension lead) and the carpet was probably due for a clean but was by no means filthy.

Room Tip: ground floor best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Have stayed here on business a couple of times. Kitchenette area in room is very handy for continuing to work in the evening and the rooms are very clean and modern. Quiet considering its proximity to Paddington and very handy for the station & Heathrow Express. Would use again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cleveland

Address: 39 - 40 Cleveland Square, London W2 6DA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 532 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cleveland 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cleveland Hotel is an independent hotel in Bayswater combining the services of a boutique hotel with all the comfort and amenities of serviced apartments. Ideally located on a tranquil and leafy garden square away from the hustle and bustle of London the hotel is just a short walk to London's famous Hyde Park on Bayswater Road and Paddington Station offering excellent transport links to Heathrow Airport and London's lively West End. The Cleveland Hotel has retained all of its beautiful Georgian period features, yet each one of our 30 contemporary studio rooms have been beautifully refurbished with the contemporary traveler in mind. Every room is fully equipped with modern kitchenettes, AC, LED TVs, free Wi-Fi and our friendly, multilingual staff, are on hand 24 hours per day offering you all the services of a boutique hotel. We offer our guests complete flexibility, comfort and security making us an ideal choice regardless of whether you are traveling for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cleveland Hotel London
Cleveland Square London
Hotel Cleveland Square
The Cleveland London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cleveland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.