We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Cleveland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Cleveland to your Saves list
The Cleveland
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   39 - 40 Cleveland Square, London W2 6DA, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off winter 2015
Ranked #85 of 530 London B&B and Inns
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Was given a room downstairs with a view of a wall. Also had a constant noise from a heating system or pipe throughout the night. Room was spacious though and clean with fridge, microwave and toaster. Shower on the small side I would say. 1 km walk to Paddington station is a plus as it connects to the Heathrow Express and various subway lines. Hyde Park is also quite near by.
Would give 4 stars if not for the mentioned issues with my room; so maybe avoid room 03 in the basement, if you can.

Room Tip: Avoid basement and room #03
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    159
    41
    12
    11
See reviews for
91
127
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Perfect little hotel tucked away in a quiet square a short walk from Paddington station. Gentleman on the night shift was very helpful in making sure we had everything, as we arrived late.

Room was big, clean and had a nice bathroom. Appeared to be some damp stains on the walls but not an issue. Bed was comfortable.

Would stay again, and for the price and location, an absolute bargain.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chard, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

A hidden gem. Tucked away in quiet Cleveland Square, a short walk from Paddington station. Staff were helpful, sheets were crisp, room was beautifully decorated whilst maintaining the period features of the original building. The room was vast with a huge bed - I hardly noticed my other half who apparently slept in the same bed, and a sofa bed for our daughter that was probably king sized. The bathroom was well-equipped and modern. A decent TV and a kitchenette was also provided which would be of use to those spending a longer period here. Slightly negative points, and they are the only things I can fault, are the lack of sockets within the kitchen area (had to use an extension lead) and the carpet was probably due for a clean but was by no means filthy.

Room Tip: ground floor best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Have stayed here on business a couple of times. Kitchenette area in room is very handy for continuing to work in the evening and the rooms are very clean and modern. Quiet considering its proximity to Paddington and very handy for the station & Heathrow Express. Would use again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Very good location, tidy an looking nice at first sight. However, our room in the basement only had one window and the bath room was very small and the walls attacked by mold - unhealthy and dangerous to allergics. We will never use this hotel again. It is overrated. A number of hotels in the area is much better value for moeny.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My family and I booked this hotel for our first and last week in London after searching for months on the internet. Considering how expensive it is to stay in London, the price for this hotel was very fair, included a small kitchenette, free wifi, air conditioning, was super quiet (we didn't hear any noise at all) and was in a great location. It's a 5-10min walk to Hyde Park and a 10-15min walk to Paddington station - from there we were able to catch the tube or the overground to wherever we needed to go! On the walk to and from the station, there were plenty of food places to eat, convenience stores (to stock up our kitchenette!) and souvenir shops. The staff were lovely and when I next return to London, I will definitely look at staying here again!

Room Tip: As others have said, the top floor room is a bit of maze to get there if you take the lift option. E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

In our experience, London is one of the toughest places to find larger hotel rooms at reasonable prices. The Cleveland offered us a modern, stylish studio that could accomodate our family with a queen bed and a queen sleeper sofa. Price was very good. Also had a kitchenette, and a corner store up the street where we were able to pick up some eggs, yogurt, bread, milk, etc. Around the corner from Hyde Park. Lovely neighborhood. 5 minute walk with luggage to the nearest metro. Single serve espresso machine in the lobby was a nice touch too. We visit London multiple times each year. We will be staying at The Cleveland from hence forth.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cleveland

Address: 39 - 40 Cleveland Square, London W2 6DA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 530 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cleveland 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cleveland Apartments/Hotel is located in a quiet area near Hyde Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cleveland Hotel London
Cleveland Square London
Hotel Cleveland Square
The Cleveland London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cleveland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.