We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms in basement - Mold attack” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Cleveland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Cleveland to your Saves list
The Cleveland
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   39 - 40 Cleveland Square, London W2 6DA, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
WINTER 2015 - 15% OFF
Ranked #80 of 535 London B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Rooms in basement - Mold attack”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Very good location, tidy an looking nice at first sight. However, our room in the basement only had one window and the bath room was very small and the walls attacked by mold - unhealthy and dangerous to allergics. We will never use this hotel again. It is overrated. A number of hotels in the area is much better value for moeny.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    171
    46
    12
    11
See reviews for
105
133
16
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My family and I booked this hotel for our first and last week in London after searching for months on the internet. Considering how expensive it is to stay in London, the price for this hotel was very fair, included a small kitchenette, free wifi, air conditioning, was super quiet (we didn't hear any noise at all) and was in a great location. It's a 5-10min walk to Hyde Park and a 10-15min walk to Paddington station - from there we were able to catch the tube or the overground to wherever we needed to go! On the walk to and from the station, there were plenty of food places to eat, convenience stores (to stock up our kitchenette!) and souvenir shops. The staff were lovely and when I next return to London, I will definitely look at staying here again!

Room Tip: As others have said, the top floor room is a bit of maze to get there if you take the lift option. E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Italy
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

In our experience, London is one of the toughest places to find larger hotel rooms at reasonable prices. The Cleveland offered us a modern, stylish studio that could accomodate our family with a queen bed and a queen sleeper sofa. Price was very good. Also had a kitchenette, and a corner store up the street where we were able to pick up some eggs, yogurt, bread, milk, etc. Around the corner from Hyde Park. Lovely neighborhood. 5 minute walk with luggage to the nearest metro. Single serve espresso machine in the lobby was a nice touch too. We visit London multiple times each year. We will be staying at The Cleveland from hence forth.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This hotel is in a very quiet, very convenient neighborhood. Within half a mile walk to Paddington and probably one a quarter mile to Queensway, Bayswater, and Lancaster Gate tube stations. These stops access most of the the tube lines or can get you close to a different tube line in short order. Definitely an area of London I would recommend and would stay here again.

The room itself was fairly average for this type of place, but the kitchenette was a nice feature. The bed wasn't overly comfortable, but we were certainly able to get a decent nights rest. The size of the room was on par with other London hotels we've stayed. It wasn't overly big, and by most American standards would be considered a small room, but for European hotel rooms this was pretty good. The only odd thing was the television was on the wall adjacent to the bed, essentially at the foot of the bed, so that made for an odd viewing angle at times.

The only drawback was the actual location of our room, we were on the first small hallway from the front desk on the ground floor, so it seemed as if everyone coming and going was passing our room to get to theirs. For future stays, I would request a room in a different area or on the floor above to hopefully cut down on foot traffic outside the room.

All in all, this was a good place to stay and I would absolutely recommend it to anyone I knew taking a trip to London.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Stayed in the area as we wanted to be close to both Paddington Station and Hyde Park, and could not have chosen a nicer place to stay in a very quiet neighbourhood. We had a good size room on one of the top floors, which had a kitchenette in it, which was not used but if you were staying longer could have been very useful. The area is very nice, we had a nice pint in the local which was a short walk away, friendly staff in the local.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor, with a view over the square, which was nice, but the lift did not go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in December as we wanted to go to Hyde park.

It was clean and comfortable in a lovely area of bayswater with a nice modern kitchenette area.

There is a bit of a walk from the nearest tube stations so if you have a lot of luggage, I would recommend getting a taxi.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

On booking through the internet we asked for the triple room and were given a double with a bed settee leaving no space to move around. also the room we were given was at the very top of the hotel with stopping ceiling which myself and my husband hit our heads off on numerous occasions. there was no lift all the way to our floor so had to climb 3 lots of stairs. this was not stated in the details as i wld not have booked because i have bad knees. we had booked well in advance (October) and upon complaining were told this is all that was left! our stay was very uncomfortable and very expensive for what we received. just to add there were no mind your head signs which i would have thought was compulsory.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cleveland

Address: 39 - 40 Cleveland Square, London W2 6DA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 535 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cleveland 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cleveland Hotel is an independent hotel in Bayswater combining the services of a boutique hotel with all the comfort and amenities of serviced apartments. Ideally located on a tranquil and leafy garden square away from the hustle and bustle of London the hotel is just a short walk to London's famous Hyde Park on Bayswater Road and Paddington Station offering excellent transport links to Heathrow Airport and London's lively West End. The Cleveland Hotel has retained all of its beautiful Georgian period features, yet each one of our 30 contemporary studio rooms have been beautifully refurbished with the contemporary traveler in mind. Every room is fully equipped with modern kitchenettes, AC, LED TVs, free Wi-Fi and our friendly, multilingual staff, are on hand 24 hours per day offering you all the services of a boutique hotel. We offer our guests complete flexibility, comfort and security making us an ideal choice regardless of whether you are traveling for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cleveland Hotel London
Cleveland Square London
Hotel Cleveland Square
The Cleveland London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cleveland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.