We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value especially if you are staying for a few nights” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cleveland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Cleveland to your Saves list
The Cleveland
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   39 - 40 Cleveland Square, London W2 6DA, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
12% DISCOUNT THIS WINTER
Ranked #86 of 531 London B&B and Inns
London
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Great value especially if you are staying for a few nights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

London hotels are notorious for being small and very expensive. So it was nice to find a place to stay that was still in Zone 1 and close to Paddington and Bayswater tubes, yet at a reasonable price.
This is a great option for families or those who are staying for more than just a few nights because the rooms have a kitchenette so you can prepare your own breakfasts and meals.
Which keeps costs down.

We had a room on the ground floor (number 10 I think) and whilst we didn't get a view (we really didn't need one), this meant that the flat was very quiet. We did get some foot traffic as it was in a hallway that linked the entrance to other parts of the hotel, but it never kept us awake.
The street the hotel is located in is very quiet as it is a no through road (so no traffic noise).

The room was clean and whilst wasn't huge, was enough for us to fit 2 adults and 4 suitcases.
It was perfect for us.
The staff were a standout. The reception staff were always so friendly and helpful as well.

Only warning is that people with mobility issues may find the walk to the tube a little long. It was about 10 minutes to Paddington which was fine for us.

The hotel decor is lovely as well and has a homely feeling and I would recommend it to anyone wanting to stay somewhere a little different in London.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    159
    41
    12
    11
See reviews for
91
127
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just back from a stay at the Clevland. Very impressed with the hotel. Clean and nely renovated and the small kitchen in the room was very well equipped. The free continental breakfast was also excellent and I was impressed by the organic yoghurt and orange juice. They dont provide cooked breakfasts but the continental pastries, fruit and yoghurt as well as bagels was more than sufficient. Enjoyed all the more as it was delivered to our room. The room itself was large, airy and comfortable. We booked a double and there was more than enough room for two of us. All the staff were incredibly polite, friendly and welcoming. The hotel is on a quiet residential street. Would definitely stay here again. The only thing that stops me giving it a 5 star was the lack of hot water on the Sunday morning. To be fair to the hotel the staff phoned us up to advise us of the problem with the boiler and were very apologetic whilst waiting for their repairman to arrive. I think they were as fed up as us as the boiler had only recently been overhauled!

Room Tip: Ask for non basement room but not fourth floor (the lift only goes up to the third floor!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We found this hotel using booking.com. It's very close to Paddington, Bayswater and Lancaster gate stations, and well situated for Hyde Park. The rooms are modern and heated/air conditioned and have kitchenettes to prepare breakfast/light meals. There isn't a restaurant. Reception staff are friendly and helpful. Very quiet location. Would stay again as easy access to central London.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Ideal location when using the train from Heathrow. Large clean rooms in a nice area of town. We skipped breakfast as they only had in room continental breakfast and had a proper English breakfast nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Nice and pleasant hotel. Very clean and roomy. We were assigned a room on the top floor which is not accessible by lift. Short climb up the stairs. They were helpful in carrying our bags up to the room. Kitchen comes with a microwave which is handy for food warming. Free wifi is a plus. About 15 mins walk to paddington underground. We miss our way back to the hotel on our first night as the buildings looks alike thus would suggest do look out for some familiar landmarks for ease of finding the way back to the hotel, especially at night. Overall is a great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this Hotel. It was absolutely fabulous,really comfortable,clean rooms with plenty of space. The kitchenette facilities were an excellent finishing touch to the rooms. The hotel is very well situated,the tube stations are in close proximity(£7.00 per day for day pass which allowed you to see all the sight seeing of London).I would definately stay at this hotel again and highly recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed as a family with two teenagers so we could visit London's sights without a long commute. The ensuite kitchen facilities (hidden behind wardrobe-style doors in the room) helped to keep costs down. The room was well laid-out with the sofa bed accommodating the teenagers. The central location made it ideal. The staff were friendly and helpful. We hope to go back some time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cleveland

Address: 39 - 40 Cleveland Square, London W2 6DA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 531 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cleveland 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cleveland Hotel is an independent hotel in Bayswater combining the services of a boutique hotel with all the comfort and amenities of serviced apartments. Ideally located on a tranquil and leafy garden square away from the hustle and bustle of London the hotel is just a short walk to London's famous Hyde Park on Bayswater Road and Paddington Station offering excellent transport links to Heathrow Airport and London's lively West End. The Cleveland Hotel has retained all of its beautiful Georgian period features, yet each one of our 30 contemporary studio rooms have been beautifully refurbished with the contemporary traveler in mind. Every room is fully equipped with modern kitchenettes, AC, LED TVs, free Wi-Fi and our friendly, multilingual staff, are on hand 24 hours per day offering you all the services of a boutique hotel. We offer our guests complete flexibility, comfort and security making us an ideal choice regardless of whether you are traveling for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, Despegar.com, T4B, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cleveland Hotel London
Cleveland Square London
Hotel Cleveland Square
The Cleveland London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cleveland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.