We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel and with Lovely Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cleveland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Cleveland to your Saves list
The Cleveland
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   39 - 40 Cleveland Square, London W2 6DA, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
WINTER 2015 - 15% OFF
Ranked #80 of 535 London B&B and Inns
Singapore
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel and with Lovely Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Nice and pleasant hotel. Very clean and roomy. We were assigned a room on the top floor which is not accessible by lift. Short climb up the stairs. They were helpful in carrying our bags up to the room. Kitchen comes with a microwave which is handy for food warming. Free wifi is a plus. About 15 mins walk to paddington underground. We miss our way back to the hotel on our first night as the buildings looks alike thus would suggest do look out for some familiar landmarks for ease of finding the way back to the hotel, especially at night. Overall is a great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    171
    46
    12
    11
See reviews for
105
133
16
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this Hotel. It was absolutely fabulous,really comfortable,clean rooms with plenty of space. The kitchenette facilities were an excellent finishing touch to the rooms. The hotel is very well situated,the tube stations are in close proximity(£7.00 per day for day pass which allowed you to see all the sight seeing of London).I would definately stay at this hotel again and highly recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed as a family with two teenagers so we could visit London's sights without a long commute. The ensuite kitchen facilities (hidden behind wardrobe-style doors in the room) helped to keep costs down. The room was well laid-out with the sofa bed accommodating the teenagers. The central location made it ideal. The staff were friendly and helpful. We hope to go back some time.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The hotel is very well situated in London. Only 10 mins from Paddington and in a quiet square.

We had the suite for two nights and were very impressed. The hotel is clean and bed was very comfortable. You cannot get a cooked breakfast, but the suite had all the facilities to make your own in the kitchenette which was very well equipped. And being located where it is cafes etc are a short walk away.

The hotel was great in arranging cabs and a late night pizza for us!!

The only reason I haven't given a 5 star is that my father called and wanted to send two bottles of champagne to hotel for our arrival, they told him this service wasn't available!!?? They do not have a bar at the hotel so it wasn't hurting their revenue stream. I found this a little odd as we were paying £200 per night! It may have been due to a language barrier as not one member of staff was British.

However in saying that, every member of staff was polite and helpful and I have no gripes at all with the hotel. Comfy big bed, spacious airy room, air con and great facilities. We will be staying again!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosta, Malta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

At first they gave us an extremely small room - low ceiling, badly planned and to top it all off, with a broken bed! It was very claustrophobic. This was supposed to be a four star hotel. Anyway we spoke to the receptionist about the state of the room and she gave us another room which was extremely spacious with no broken beds! We later opted to change it for another room - ground level - good view, spacious, no broken beds, - it was just perfect. Therefore, apart from the first room, everything was good as expected - The two rooms we tried were good - the decor was very modern. The rooms were clean, the wi-fi worked, the shower was spacious and clean, the hotel staff were nice and very polite. And the hotel facade was very nice. The location was excellent - very nice and very safe, as well as being quite near Hyde Park and Paddington Station.

Room Tip: Don't ask for a top floor room! We were disappointed with the one they gave us - a ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire England
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed one night in their executive suite which was a lovely room with a kitchenette hidden behind a panel. The staff were lovely and showed us to our room. They also had a coffee machine in reception. We had no idea what to expect and were there just for the Olympics so only in the room at night. There were cooking facilities but obviously we had no food with us and would be pointless to buy for just one night. Sadly,no biscuit to have with early morning tea. As for buying breakfast they only provided a set packed breakfast of cereal, yoghurt & a piece of fruit at £10 p.p. so not our choice. Great location close to tubes and beautifully clean and tidy. Would possibly stay again if standard rooms are cheaper as executive suite with the cooking facilities was quite pricy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Very friendly staff at reception showed us to our room which was plain but just perfect - fab kitchen, everything you would need and a lovely spacious room we stayed in room 23 and executive studio suited or one night - for those that are thinking of booking. Great location less than ten mins from bayswater and paddington stations. And perfect if you want to take a stroll to Hyde park. Would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cleveland

Address: 39 - 40 Cleveland Square, London W2 6DA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 535 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cleveland 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cleveland Hotel is an independent hotel in Bayswater combining the services of a boutique hotel with all the comfort and amenities of serviced apartments. Ideally located on a tranquil and leafy garden square away from the hustle and bustle of London the hotel is just a short walk to London's famous Hyde Park on Bayswater Road and Paddington Station offering excellent transport links to Heathrow Airport and London's lively West End. The Cleveland Hotel has retained all of its beautiful Georgian period features, yet each one of our 30 contemporary studio rooms have been beautifully refurbished with the contemporary traveler in mind. Every room is fully equipped with modern kitchenettes, AC, LED TVs, free Wi-Fi and our friendly, multilingual staff, are on hand 24 hours per day offering you all the services of a boutique hotel. We offer our guests complete flexibility, comfort and security making us an ideal choice regardless of whether you are traveling for business or leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cleveland Hotel London
Cleveland Square London
Hotel Cleveland Square
The Cleveland London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cleveland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.