We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel & location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cleveland

Save Saved
You added The Cleveland to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cleveland
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   39 - 40 Cleveland Square, London W2 6DA, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 525 London B&B and Inns
Tavistock, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel & location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The hotel is very well situated in London. Only 10 mins from Paddington and in a quiet square.

We had the suite for two nights and were very impressed. The hotel is clean and bed was very comfortable. You cannot get a cooked breakfast, but the suite had all the facilities to make your own in the kitchenette which was very well equipped. And being located where it is cafes etc are a short walk away.

The hotel was great in arranging cabs and a late night pizza for us!!

The only reason I haven't given a 5 star is that my father called and wanted to send two bottles of champagne to hotel for our arrival, they told him this service wasn't available!!?? They do not have a bar at the hotel so it wasn't hurting their revenue stream. I found this a little odd as we were paying £200 per night! It may have been due to a language barrier as not one member of staff was British.

However in saying that, every member of staff was polite and helpful and I have no gripes at all with the hotel. Comfy big bed, spacious airy room, air con and great facilities. We will be staying again!

Room Tip: Ask for a suite with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    152
    40
    12
    11
See reviews for
90
124
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mosta, Malta
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

At first they gave us an extremely small room - low ceiling, badly planned and to top it all off, with a broken bed! It was very claustrophobic. This was supposed to be a four star hotel. Anyway we spoke to the receptionist about the state of the room and she gave us another room which was extremely spacious with no broken beds! We later opted to change it for another room - ground level - good view, spacious, no broken beds, - it was just perfect. Therefore, apart from the first room, everything was good as expected - The two rooms we tried were good - the decor was very modern. The rooms were clean, the wi-fi worked, the shower was spacious and clean, the hotel staff were nice and very polite. And the hotel facade was very nice. The location was excellent - very nice and very safe, as well as being quite near Hyde Park and Paddington Station.

Room Tip: Don't ask for a top floor room! We were disappointed with the one they gave us - a ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire England
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed one night in their executive suite which was a lovely room with a kitchenette hidden behind a panel. The staff were lovely and showed us to our room. They also had a coffee machine in reception. We had no idea what to expect and were there just for the Olympics so only in the room at night. There were cooking facilities but obviously we had no food with us and would be pointless to buy for just one night. Sadly,no biscuit to have with early morning tea. As for buying breakfast they only provided a set packed breakfast of cereal, yoghurt & a piece of fruit at £10 p.p. so not our choice. Great location close to tubes and beautifully clean and tidy. Would possibly stay again if standard rooms are cheaper as executive suite with the cooking facilities was quite pricy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Very friendly staff at reception showed us to our room which was plain but just perfect - fab kitchen, everything you would need and a lovely spacious room we stayed in room 23 and executive studio suited or one night - for those that are thinking of booking. Great location less than ten mins from bayswater and paddington stations. And perfect if you want to take a stroll to Hyde park. Would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Great place to stay in London. Out of the way (so nice and quiet) but near enough to station (10 min walk) really well equipped room, nice size, quiet and couldn't have asked for more really.

We were out and about every day, so soon grew weary of the walk to and from tube station, so downloaded an app for Boris Bikes, and turns out there was a bike station behind the building (bout 1 min walk) so we utilised this, and used Boris Bikes for the rest of the holiday, which was brilliant! (think the cleveland could have advertised this fact to us) but other than that, brilliant place to stay, well worth it, and would use again !

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Rooms look recently renovated to a very high standard
Equiped with Microwave and cooking facilities
Bathroom is clinicly clean and the main Tube an Rail are about 7 mins walk away

A little pricey but the olympics were on so i guess there was a reason.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

we received a lovely welcome on arrival, we had booked this hotel as we wanted it to be local for Hyde Park for an event. Our room was in the basement but had windows and was light and airy, it was useful to have a small kitchen area in a cupboard, with two ring hob and microwave, the room was a good size and there was free wi-fi. Somebody on hand 24 hours a day if needed, short walk to tube with local shops.

Room Tip: if you don't like basements ask for high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cleveland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cleveland

Address: 39 - 40 Cleveland Square, London W2 6DA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 525 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cleveland 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cleveland Apartments/Hotel is located in a quiet area near Hyde Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your The Cleveland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cleveland Hotel London
Cleveland Square London
Hotel Cleveland Square
The Cleveland London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cleveland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;