We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Charlotte Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Charlotte Guest House to your Saves list
Charlotte Guest House
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   195 - 197 Sumatra Road | West Hampstead, London NW6 1PF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 684 Specialty Lodging in London
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    207
    86
    26
    20
See reviews for
118
164
16
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

What can I say about this place My wife and I arrived here mid afternoon on the 12th Nov 2012.At reception we was given our key after paying an extra £5 deposit for it and then told our room is not in this building but down the road in another building a good 400 metres further down the road.We arrived at our room and upon entering the first thing we noticed was a very nasty smell.In the bathroom the toilet was situated very close to an unfrosted window which had a venetian blind attached to it.The room was decorated in a paint that looked liked the colour had been made up from several left over bits of paint from other tins a mustardy yellow The smell in the room was with us over the next 4 nights even though it was mentioned at reception There exuse was it was comming up from the shower drain.At breakfast you had 2 choices of cereal which are stored in containers which had seen better days The cooked breakfast consisted of 2 eggs 1 bacon 1 sausage and a few beans with toast, beverages! we had tea! was brought in a mug which belonged in the hands of a builder on a building site and the teabag always left in, you was not asked if you wanted extra of anythingThe standard of service at breakfast was poor you would have better service in a back street greasey spoon.The good points of this guest house would be the price we paid £50.00 pounds a night the location was easy to get into central London just 5mins by tube .We was out from after breakfast to late at night everyday so put up with it .The next time we go to London we will definately pay a little extra for a better service and comfort .We half expected Rigsby to walk in any minute so if you dont mind roughing it and your on a tight budget this is the place for you .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Our room was very nicely decorated. Good breakfast and it's easy to get into the city centre. The walls seemed to be quite thin though and the doors fall into place very loudly, which can be a bit annoying in the morning, when people leave early.
Allthogether a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

if you like to stay in a real, old neighbourhood chose charlotte guest house in West Hampstead. Charlotte is close to the main road in front of Tesco supermarket and you can find a lot of delicious restaurants and pubs walking around.
Lots of charity shop and library on the main road.
One minute to the bus stop and metro to the city centre.
Our double bed ensuite room was the real english style simple room, as you think when you go to London. Bathroom is small but ok. You can have good breakfast in the bright terrace of the main building, Kind staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in december and got what we expected, the charlotte is made up of 8 or 9 houses in and around sumatra rd, so if your expecting to stay at the guest house you may be dissapointed. our room was only about 70/80 yards away which was fine, and the girl in reception took us to the house, the room was very basic, but warm, with clean bedding and towels. breakfast is back at the guest house and was fine,not much choice of cereal, but good english breakfast, 2 eggs,bacon,sausage,beans and toast. overall great,friendly staff, and value for money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

For the price my fiance and I paid for our room (very cheap!), we were expecting breakfast to consist of a bag of bread and an old toaster. We were so wrong!! Delightful staff and a delicious full english! We'd definitely stay again, and look forward to seeing our breakfast photo with the festively dressed staff on their facebook page!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Overall the B&B was ok. Day staff OK. Breakfast OK. Cleanliness OK. Toilet outside of the room OK. The room with enclosed bathroom had an incredibly SMALL sink. I could barely use it. Unfortunately the night staff was terrible. We arrived kind of late (about midnight), and some sleepy (and probably drunk) guy, really creepy, very lazily took us to the rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Charlotte Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte Guest House

Address: 195 - 197 Sumatra Road | West Hampstead, London NW6 1PF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 684 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Charlotte Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Charlotte Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Guest House Hotel London
Charlotte Guest House London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlotte Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.