We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky Old-Style London Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Aber Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Aber Hotel
Save
You added The Aber Hotel to your Saves list
89 Crouch Hill | Crouch End, London N8 9EG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #538 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Florida Panhandle, Florida
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Quirky Old-Style London Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I spent 2 nights at the Aber in November 2009, not November 2010 as noted.

I chose the location as it is very near friends. It's a small property in the English manner. I arrived late to a friendly greeting. My room on the 3rd floor was HUGE, with two beds placed at a diagonal from one another, a new flat-screen TV. The furnishings were simple but functional. The two things I disliked about the room were the fact there was no adequate reading-light, just an overhead light, and a very small bedside lamp that made it difficult to read. The bath was simple as well, with a stall shower and plenty of hot water. During the day the room was awash in light due to the large windows and high ceilings, even the bathroom had a window which was nice. The first night I got the distinct impression I was the only person there, which felt slightly creepy. But the next morning I awoke to the smell of toast and hushed conversation so apparently that wasn't the case. Was the Aber perfect? Nope. But it was undeniably a fantastic bargain. The staff I encountered were friendly. It was a little tatty but that was part of its appeal, really. I probably wouldn't make it my London hotel unless I was in the area, as you are certainly are not in the tourist center of London. But the leafy, quiet neighborhood and the quirky Aber was nice in its own way.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    27
    10
    5
    0
See reviews for
9
28
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

The staff at Aber hotel are accommodating and friendly. I really enjoyed my stay there. It located in a great quiet location in the heart of crouch end . The double room which I stayed in was clean and comfortable.
The choice for the continental breakfast in the morning was great.

I will definitely come back to the Aber Hotel when in Crouch end either for business or Leisure

Thankyou

Lakis and Alice

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Clean, quiet, small hotel close to Crouch End. No frills but v comfortable bed and uncomplicated continental breakfast
Shower and toilet en-suite a masterpiece of fitting quart into pint pot!
Will definitely stay again when visiting family nearby

Room Tip: Room 9 is top of two flights but quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

Just stayed the one night. The bed in our Family room (there was just my wife and myself) was very lumpy, so slept most of the night in one of the single beds.We had to leave at 7am so missed breakfast which was served from 8am (no alternative was offered i.e continental left out for us) which was a shame as the restaurant looked nice being in a conservatory.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

The Hotel was clean and in a nice area.... Sound insulation is not the best but for the money you pay this hotel is well worth it for a brief stay. I would return if in the area again...

Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2007

A comfortable hotel in north London, close to Crouch End, Archway, Stroud Green and Finsbury Park. The hotel was clean and warm, and even though the rooms were a bit on the small side we had a comfortable stay. As most hotels in London, the noise of traffic, doors slamming and snoring neighbours were also present in this hotel. However I would recommend it for a short stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Snoring neighbours
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Aber Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Aber Hotel

Address: 89 Crouch Hill | Crouch End, London N8 9EG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aber Hotel is a family owned with dedicated staff providing an exceptional welcoming and friendly atmosphere. Here at the Aber Hotel, our policy is to offer our guests an excellent value for their money and caring personal attention. A policy which has been very well rewarded by the ever increasing numbers of regular guests from the UK and abroad who have chosen The Aber Hotel as their second home in London. You can also expect the finest from your comfortable and contemporary hotel rooms; Widescreen LCD flat screen TVs with Freeview, complimentary Internet access - WIFI, mini safes for your personal belongings to be kept safe, tea/coffee facilities and a well-stocked mini bar. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Aber Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Aber Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.