We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Brands, Packaging and Advertising

Museum of Brands, Packaging and Advertising
2 Colville Mews | 11, London W11 2AR, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )
+44(0)20 7908 0880
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 1,081 attractions in London
Type: Specialty Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Just around the corner from the world-famous Portobello Road Market stands a unique, Aladdin's cave of retro design and memories - the only museum of its kind in the whole world.Imagine walking through a corridor full from floor to ceiling with the treats that the British have filled their shopping baskets with for the last 150 years. Every corner you turn in the Time Tunnel leads you into a different decade.You'll see Rimmel cosmetics from the 1890s, First World War Oxo cubes, Mars Bars, Rolos and KitKats from the 1930s, a 1970s Chopper bike and around 12, 000 other items that will open your eyes to the way we shopped.Discover what has made shoppers tick for the last 200 years and surround yourself in the classic designs, vintage adverts and retro stylings that fill our museum.You can even hire the museum and its conference room for your meetings and parties!So whether you visit to awaken childhood memories or to inspire your own designs, we welcome you to the Museum of Brands, Packaging and Advertising.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

This museum was well worth visiting ( you need a map or else you wouldn't have a clue to find it) we found it after a 10 minute walk from Ladbroke Grove tube, waking past the Portobello Market.
There is loads to see from the brands from Victorian times, right up until the 2000's, and there is a little shop and café at the end. It is amazing to see the brands again from the 90's which I'd forgotten about, from when I was at school! Well worth a visit to this museum. Staff were very friendly.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    134
    15
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nostalgia at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

A small museum tucked away in a quiet corner of west London, not far from Portobello Road, this is a real gem of a place for those who enjoy a trip into the past. Its huge collection of products and packaging could not fail to bring back many memories of long forgotten items. This and very helpful, friendly staff made it a visit to remember.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
“Branding and Brand Managers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Terrific. It's the second time Ive been to the museum and as a Brand Manager it is great to see the evolution of the brands via their consumer messages on the product, promotional material and packaging. If anyone is in marketing, in any form, this place is a must to understand how the simplicity and consistancy of a message leads to longevity of the brand. You only have to look at Guiness and Tide to see how it should be done. Why reinvent the wheel, simply ride on the shoulders of the giants.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey,uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“NOSTALGIC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Although I enjoyed the visit the place itself is not particularly easy to find,being tucked away in a Mews. I walked from Notting Hill Gate underground and being on the opposite side of the road I passed it the first time. Once inside it was crowded(school half term) but nonetheless I found the displays a reminder of the years of my childhood. The trip would have been better if accompanied by someone to swap yarns and "do you remember........?" There is not a lot of space between cabinets so its a bit of a shuffle. It is however a worthwhile visit and not overpriced. There is a small cafe for a cuppa at the end. I reckon you could scoot round in 30 minutes or on average a visit is probably 60 minutes

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
74 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Full of Happy Reminders”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We came across this museum quite by accident and are so pleased we did it was a fabulous reminder of bygone days starting with the Victorian era and going right up to todays packaging and products in very pleasant surroundings with a great little café and very friendly staff such a pity that it is not a better known museum because it was like going back in time and evoked so many happy memories. I would recommend anyone to look it up if you are in the area but leave plenty of time as there is so much to see and as its on one level there is good wheelchair access too.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Brands, Packaging and Advertising also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Brands, Packaging and Advertising? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Brands, Packaging and Advertising, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Museum of Brands, Packaging and Advertising to your Saves list