We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a quick visit to London!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lord Milner

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Lord Milner to your Saves list
The Lord Milner
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Ebury Street | Belgravia, London SW1W 9QU, England (Belgravia)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #411 of 1,052 Hotels in London
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for a quick visit to London!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Before heading out on our cruise around the British Isles, my husband and I needed a place to call "home base" for our 3 night stay. This was our first visit to London so I knew we wouldn't be spending much time in our room. Perfect location just minutes from Victorian Coach Station, restaurants and pubs. Comfortable, clean, lovely neighborhood.....perfect for what we needed. I would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Even though they had a lift, you still needed to go down a few stairs just to get to the lift. Not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    86
    28
    11
    6
See reviews for
18
91
23
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The Lord Milner is well situated near Victoria Station and was a handy overnight stop for us as we moved from one leg of our journey to the next. The neighborhood is wonderful and it's an easy walk to several popular attractions and shopping areas. Security is good as one has to ring to be admitted, although standing on the stairs with bags in the rain explaining that you have a reservation and would please like to come in doesn't always start the visit off on the best note. We almost felt like we were intruding or a bit of a nuisance. The lobby is very pretty. Our room was down stairs to the lift, a ride up in the lift, and up a flight of stairs from where the lift left us off. We both had heavy suitcases and there was no really help with luggage. The lady who showed us to our room looked back when she heard the grunting on the stairs up and asked "Oh, did you need help?" and took my husband's small carry on bag for the last part of the climb. Usually, I don't need help, but I had been book shopping. I managed, but it was a struggle. I understand if you don't have people to help with bags, but please warn me that it's a climb. I would have left my book bag in the lobby and come back for it. If you have mobility issues or need help with bags, I would let the hotel staff know in advance so your room doesn't require the extra stairs.

The room itself was a good size, quiet, very clean and nicely decorated. The bed is comfortable as was the room temperature. The bathroom was large and had a big tub/shower combination. The step over the tub was a bit high, so, again, if you have some limitations that is something to keep in mind. The safe is also in an awkward location at the bottom of the closet. When my husband had trouble locking the safe, someone came up to help immediately, and even she laughed at it's location. It's a little dark to read the instructions, but once it's all set up it's simple. The usual tea making supplies were on a tray and were a welcome sight! I wish American hotels would adopt this feature. Breakfast is offered but we didn't partake as we had a train to catch. The staff were generally pleasant and kindly called us a taxi upon check-out. We were able to take a peek into the garden room as they had just finished preparing it and it was gorgeous. We just stayed overnight so maybe we didn't have enough time to appreciate this hotel. It was fine and I wouldn't count it out if we ever needed to stay near Victoria again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I stayed for one night in the single room, so my review only based on this experience and imagine other rooms may well be much better.
The room is tucked away behind the reception area, through a very awkward door configuration that in an emergency may well cause panic - the room whilst small was adequate for one, but not if you were planning on having Breakfast in your room as there was no where to put a tray down except on the bed. The tiny bathroom was fine again for one, the bed was a comfortable double.
The air con unit is positioned so high up the wall that my 5'1" self had great difficulty in managing to operate it, and being on the ground floor the window appeared to be locked. When I did get it to work and cool air being blown, after about 10 minutes I had to switch it off as the whole room smelled of sewerage. I decided to have a rest after a busy day before heading to a function in the evening, switched off the Air-con because of the smell and noticed a beeping noise every 4 minutes, it went on all the time, I unplugged the phone and everything I could see but it still beeped, luckily I had some earplugs with me for nighttime.
In the entrance lobby there was a distinct smell of cigarette smoke, the kind you used to get before the smoking ban came in when fabrics held that aroma long after the smoker had moved on.
Overall, I would give them another go because the position and price were excellent. But I would not choose the single room again and should say that nothing was that bad that I made a complaint it was just not great.

Room Tip: Don't choose the single
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Far from a five star. I had eight day reservation and checked out after three days. Even with elevator there were steps to take. Only one very narrow staircase with a room or two on each landing. First room (so-called deluxe) at top had outside concrete decoration blocking windows so they had to open in special way to let firemen try to extract you in emergency. Second room had torn and stained carpets. Bathrooms barely large enough to turn around in and no place on sink to place items. Personnel (2) were pleasant. Nice area. Maybe it's a 3 1/2 star if you're not claustrophobic.

Room Tip: Only had two rooms. First was claustrophobic and scary if an emergency. Second was seedy. Do not acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Beautiful little hotel close to Victoria Station yet a very quiet location. We had the Lord Milner room which overlooked the street and heard absolutely nothing. The room we had was spacious and well furnished. The bathroom was cleverly and thoughtfully designed. Check in and check out was friendly and efficient with no snootiness that you may find with some other establishemnts in the area. The rate is room only but for £8.50 each you can have a generous continental breakfast served in your room. The stairs are quite steep but that's nota problem as there is modern get tastefully designed lift serving the upper floors. I would have no hesitation in returning to the Lord Milner.

Room Tip: I would go for the larger rooms. You pay a few extra shillings but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Was very dubious at first when booking because it was a B and B usually we stay in hotels when visiting London, however I will definitely be returning here! On arrival from Victoria station was very easy to find and within walking distance. We stayed in the city room for three nights and it was all we needed. Very comfy bed and well decorated, bathroom was lovely black marble and the whole room was clean and always fresh towels and new sweeties at side of bed after long day walking around and sightseeing! At night time you could hear no traffic or any noise from within the hotel. We ordered breakfast one morning which was delivered to us right on time the usual continental style or fry up! Had no problems checking in or out and all staff very helpful, look forward to returning!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Great hotel, lovely décor, yes the bathroom is small, but we had the four poster bed which was really comfortable and a quiet great nights sleep.

Staff also friendly and a great overnighter if you can sort a breakfast somewhere else...definitely on my list of preferred places to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#314 of 1,052 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 925 reviews
Pimlico
Premier Inn London Victoria
Premier Inn London Victoria
#171 of 1,052 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,610 reviews
Pimlico
The Windermere Hotel
The Windermere Hotel
#175 of 1,052 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Comfort Inn Buckingham Palace Road
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#150 of 1,052 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 2,240 reviews
Pimlico
DoubleTree by Hilton London Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lord Milner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lord Milner

Address: 111 Ebury Street | Belgravia, London SW1W 9QU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia , Victoria
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#95 Best Value Hotel in London
#274 Luxury Hotel in London
#316 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Lord Milner 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This new boutique bed and breakfast offers discreet elegance and sophistication, situated in the heart of London's central and fashionable Belgravia area. Relax amid rich, individually styled furnishings; stylish marble en suite bathrooms a variety of amenities designed to enhance the convenience and comfort of your stay. Free broadband internet access in every room. The Lord Milner is an ideal base for both business and leisure guests, while many of London's most popular destinations are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Lord Milner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lord Milner Hotel London
Lord Milner London
The Lord Milner London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lord Milner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.