We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and comfortable hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Church Street Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Church Street Hotel to your Saves list
Church Street Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29-33 Camberwell Church Street, London SE5 8TR, England (Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #163 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Boulder City, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Great staff and comfortable hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The staff at the front desk were very helpful- we got there early and they gave us the very comfortable hospitality bar to wait for our room to be readied in. Breakfast & coffee was excellent. The rooms were comfortable and we got a bonus view of the Para-olympic closing ceremony fireworks. We were a little wary of the area at first but turned out to be a great experience for our first time in London.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    81
    18
    9
    2
See reviews for
26
99
41
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We certainly didn't expect to find such a haven in this location. The decor is tasteful, the staff extremely helpful, the room very comfortable and the breakfast top quality.

It was unfortunate that we stayed there whilst having a very sad experience at the nearby Kings College Hospital but we were very well supported by the staff at the hotel.

We hope to return under happier circumstances in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Found the hotel to be lovely and very 'fun'. The decor is individual and exciting, without being tacky. As noted several times the staff are very friendly and helpful.
We had room 12 which was small but perfect, cool nick nacks, lovely view of the London Eye out the window and a tiny but powerful shower.
Whilst the hotel is not near a tube station it is very well served by buses (we caught one to London Bridge/Borough Market, took around 20 mins, to Kings Cross is about 30mins).
I loved the freebie toiletries and chocolate...the little tub of hot sauce is out of this world delicious, eat with caution though.
There are some very nice bars and pubs nearby too!

Room Tip: Go high up for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This one counts as another triumph for the wonders of Tripadvisor. I would never have found this place if it wasn't for them.

I don't really know where to start. It's a kind of Hispanic wonderland! There are some themes to hotels, bars and restaurants that work and some that don't. In this case it works! Totally and utterly, from the small foyeur and reception, up through the winding staircases, passed the "honesty bar" and up into the Gods, where my room was. It's all tiles, original works of art, ceramic figures, bleeding hearts, wooden floors, brilliant colours and so much more. I fell in love with it the moment I walked in off the street.

Breakfast is served in the Honesty bar/lounge area and is a little bit of perfection in its self. Very good fresh pastries, real coffee, Neals Yard Yoghurt and three types of freshly squeezed juice. Wonderful!

Theres so much more I could say but I'm just going to let you experience it for yourself. This place is fabulous. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Loved this hotel. Small and cosy, clean and friendly. Staff all brilliant. Love the 'Los Muertos' theme! My room was on the top floor, cosy warm and looking over the rooftops of London...not much street noise at all. Breakfast is delicious....Monmouth coffee and organic treats - eggs, yoghurt, cereal, juice, crushed nuts and honey! Choice of toast and croissants. All delicious.
The staff are so happy and friendly - I wish I worked there!
Treats in your room - L' Occitane toiletries, Green and Blacks chocolate and posh bottled water, replenished daily.
Cosy big lounge with complementary hot choc/tea/coffee and big leather sofas...good DVD collection and Honesty Bar with every drink you could want!
I stayed there to be near where a relative was staying - it is a 15 min bus ride (or so) into the city centre.
Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: I had room 33 and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

V much agree with the recent positive reviews. I had a v friendly and professional welcome from Bo, and likewise all staff. Nice feel to the place. Excellent breakfast, mercifully big on healthy stuff and low on cooked lard... Those more accustomed to the slicker/blander parts of central London might find Camberwell a step-down, but transport links pretty decent and good in my view to visit other parts of the capital. Def recommended.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Friendly staff and a lovely informal lounge area with honour-system drinks and free coffee/tea. The Mexican decor adds flair but feels a bit busy in places.

Room (12) was poky and oddly designed (huge wardrobe space but could barely turn around in the bathroom). The bed-springs clearly needed replacing and the pillows felt cheap and nasty.

We also had a problem with the room key - which didn't fit - and had to trudge up and down the stairs to get a member of staff to let us in. (We weren't trusted with the 'master key').

On raising the bed/key frustrations at check-out, there was an apology but no offer of discount. (125 quid was way overpriced for what was provided)...

Not good.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Church Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Street Hotel

Address: 29-33 Camberwell Church Street, London SE5 8TR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Waterloo / South Bank / Southwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#56 Business Hotel in London
#68 Best Value Hotel in London
#190 Family Hotel in London
#240 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Church Street Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Church Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Church Street London
Hotel Church Street
Church Street Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Church Street Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.