We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haymarket Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Haymarket Hotel to your Saves list
Haymarket Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Suffolk Place, London SW1Y 4BP, England (Trafalgar Square / Embankment)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Sparta, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

This was a wonderful hotel with a warm and friendly staff, and walking distance to many sites. We loved the unusual decor that worked well. Very clean everywhere. Only negative was that on both of our days, the early morning hours were punctuated with loud noise from probably garbage trucks. Try to get a room that is not on the street of the entry door. However, we still highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the street at the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    56
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
110
215
37
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

It is exactly what a great hotel should be. Every detail is perfect and the staff is outstanding and it's location is right in the center of the city so everything is easily located. We now have a London Hotel that is perfect.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

I loved staying there. Staff so friendly. Right in the middle of the city. Walking distance to everything. Incredible rooms, the bathrooms are nice. All rooms are different. Very nice decoration. Wold back again again and again. It is a small hotel with everything you need. Loved it!

Room Tip: Go high! Take a room in the last floor, ceilings are very tall. Very romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Always stay here when we have our kids with us, the pool in the basement is the big pull!
Great location, valet parking, excellent breakfast and rooms are always lovely.
And the staff are always very accommodating.
We struggle to beat this when stopping in London.

Room Tip: Junior corner suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Situated right at the heart of London, a small gem in terms of service and atmosphere. Would definately recommend for a romatic getaway. As all gems, it does come with a price tag, but the quality makes it an attractive value offer. The restaurant (Brumus) is nice - breakfast on the pricey side, though.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Based on previous reviews we came here with high hopes and it didn't disappoint. We have so many positives about our stay :-)

We stayed for 2 nights in a luxury junior suite to celebrate our first anniversary. In all the communications prior to our stay, the staff were friendly and helpful, even commenting on the weather for our stay. We arrived in london early but were able to register for our room and leave our luggage with them. We were given a welcome gift from the manager of a couple of glasses of champagne to celebrate our anniversary. We were struck by how friendly and welcoming everyone was, asking how we were and how we enjoyed our anniversary. Our room was huge and so clean. Initially my husband who is a little territorial would have preferred not to be on the ground floor but actually it didn't impact on our stay as we quite enjoyed people watching. The sofa, chairs and beds were all really comfortable and the mini bar looked amazing. But the most amazing thing about the room
Has to be the bathroom!!! We both gasped when we walked in - huge, marbled from floor to ceiling, 2 sinks, a huge double shower, bathrobes, heated towel rails and a lovely bath with a tv and speakers!! It is spurring us on to get our own bathroom decorated at home!

We used the pool and had it all to ourselves. It could have done with being a touch warmer but was ok when you were in there and all lit up, would be excellent for a party. When we returned to our room, the concierge had already been with a gift of a lovely relaxing room spray. There is an honesty bar near reception and it really has the feel of a cosy living room, it was fun to pour our own drinks to enjoy whilst getting ready to go out.

We opted for breakfast in our room on our anniversary and it was so perfect and on time that we did it for our last day too. We also enjoyed a DVD from the DVD library so I would say we made full use of all the available facilities haha! Once again, we were able to leave out luggage with them on our last day after checking out which really helped us out as we were able to explore freely.

This hotel is so luxurious and extremely welcoming, we thoroughly enjoyed every moment and came away feeling incredibly relaxed. Thank you for being part of our first anniversary :-)

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

I have just returned home from a two night stay at The Haymarket Hotel in London. All I can say is the hotel was fantastic. The service was very good, the hotel was spotless, the interior design was beautiful, the location is perfect and the attention to detail was second to none. I was there with a friend to celebrate our 30 birthday, which I informed the hotel of in advance so we were offered champagne on the house which was a lovely treat. We also had breakfast on both mornings. Again, lovely- I highly recommend the waffles!!! Will most certainly visit again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Haymarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haymarket Hotel

Address: 1 Suffolk Place, London SW1Y 4BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in London
#7 Luxury Hotel in London
#14 Business Hotel in London
#28 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Haymarket Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haymarket Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haymarket Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.