We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAB...U....LOUS !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haymarket Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added Haymarket Hotel to your Saves list
Haymarket Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Suffolk Place, London SW1Y 4BP, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 1,065 Hotels in London
NW ENGLAND
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“FAB...U....LOUS !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Stayed 2 nights last week in room 214 (part of the Townhouse) and it was FANTASTIC!! Everything in the hotel was immaculately presented and all the staff made us feel so welcome. The decor was so colourful, vibrant and glamorous with so many original ideas that blend seamlessly. The bedroom was just as much fun with high quality furnishings and a fabulously comfortable bed. The bathroom was immaculately clean with a fantastic power shower and separate bath. Extra touches such as a welcoming present and card made the stay special and memorable. Breakfast was excellent; I can highly recommend the vegetarian option. Looking forward to staying at the new Ham Yard hotel that opens in June. Didn’t touch the mini bar as prices were OTT (that seems to be the norm) and would have loved a Nespresso coffee machine to have my early morning drink.
We loved it !!

Room Tip: Room 214 was quiet with a street view (part of the Townhouse)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    54
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
95
192
35
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We decided to play "tourists" in our own city and spent a weekend at the Haymarket - the idea was to relax, see a couple of shows and do some shopping. The service was brilliant, from the moment we arrived - kind reservation staff, who showed us immediately to our room. The room was wonderfully appointed - nice decor and lovely touches, such as special amenities including room spray, face cream etc...We enjoyed the pool which was completely empty (although a little chilly!) and I had a great massage.
Drinks in the bar were spectacular, and with a great atmosphere. We also had dinner in the restaurant - sadly though the food was a little un-inventive and did not match the high standard of the rest of the hotel. Overall though a lovely stay in a fantastically-located property.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed here for one night, principally as it is close to the theatre showing Book of Mormon which we were seeing that evening. Everything about this hotel is brilliant - from the wonderfully decorated public areas (including pour-your-own drinks in the lounge with an honesty book; how utterly refreshing) to the very cool bar/restaurant. Our suite was outstanding but probably TOO big for a one night stay if anything! We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We reached the hotel following the recommendation of friends.
The first thing you can say about the hotel is that there a special atmosphere.
Design, lovely staff, great room and convenient location, you can not ask for more.
No need to look for a London hotel, we found the best.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night for a break from the kids with an evening at Ronnie Scott's planned. Booked through hotel tonight, and got upgraded to a fabulous junior suite. The swimming pool with poolside bar and gold lame sofas is a-ma-zing! Also really great breakfast and would be a good choice for corporate breakfasts as so central and a very refined atmosphere. Great miller Harris freebies and a super comfy bed. I shall be returning.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Our first visit, but definitely not our last. Ideally placed, nicely decorated, very friendly staff it is difficult to find any fault.

The room was very large for London and comfortable. Little road noise as we were off the Haymarket.

Breakfast : a big choice a la carte and a varied buffet. Bar was good. We did not eat in the restaurant but it was busy largely with passing trade, and is not a typical hotel restaurant.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I'm a big fan of the Firmdale hotels but on a previous stay I hadn't felt that the Haymarket Hotel matched up to the rest of the group's properties in London.

It's still not my favourite in the group (that's the Soho Hotel, no competition) but this time I had a much better room, large and elegant. The staff were helpful and friendly, and the whole experience went by without a hitch.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Haymarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haymarket Hotel

Address: 1 Suffolk Place, London SW1Y 4BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in London
#6 Romantic Hotel in London
#15 Family Hotel in London
#21 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Haymarket Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Venere, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haymarket Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haymarket Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.