We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haymarket Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Haymarket Hotel to your Saves list
Haymarket Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Suffolk Place, London SW1Y 4BP, England (Trafalgar Square / Embankment)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 1,050 Hotels in London
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

It's hard to fault the Haymarket. The staff was great, decor pleasing, and the rooms nice -- particularly the bathrooms, which are spacious and have OUTSTANDING water pressure.
Be advised that this hotel is not inexpensive. We paid an average of $600 a night for a spacious double, and that did not include breakfast. I will say this, though: They're very generous with the toiletries! Oh, and the room service is very responsive, too. Three times I asked for ice to be brought to my room, and never did I wait more than five minutes.

One funny, awkward moment: While waiting in the lobby for friends who were going to share a cab with us to the airport, we were asked by the doorman if there was anything he could get for us. He suggested a coffee perhaps. My friend and I accepted his offer. Then he asked if we had already checked out. Of course we had. "Then how would you like to pay for your coffee?" he asked. Our expression said, "We thought you were offering it as a gift," and his said, "Oh, crap, it sounds like I was offering it as a gift." There was a moment of silence as we stared into his now blanched face. "Right," he said, "How about a bottle of water, then?"

Room Tip: The rooms are individual in decor. If more than one in your booking class is available, ask to see y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    57
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
115
219
38
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rueil-Malmaison, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Great place. Great location. Great people. Everything is said.This is really a nice place to stay... and close to the action (with no noise at all from the streets). Decoration is top, and room size is decent for London (was in Deluxe room). Fantastic pool but...and here comes the "but", you cannot use when they organize "private parties"...which happens to be each saturdays. So, in a WE trip, the pool was closed from saturday afternoon to sunday afternoon. Never saw that in that range of Hotel...Better to make a phone call before booking if you want to train your swimming skills...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I had a lovely visit there and was happy on all counts. The room was lovely and had a little balcony that I could go out on. The self serve bar is very cozy and romantic. The location is superb. Couldn't have been nicer.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, California, United States
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The art, the common rooms, the restaurant, our room, our bed, the bathroom, the service, the location -- charmed by it all! We would definitely recommend and stay here again. Wish we had stayed longer than our two nights. Brumus, the restaurant provides a delicious if somewhat pricey breakfast but the service and quality are super. We also enjoyed drinks in the bar one evening and a late after theatre supper bith of which were fun and delicious.

Room Tip: Our superior room faced the quiet Suffolk place -- lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel 3 times. While it is expensive, it is worth it. Great location. Very near Trafalgar Square. Great rooms. Large & comfortable. Great service. Professional & cheerful. We will stay there again! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This really is a very good hotel. It is in a fantastic location for the central area around trafalgar square and the theatres. It is tucked away on a quiet road and is very discreet from the outside. Inside the building it has everything you would expect form a 5 star hotel. The modern british interior is immaculate and the staff are truly exceptional. Having stayed at other hotels in this small boutique chain, this is definitely more of a relaxed vibe. We stayed in a junior suite which was exceptional - a corner room with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in, well insulated and beautifully designed. There is a great bar which didn't get too busy and the breakfast was excellent and had a very good range of fresh fruit, pastries and also a menu for hot food.
I can't recommend this hotel highly enough for a central london location and an understated 5 star hotel experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 106 - an excellent choice junior suite, corner room with dual aspect windows and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

It was our first visit. The rooms are large and comfortable for US standards. The food and service was spectacular. The location was perfect. I can't remember all the details but I know we will be staying there again on our next visit. Thanks for experience Haymarket.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Haymarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haymarket Hotel

Address: 1 Suffolk Place, London SW1Y 4BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in London
#12 Luxury Hotel in London
#16 Business Hotel in London
#42 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Haymarket Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haymarket Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haymarket Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.