We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sill our favourite in London” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haymarket Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added Haymarket Hotel to your Saves list
Haymarket Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Suffolk Place, London SW1Y 4BP, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Sill our favourite in London”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

As part of my birthday celebrations we stayed for 3 nights at the Haymarket Hotel and as ever it was lovely. We didnt have our usual room but this time stayed in a 1 bedroom suite. It had a separate sitting room, bedroom, bathroom and dressing room and shower room. It was a lovely room with plenty of space when we had visitors. We used the pool again which was empty and lovely. The only downside was that the street outside being a dead end meant that it was ver quiet except when they emptied the bins at 3 in the morning when it echoed and woke us up. A shame but nothing the hotel could do. Apart from that a very stylish hotel with good art and spotlessly clean. The doorman remembered us from last time we visited which is a nice touch, makes you feel extra special.

Room Tip: Inner rooms seem quieter but all are fine generally
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    54
    8
    5
    1
See reviews for
95
192
35
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sun Valley, Idaho
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Where do I start? This hotel is a gorgeous boutique style hotel with a very eclectic combination of vibrant and confortable furnishings througout the hotel / rooms / restaurant and bar. My junior suite corner room on the 1st floor #106 (2nd floor US) could not have been more comfortable, light filled and quite large compared to most London hotel rooms. I looked out onto Haymarket St. which was not noisy at all as there are double glazed windows. The only additional amenity I wish the room had was a Nespresso machine but they certainly provide excellant 24/7 room service. This hotel is in a perfect location right in the heart of London, steps away from Trafalgar Square, Piccadilly Circus, easy walking distance to all the Theatres and the Thames too. Great food and bar scene - Yuri makes a wicked cocktail! This is the place to stay in London - but what makes this hotel stand out over any other hotel I've stayed in was the customer service - they have the most friendliest, professional and nicest hotel staff I've ever encountered! My special thanks to Yuri, Justin, Lizzie, Yaiza, Fabio and Ethel for making my first trip to London so special!

Room Tip: Book in advance and speak direct to the reservation manager, I liked the tall floor to ceiling windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Currently sat eating breakfast in Brumus and discussing with my husband how wonderful this hotel is.
The decor, staff, food, wine, atmosphere. It's all just perfect.
We checked in and were upgraded for free to a Junior Suite which was lovely as we're here celebrating my birthday, so this was a real treat. When they heard it was my birthday we were offered a complimentary glass of champagne too!
Just a perfect stay. Would return in a heartbeat. Thanks Haymarket Hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here with our two young kids (5 & 7) for the location of the hotel to attractions and also the pool. The staff were so friendly and helpful, the room was beautiful and breakfast was divine. Perfect for a stay in London, a very intimate and personal hotel compared to the big hotels with no charm. We will definitely be staying here again, my only complaint is that the pool was a little on the chilly side (especially when stuck in it for hours with kids!).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights during our wedding. We were made to feel so welcome. The service was superb and not overbearing. Extremely helpful desk staff and concierge and doormen. We were upgraded to a junior suite - the room was wonderful - great decor and nice view out on Haymarket. The breakfast was excellent. Room service was very fast and the food excellent. We were sad to check out - the experience at The Haymarket Hotel was outstanding and really helped us to relax prior to our wedding. They even put a bottle of champagne in our room on our wedding night. They also accommodated out two young children free of charge and provided our 3 year old with her own little dressing gown and toiletries. A lovely touch. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton Parish, Bermuda
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the haymarket many times over the last 3years, we even had our wedding guests stay and our wedding dinner in Brumus. We have always loved our rooms which have ranged from standard to the 2 bed suite. However the last time we were given a room on the 3 rd floor, the windows are small and high so you cant see out, i will request lower floors in future. Also even though we stay at least 3 times a year our returning guest gift was a set of collar stiffeners? Strange! brummus has been refurbed, i miss the vibrancy of the old decor. The cakes are not the best in my opinion despite the price.
Breakfasts are really good although the orange juice is over squeezed and therefore oily! Lots of finnicky stuff i know but thats what a personal opinion is!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

It is a very nice hotel, well managed, good design and great art works. It has a pool in a hydrophobic city. The only problem is that they have functions in the pool area which can put you off your dip!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Haymarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haymarket Hotel

Address: 1 Suffolk Place, London SW1Y 4BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in London
#7 Romantic Hotel in London
#15 Family Hotel in London
#21 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Haymarket Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tablet Hotels, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Venere, MrandMrsSmith, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haymarket Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haymarket Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.