We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but a little disappointed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haymarket Hotel

Save Saved
You added Haymarket Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Haymarket Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Suffolk Place, London SW1Y 4BP, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 1,073 hotels in London
Hamilton Parish, Bermuda
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel but a little disappointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at the haymarket many times over the last 3years, we even had our wedding guests stay and our wedding dinner in Brumus. We have always loved our rooms which have ranged from standard to the 2 bed suite. However the last time we were given a room on the 3 rd floor, the windows are small and high so you cant see out, i will request lower floors in future. Also even though we stay at least 3 times a year our returning guest gift was a set of collar stiffeners? Strange! brummus has been refurbed, i miss the vibrancy of the old decor. The cakes are not the best in my opinion despite the price.
Breakfasts are really good although the orange juice is over squeezed and therefore oily! Lots of finnicky stuff i know but thats what a personal opinion is!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    326
    42
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
78
162
32
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

It is a very nice hotel, well managed, good design and great art works. It has a pool in a hydrophobic city. The only problem is that they have functions in the pool area which can put you off your dip!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We visited the Haymarket Hotel back in September 2012 and stayed for four nights. It was my first time in London and the hotel was more than half the reason why I love the city. The room was impeccable with floor to ceiling windows and a huge bathroom with separate tub and shower (there is also a tv to watch whilst soaking in it). So much so that it was hard to leave the room and go out and explore for the day. The hotel itself is also beautiful in design. The customer service was absolutely amazing- not one need went unmet. Whenever I take a trip back across the pond, although I would be curious to stay at another Firmdale property after my success at this one, I will def be staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This review is long overdue. I have stayed at the Haymarket probably > 40 times since it opened as I have travelled between NY and London often.

I have enjoyed I think most rooms and there is something that just lifts my heart when I return. I am due to visit again in September this year and can't wait.

Arrival in the lobby is soothing and they have a highly efficient team to greet you. The public areas to the right have gorgeous sitting room/area for afternoon tea and to your left is the bar/restaurant. All lovely for relaxing with a book or for more lively endeavours with a cocktail in hand and friends.

The pool downstairs is a bonus and in the early days I used to attend the fun Friday evening events with cabaret and enjoy the bar there.

The service is impeccable and the rooms are comfortable and well appointed. It's like you can finally breathe and relax as you kick off (those stylish) shoes the minute you arrive.

Well recommended!

O Messner.

Room Tip: All are great, but an extra splurge gets you a separate shower in the junior suites which I love.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed in the Haymarket Hotel as a treat after seeing a show. The hotel is ideally situated for the west end with plenty of parking nearby.
The stylish reception area and friendly and professional staff create a tremendous first impression for the hotel and this impression continued throughout our stay. The luxury room lived up to its billing, from the tasteful decor and large bed, to the beautiful bathroom with built in TV.
Every area of the hotel was of a high standard and impeccably clean.
I would certainly recommend this hotel, the rooms are expensive, but still good value for central London

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Firmdale Hotels certainly know how to do things properly. We have stayed at a few of their hotels and they have all been very good. The Haymarket is no exception. The staff are very friendly and helpful, particularly the concierge.
The facilities are excellent and it is in a great location for business meetings as well as personal stays as theatre land and some very good restaurants are just a short walk away.
It is also a bit cheaper than the Covent Garden Hotel, which we have previously reviewed as the best place to stay, so we will certainly be returning to the Haymarket.

Room Tip: Always ask for a quiet room in London. We had a ground for room abutting Suffolk street and it was v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

What a lovely hotel! We are big fans of anything Kit Kemp, and the Haymarket does not disappoint! The staff sets the tone for a wonderful stay. They are elegant, stylish, and smartly attentive to your needs.
The location is absolutely ideal for seeing most all of the sites of this magnificent city. The quirky stylish/modern vibe of the Haymarket is absolute perfection in every way. Our experience is London was truly defined, not just echoed, by our stay there. If you get a chance to do so...jump on the Kemp-wagon like we have! It will alter your experience in London forever.

Room Tip: Book higher than the basic category. As in most hotels, the room sizes increase dramatically. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Haymarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haymarket Hotel

Address: 1 Suffolk Place, London SW1Y 4BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in London
#6 Romantic Hotel in London
#12 Business Hotel in London
#14 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Haymarket Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with WHM Global Ltd., Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tablet Hotels, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haymarket Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haymarket Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;