We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great Firmdale style” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haymarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Haymarket Hotel to your Saves list
Haymarket Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Suffolk Place, London SW1Y 4BP, England (Trafalgar Square / Embankment)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 1,050 Hotels in London
USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great location, great Firmdale style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

The Haymarket has a great location and signature Firmdale rooms which are comfortable and roomy. The staff in the hotel restaurant (Brumus) is excellent. There was a slight problem with the soup I ordered during dinner and they handled the issue very well.

The location is idea and many sites are within walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    57
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
116
221
38
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul
Top Contributor
284 reviews 284 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We are a regular customer for Firmdale Hotels. Haymarket Hotel is a delightful member of the chain with its nice location near Piccadily and Haymarket. The hotel has a lovely conservatory, a library room and a nice restaurant. We got a Luxury Junior Suite which is spacious, warm and comfortable. The only glitch has been to find out that the hotel pool was closed for a private function -which was one of our reasons to choose it against other hotels. That's a disappointment to find out after we arrive!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Wow is all I can say to describe the perfect venue, impeccable staff, efficiency, cleanliness, food etc! Attended the most glamorous wedding ever here in December & nothing could be faulted whatsoever! Thank you to all of your staff. I didn't stay but can only imagine further delights!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at The Haymarket on many occasions and always love to return. I only live 20 mins from the Hotel and work 5 mins away ... but adore staying as a 'treat' to myself or to stay there with visiting relatives.

The rooms are all uniquely decorated - and maintained and cleaned to an incredibly high spec. The Firmdale Company train their staff to a very high standard - and this is obvious from the level of service. The Front Desk and Restaurant/ Room Service team are particularly helpful and polite.

The Hotel has a swimming pool and various function /private rooms - and lovely touches such as the Honesty Bar in the Guest Lounge and well-stocked DVD library for when you want to put your feet up after hitting the London sights and shops!

Location-wise, it is hard to be more central : the Hotel is just along from Piccadilly Circus and Leicester Square - and on the corner of Trafalgar Square. St James Park, the Mall/Whitehall are right on the doorstep - and if the shoe leather is worn .. bus and tube stops are right outside.

The day I win the Lottery (!) I will happily move in to one of the 2 bedroom Suites permanently!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Hotel is clean, looks brand new, and staff were very helpful. Location is perfect for walking to most attractions, theatre, etc.

Concierge managed to get us last minute theatre tickets below cost and was helpful in other requests we had.

Breadkfast buffet is good, though omelette was a bit inconsistent from day to day.

One major downfall is that because the hotel is so centrally located, it is a bit noisy at times. That is to be expected though and noise is common for any major city.

Only major complaint is that we were usually woken up between 6am and 7am to the sound of glass bottles being dumped (presumably for garbage collection) each day.

Would I stay there again? Possibly, though I would want to ask for a room not on Suffolk Place (above the entrance), as this seems to be the noisiest area.

Room Tip: Higher floor so you are not as close to ground level traffic, conversations, garbage collection
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Great location near Piccadilly Circus, Trafalgar Square, and Charing Cross tube station. Stayed there 4 nights in April, not inexpensive to be honest (over $500 USD a night), but had a wonderful stay and would do so again. Concierge and front desk staff extremely helpful, made dinner reservations for us, and got us last minute tickets to Phantom and Tower of London. On my last night there, due to a very loud party right near in the hotel, they took 50% off my last nights rate, a very nice touch. Hotel is so very convenient, we were able to easily walk to the London Eye, Westminster Abbey, Buckingham Palace, and many other locations within a 2 mile radius. Top quality rooms, extremely comfortable bed, provided a small lavender spray bottle for the pillows and linens before you'd go to sleep, large bathroom with Miller-Harris toiletries, room had a US electrical outlet already there, very handy. In-house Brumus restaurant very nice - ate breakfast there every morning and they had the most wonderful bacon. All in all, a top notch hotel if you don't mind pampering yourself a bit. Do note though that back in April at least you did have to pay for WiFi access.

Room Tip: I had a superior room although next time I would ask for a room not on the first floor, due to the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

It is difficult to provide a personal service whilst oiling the wheels of the day to day running of a top notch London hotel yet this place does it.With style .
Absolute discretion .Total attention to details .Enduring a style that sets it apart and stages many a night never to forget.I never will.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Haymarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haymarket Hotel

Address: 1 Suffolk Place, London SW1Y 4BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in London
#12 Luxury Hotel in London
#15 Business Hotel in London
#51 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Haymarket Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haymarket Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haymarket Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.