We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“was ok but could be better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin House Serviced Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Dolphin House Serviced Apartments to your Saves list
Dolphin House Serviced Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chichester Street, London SW1V 3LX, England (Formerly Dolphin Square Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #390 of 1,066 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“was ok but could be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We arrived at Pimlico train station it is a very short walk from there to the hotel but the hotel dose need to work on the lack of advertising to let people know where it is as in the dark it is so hard to find luckily I looked it up on Google beforehand but it is like they don’t want customer to find them..i don’t know how other people felt but it would not harm them to put up in nice bright light dolphin square apartments. Check in was nice and welcoming tho they do need to do something regarding how they keep their stuff as upon check-in the receptionist (did not get her name) pull out a plastic wallet the wallet was so tacky and old I have been to many hotel and apartments and I was very surprised when I saw this it would have been nice to see it in a nice folder or something rather than a old reused plastic wallet again trying to save money I understand but does not look good at all. So we have checked in and room was all right a bit small but ok. We check in on Thursday 11th April 2013 and even though a weekday everything closes so early the hotel bar even the pubs are closed by eleven. We went down to speak to the night manager (Emmanuel cant for get his name as he was so rude) to ask if there was anything we could eat he seem very busy in the work he had in his desk as there was papers everywhere and he did not even give us the time of day he just say everything is closed there’s nothing I can do. This was very rude of the way he spoke to me and my wife so we just left as it seemed like we was disturbing him on the way back there was a young man at the
Help desk we asked him just to see what is answer would be he proceed to tell us that there was a 24 hour petrol station around the corner and went out of his way to get telephone number of food place called them so see if they would still deliver to us. Everywhere stopped delivering at 11pm but was available for pick up but in the end the young man found us a number for a company that was 24hours and would deliver sorry I do not know his name as he was not wearing a name badge but you were very helpful thank you if only all you staff was like you
ALL SO NO ROOM service ??? what a joke

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsRitaFerreira, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin House Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for us, regardless of whether it is good or bad, and helps us monitor the service we provide.
Dolphin House prides itself on offering the highest levels or service to our guests, and I am extremely sorry that on this occasion we did not live up to your expectations. Please rest assured that your complaint has been brought to the attention of the Dolphin House Assistant Manager. Corrective action and counselling has been reinforced with the individual members of staff involved.
I sincerely hope this regrettable incident will not deter you from returning to Dolphin House and that you will allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back on some future occasion. Sincerely, Rita Ferreira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    282
    90
    47
    36
See reviews for
202
285
47
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Excellent stay at this central London hotel.

We stayed in a 1-bed apartment for one night only and were agreeably surprised by the size of the bedroom as well as that of the living room/kitchen space. Luckily, the location is quite quiet, because the rooms are single glazed.

Very clean and comfortable rooms and reception (which could be signalled a bit better though, it is a little off-street and only has a tiny grey sign by the door).

Full access to gym and pool (plus steam room and sauna) was lovely, and the facilities well maintained. They were a little busy, but nothing that hindered our enjoyment too much. The only thing missing to the fitness experience was maybe a jacuzzi for hotel guests.

The building in itself is a beautiful 1930s block, massive but elegant, and this style is subtly carried throughout the hotel and rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsRitaFerreira, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin House Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful review. We are pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay and found your one bedroom apartment spacious, very clean and comfortable. We are equally pleased that you had the time to try the fantastic facilities that we have to offer. Please note that your comments about the reception signage and the suggestion of having a Jacuzzi for guest use in the Fitness Club has been passed on to the management; we are consistently looking for new ways of improving our service/product and for this reason your feedback is so valuable. We look forward to welcome you back soon; in the meantime please do contact us if we can help you further. Sincerely, Rita Ferreira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Either a 15 min walk or short hop on the 24 bus from Victoria, these apartments are very well located. Pimlico Tube station is also very close by. Those all important first impressions of the front facade were favourable and happily the interior did not disappoint.

Due to a queue check in was a little slow but the reception staff were charming, efficient and helpful once it was my turn. My room was lovely: spacious, clean and well equipped. I was really pleased to find a pint of fresh milk in the fridge too - nice touch. The apartment benefited from brilliant water pressure so it took just a couple of minutes to fill the bath and showers were a joy. I found the accommodation very peaceful at night and slept much better than I normally would in a hotel.

The fitness centre and pool are great. I didn't try out the breakfast as I preferred to sort out my own in the room. My only bugbear is being charged £10 a night for wifi. I paid for two nights out of my four night stay but really begrudge it in this day and age. It's a basic requirement and if budget hotels are offering free wifi then I certainly expect it as a given here.

Overall though the quality of my experience here was the best I have enjoyed in a long, long time. I will certainly be back and can thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsRitaFerreira, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin House Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for recommending Dolphin House. We are delighted that you have enjoyed our location, our spacious apartments and our wonderful facilities. It is very pleasing to know that even though you had to face a queue when you first arrived, our front desk team has looked after you so efficiently. Your comments on the wi-fi pricing have been passed on to the management, I do wish to stress if I may that Dolphin House offers a complimentary wi-fi access in the common areas which include reception, the main lobby, Club Lounge, Bar & Grill, Dolphin Fitness and the Moroccan Spa; the wi-fi access is only chargeable in the apartments. Please note that there is also a 24 hour computer available at reception for guest use free of charge already connected to the internet and attached to a printer. We look forward to welcome you back very soon, in the meantime please do contact us if we may assist you further. Sincerely, Rita Ferreira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We spent the weekend at this hotel. Excellent value for money. Huge bedroom, massive bathroom, living room, and small kitchen. Great location. Would thoroughly recommend a stay here. We will be returning.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suit, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsRitaFerreira, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin House Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing Dolphin House and for taking the time to write your review. We are delighted you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Sincerely, Rita Ferreira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel and we loved everything about it. The rooms were large and very comfortable. The apartment we stayed in had everything we could have needed.
Best thing about Dolphin House is the proximity to all of the tourist locations - they are within walking distance which is brilliant.
We ate at the restaurant most days for breakfast and a couple of nights as well. The food and service was good and the staff were very friendly.
If I had any issue (and this is really minor) paying for wi-fi is not what I would expect of a hotel of this standard but it was not expensive.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would certainly go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsRitaFerreira, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin House Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we are delighted you and your family had such an enjoyable trip to London. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed our location, our spacious apartments and that you have enjoyed the food and service in our restaurant. Your comments on the wi-fi pricing have been passed on to the management, nevertheless I do wish to stress that Dolphin House offers a complimentary wi-fi access in the common areas which include Dolphin House reception, main lobby, Club Lounge, Bar & Grill, Dolphin Fitness and the Moroccan Spa; the wi-fi access is only chargeable in the apartments. Please note that there is also a 24 hour computer available at reception for guest use free of charge already connected to the internet and a attached to a printer. We hope to welcome you back very soon, in the meantime please do contact us if we can help you further. Sincerely, Rita Ferreira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Staying for London marathon. Booked specifically as apartment so we could make our own breakfast. Toaster promised on website which was needed for early breakfast. No toaster available or forthcoming. Reason - we are on the 6th floor. now cold nasty crumpets. sounds petty but this was the main reason we booked this hotel. Otherwise great location and would recommend but don't believe what you read on facilities.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsRitaFerreira, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin House Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for recommending Dolphin House. Whilst I am happy to know that you have enjoyed our location, I am disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion. The London Marathon is usually a very busy period for us and I believe the majority of guests that participate in the Marathon chose to stay with us precisely due to the fact that they can self cater their breakfast very early in the morning, for this same reason all our studio apartments with cooking facilities have been taken very quickly, leaving us with no other option but to allocate studios on the 6th floor. As you correctly mentioned we do not provide toasters on this floor due to Health & Safety reasons. We always try our best to accommodate our guest requests, unfortunately in periods that we are running 100% occupancy it becomes very difficult to fulfil this requests.. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience that we have caused you and I truly hope that you will give us the opportunity to restore your faith in the near future by staying with us again; in the meantime please do contact us if we can help you further. Kind Regards, Rita Ferreira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at The Dolphin and I have to say I would not stay anywhere else now when visiting London. The 1 bed apartment that we had was fantastic, spacious and had everything that we needed and more. The staff that we met were very friendly and extremely helpful. The location is perfect, only a short walk around the corner to Pimlico underground which will take you to all the main tourist attractions. The Bar-grill (on site restaurant) was very good also caters for children, breakfasts were very good with a good selection as were the evening meals.
I would recommend this to anyone who wants a relaxing and hassle free stay in London.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsRitaFerreira, Guest Relations Manager at Dolphin House Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for recommending Dolphin House. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found your one bedroom apartment spacious and fantastic. It is particularly pleasing to know that you found our staff very friendly and helpful. We do hope to welcome you back very soon, in the meantime please do contact us if we may assist you further. Sincerely, Rita Ferreira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolphin House Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin House Serviced Apartments

Address: Chichester Street, London SW1V 3LX, England (Formerly Dolphin Square Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Spa Hotel in London
#253 Luxury Hotel in London
#323 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin House Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolphin House offers a range of contemporary serviced apartments in a quiet residential area. Set around three and a half acres of idyllic gardens along the River Thames, just a short distance from Central London. A selection of apartments are available from economy singles to 1bed 2 bed and 3 bed apartments. Dolphin House is on the north side of Dolphin Square Village with its 1069 residential apartments, Bar and Grill, Lounge Bar Sports and Fitness Club and brand new Moroccan Inspired Spa, The Spa in Dolphin Square. The facilities are open to all.All Just 5 mins walk from the nearby Pimlico tube, just 3 stops (7 mins) on the Victoria line to Oxford Circus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dolphin House Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin House Hotel London
Dolphin Hotel London
Dolphin House Serviced Apartments London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin House Serviced Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.