We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, but occasional poor service and noise” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin House Serviced Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dolphin House Serviced Apartments to your Saves list
Dolphin House Serviced Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chichester Street, London SW1V 3LX, England (Formerly Dolphin Square Hotel) (Pimlico)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #406 of 1,049 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Comfortable, but occasional poor service and noise”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I liked Dolphin House. Its location is excellent - minutes from Pimlico Station and a short walk to Victoria. A walk to Westminster only takes 15 minutes or so. The hotel has great facilities with an excellent gym and pool, although the pool can sometimes have a lot of children (but there are "child free" times for serious swimmers.

Apartments are well appointed if not a little small. Good furnishings and modern bathrooms. Kitchens are compact but functional enough.


Service was a little poor at times (I spent three weeks at the property) and some days rooms were not serviced despite the "service please" sign being up. Another drawback for me was noise. The property is in an old building and it is not very sound proof. Noise carries from other apartments, especially above.

Nevertheless, if I needed a service apartment in London again, I would certainly consider Dolphin House.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the top floor to avoid noise from above. Face the street rather than the communal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    308
    103
    52
    37
See reviews for
223
299
50
124
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

It's my first time to stayed in Dolphin house serviced apartment. The staff are very helpful and friendly. I arrived at the hotel early morning, as soon as I got off the taxi a member of staff already came out and greet us. He also helped us with the luggages.

The check in process didnt take us long as we were desperate to take a shower after a long flight, and we were well introudced by the staff on the facilities and directions of the apartment.

Our apartment is located in 4th floor, as soon as we opened the door, the apartment has a living room, a bedroom, toilet and a kitchen. The rooms are spacious and our living room is facing the carpark area and not facing the road which is nice and quiet.

Apart from the apartment, it's only a few minutes walk to tube station and also there are some shops and supermarket around that area which we can grab some snacks or drinks.

We stayed there for a week and denfinately will choose to stay in Dolphin house again when next visit London.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneMortensen, Front of House Manager at Dolphin House Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Dolphin House, and for taking the time to write your very instructive review. We are pleased you enjoyed the location, service, and apartment. We hope to welcome you back very soon, in the meantime please do contact us if we can help you further

Kind Regards, Wayne Mortensen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed here over Christmas and into Jan on 2 separate occasions. The apartments are set in the fantastic Dolphin Square. If you are a fan of Art Deco architecture hear are a must. Within the complex youll find a pool, gym, gardens and a cute arcade of shops.

We booked a 2 bed apartment both times for 2 adults and a 3 year old. The apartments are a good size and have everything you need (except a clothes dryer!).

They are clean, well presented (though they've gone heavy in the brown colour scheme), with glorious comfy beds.

The staff couldn't be more helpful and it's in a great spot.

Best of all these apartments are QUIET. It was so peaceful you'd never know you were in central London.

Thanks Dolphin team, we will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneMortensen, Front of House Manager at Dolphin House Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for very much for your instructive review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your spacious apartments and wonderful facilities. We hope to welcome you back very soon, in the meantime please do contact us if we can help you further
Kind Regards, Wayne Mortensen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed here for the second time last week and was once again really impressed by the accommodation. The rooms are a really good size with everything you might need for a short or long visit to London. The apartment concept is really flexible, meaning you can choose whether to eat out or in. The restaurant and breakfast are good quality, although the restaurant service is the one aspect where there's room for improvement (they should learn from reception staff). A minor niggle with a hotel that I would, and have, recommend to others. The area around the hotel is safe with a good range of restaurants within a short walk. The rest of London is a short tube or taxi ride away. I'll be back to stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich city, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I spent hours looking for a hotel for our trip to London. i finally settled for this, and im glad i did! The dolphin house has a great location in pimlico, westminster. Its a short walk from the station to the hotel, 5 minutes max, or about 3 quid for the taxi ride. The area is nice, tons of cutesy town houses, a few schools, a church, not much going on. We didnt find many restaurants in the area, but its a short tube ride to tons of great restaurants.When we arrived the staff was extremely helpful and professional. The minute we got in a man loaded out bags onto a cart, check in was quick aswell. the staff was professional and friendly. The room was HUGE for city center standards. I was by no means expecting such a huge bathrooms, with a shower/tub and a room with a nice view and SO much closet space! The kitchenette isnt much, a mini fridge, a washer and a small stove, but it does the trick perfectly. On site there is a restaurant, and next to the hotel there is a small center with a bakery, dry cleaners? a small grocery and a few other things, very convenient. Surprisingly there was no noise, the roads around this area aren't too busy. My father was raving about the gym, and i found the pool to look very nice, although we were so busy i didnt get a chance to test it out. The restaurant breakfast is a bit expensive for someone who doesnt eat meat or a large breakfast, but the staff was so nice! i only had a muffin and some fruit and tea and they didnt charge me the full 15 or 18 pounds. I believe that costed a total of 5 pounds or so, great value really. I was very impressed, you rarely get this amount of space, a pool, a proper gym at a hotel in the city. The lobby is modern and the rooms are nice aswell. there are also cute gardens on the grounds. Bottom line; i don't have anything bad things to say. I am by no means a "happy camper" who is pleased with staying just anywhere. We're sticklers for cleanliness and customer service, and the dolphin house didnt dissapoint. Don't let the few negative reviews discourage you, probably the greatest find in london. :)

Room Tip: ive heard rooms on the ground floor are no good. there is almost a courtyard in the middle, so depen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolum Beach, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We've stayed at the Dolphin twice in the last two years and have found it an excellent base for a London visit. Close to the Pimlico tube or an easy walk to Victoria, the hotel offers good sized apartments and highly effective service - however, if you're looking for a place where the staff fawn and fall all over you, go somewhere else.
The gym and pool are outstanding (the facilities are free to guests and also have members from the surrounding area) but, be warned; the English are hopeless swimmers and know nothing about pool etiquette! On the other hand, the gym's one of the best appointed I've found in a hotel anywhere. If you’re also a runner, the river embankment’s close by and if you get out reasonably early, you’ll have plenty of company – London’s a runner’s city!
The Tate and Westminster are an easy walk and make sure you have breakfast at the Regency Cafe; it's a traditional English "caf" that's an absolute must - and cheap as chips!
If your expectation of a hotel when you travel is to be left to your own devices (except for the usual and obvious services) then the Dolphin's right up there. The local pub's great (The Gallery), the wine shop is very well stocked and there are plenty of good restaurants in the general area - you'll have to sniff them out yourself though.
Pimlico's a lovely area and, if you're self-sufficient travellers who like to explore the less than obvious, the Dolphin's pretty hard to beat.
Big tips?
Buy an 'Oyster' at your local tube station - the best investment you'll make!
Get out to Brick Lane in the East End on Sunday!

Room Tip: Go for a studio apartment; you'll appreciate the extra space even though slightly more expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MsRitaFerreira, Manager at Dolphin House Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you for letting us have your invaluable feedback following your recent stay with us.
We do strive to offer a home away from home - we believe Dolphin House is a special property offering a very different experience to a standard 4 star hotel.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our spacious apartments, our wonderful facilities and found the staff to be friendly and efficient.

We are delighted you had an enjoyable stay and lthat you have chosen Dolphin House for the second time on a trip to London. We look forward to welcoming you back soon,in the meantime please do contact us if we can help you further.
Yours Sincerely, Rita Ferreira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I travel to London with family many times and have stayed in a lot of places. Good points and not so good points with Dolphin House. Units are a decent size and kitchen was convenient for family. Fitness center and spa were outstanding. Having the inhouse shopping arcade was really helpful, especially given the lack of nearby facilities.
Location was a real minus. Nothing nearby -- few pubs, almost no restaurants or stores. They can't do anything about that but they can do something about other things:
(1) Employees were pleasant but not very capable. I felt it was a training issue. Lack of knowledge of the area. Seemed to be more people at reception than were actually helping people.
(2) Restaurant food was good but again there was a real lack of training and language skills by waitstaff. Seemed disorganized.
(3) Housekeeping very spotty. Putting out sign didn't seem to accomplish anything. Sometimes didn't come at all. When did come, didn't leave shampoo, soap, etc. which we ran out of.
(4) Felt the rates were too high for what we got. In retrospect, I could have gotten two nicer hotel rooms for the same price in a different location. Then charging 50 pounds a night for an extra rollaway bed was way too much, and wifi charges too high for only two computers.
(5) Furnishings a bit tired. Rooms needed more instructions such as using tv's, etc.
There aren't great options in London for short term hotels/apartments for families.
In short, this was OK but not really worth the price. I will try elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolphin House Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin House Serviced Apartments

Address: Chichester Street, London SW1V 3LX, England (Formerly Dolphin Square Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Spa Hotel in London
#269 Luxury Hotel in London
#343 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin House Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolphin House offers a range of contemporary serviced apartments in a quiet residential area. Set around three and a half acres of idyllic gardens along the River Thames, just a short distance from Central London. A selection of apartments are available from economy singles to 1bed 2 bed and 3 bed apartments. Dolphin House is on the north side of Dolphin Square Village with its 1069 residential apartments, Bar and Grill, Lounge Bar Sports and Fitness Club and brand new Moroccan Inspired Spa, The Spa in Dolphin Square. The facilities are open to all.All Just 5 mins walk from the nearby Pimlico tube, just 3 stops (7 mins) on the Victoria line to Oxford Circus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, LondonMarketing.com and Priceline so you can book your Dolphin House Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin House Hotel London
Dolphin Hotel London
Dolphin House Serviced Apartments London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin House Serviced Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.