We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Optimally solved” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin House Serviced Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dolphin House Serviced Apartments to your Saves list
Dolphin House Serviced Apartments
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Chichester Street, London SW1V 3LX, England (Formerly Dolphin Square Hotel) (Pimlico)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #404 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Optimally solved”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The location is absolutely perfect! Moreover we were three adults and we got an apt with two bed rooms and the possibility to have dinner at home...absolute to try
We had just some problem with the tv but the housekeeper solved it quickly

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmchalk, General Manager at Dolphin House Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am sorry to hear that there was an issue with your television, but delighted that this was quickly resolved so you could continue to enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    308
    103
    51
    37
See reviews for
223
299
50
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
winnipeg mb
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment for a week. It was perfect.

The rooms were all spacious and comfortably appointed. The kitchen had just about everything one would need so we walked a few blocks to the local Sainsbury's and bought groceries for the week.

If you don't mind a bit of a walk, Victoria Station; Vauxhall Station; Wesminster Abbey; and the Houses of Parliament are all within a good distance. Continue the walk a bit further and you are in Whitehall and then Trafalgar Square, Picadilly Circus and Leicester Square. Grosvenor Road is block away with full access to aa walk along the Thames. The No. 24 bus (to and from Leicester Square) and the No. 360 (to Royal Albert Hall and Hyde Park) both stop a half a block away.

It is a great alternative to any hotel chain and in what seems to be a safe neighbourhood. We felt comfortable walking in the area even late into the night.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmchalk, General Manager at Dolphin House Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
We're thrilled that you had an enjoyable stay with us and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. We hope to see you again upon your next visit to London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We returned to the Dolphin apartments for a short stay. We have stayed here for some years at times for an extended period. Since our last visit some years ago improvements are obvious. Cleaning has improved. A fresh coat of paint has made a difference.
Dolphin is a pleasant place to stay with an on site restaurant, gym and swimming pool. It is close to the tube station and the city is close via a brisk walk along the river to to Westminister bridge and the London attractions. Staff are friendly and helpful and the apartments comfortable, with a kitchen, modern TV and furniture.
My only complaint would be Internet charges. Ten quid per day for at times an unreliable service is highway robbery. However this can be negotiated on booking, a week is 35 quid, and I suspect nothing if pushed on making the booking. To give the place it's due, because the service was suboptimal the charge was waved.
Internet is free in the lobby,but who wants to sit there in a dressing gown at 2AM in order to contact Australia because of the time difference.

Room Tip: Location does not seem to matter. Push for free or low rate Internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmchalk, General Manager at Dolphin House Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for deciding to stay with Dolphin House once more. We are pleased that you noticed and enjoyed the improvements that we have made, and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We recently stayed here for the first time and will be going back next time we're in London. We stayed in a 2 bed 2 bath apartment which was ideal for a family travelling with children, so we could make food in the kitchenette etc. One of the bathrooms is the biggest I think I have ever seen in London! We didn't have a washing machine in our specific apartment (although I've seen other people's reviews where they do have them) but there is a communal laundry in the basement if you need it.

The location is fantastic, very central. It seemed to cost under 10 pounds in a taxi wherever we wanted to go (Buckingham Palace, London Eye, Science Museum et al all within close reach). And Pimlico, being a residential area, has local supermarkets and restaurants like Pizza Express not just catering to tourists. Plus M&S near Victoria Station etc. Plus there are little shops in Dolphin Square's own arcade, ideal to get emergency supplies like milk (and mulitple umbrellas while we were there!).

We had a deal with wi-fi and breakfast included and think it was very good value for London (which is notoriously expensive, especially for a family). The children loved the swimming pool (access is included to the health club - there are specific, but generous, swimming hours for children. The hours are different during the week to at the weekends so double check them, we got caught out the first time we tried to go). Breakfast can get busy especially at weekend but the staff work very hard to get everyone through quickly and they do tell you in the room information pack when the busy times are (from 9.30-10.30am from memory).

The only thing I would say is that t is a 1930s apartment building and sound proofing is not quite as good as modern-spec hotels. We weren't disturbed ourselves really but I suspect other people may have heard our children, even though we did our best to keep the volume down. Certainly, it wasn't an issue for us and we will be back next time we're in London!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nmchalk, General Manager at Dolphin House Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely and detailed review of your stay. We are thrilled that you and your family had a wonderful time with us and were able to make use of all of our facilities and those in the local area. We are even more delighted that you will stay with us again, and look forward to welcoming you then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Part of a huge (and very well-known) Art Deco apartment complex on the north bank of the Thames, Dolphin House is set amid gorgeous landscaped residents' gardens. It features a restaurant and bar, a leisure centre and a Mediterranean-style row of indoor shops, adding real character to this sprawling complex.

We were delighted with the cleanliness of our serviced apartment, which was very spacious. It had a kitchenette for preparing light meals - the fridge was stocked with water and milk, and there was plentiful cutlery and crockery for two people. Pimlico itself feels very safe, with a tube station five minutes' walk away, and the on-site leisure complex is excellent, with clean changing rooms and a sizeable pool, sauna and steam room.

A few things did disappoint us during our stay, however. The "double" bed was two (admittedly very comfortable) single beds pushed together, the room lacked a few basic provisions, and the restaurant were unable to provide us with a vegetarian platter for dinner, claiming they were "out for the rest of the month" (this was on the 25th of October). Our room also faced onto the sports pitches of neighbouring Pimlico Academy, which generated a fair amount of noise from our arrival at 3pm right through to the late evening. On the bright side, the staff were uniformly excellent, storing our luggage before and after our stay and assisting us efficiently at all times. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: If possible, try to avoid rooms overlooking Pimlico Academy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WayneMortensen, Front Office Manager at Dolphin House Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, we are delighted you all had such an enjoyable trip to London, and that you found our facilities and accommodation so pleasing; please accept our apologies regarding your reception impression. We look forward to welcome you back very soon; in the meantime please do contact us if we can help you further.
Sincerely,
Wayne Mortensen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We found the Dolphin House to be very convenient to the Pimlico Station and bus stops. The accomodations were adequate and clean in a quiet, safe residential area. There were also restaurants and food markets within walking distance. With the exception of the reception staff, who were not particularly helpful, the hotel was a good choice for four women traveling in London.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolphin House Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin House Serviced Apartments

Address: Chichester Street, London SW1V 3LX, England (Formerly Dolphin Square Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Spa Hotel in London
#269 Luxury Hotel in London
#348 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin House Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolphin House offers a range of contemporary serviced apartments in a quiet residential area. Set around three and a half acres of idyllic gardens along the River Thames, just a short distance from Central London. A selection of apartments are available from economy singles to 1bed 2 bed and 3 bed apartments. Dolphin House is on the north side of Dolphin Square Village with its 1069 residential apartments, Bar and Grill, Lounge Bar Sports and Fitness Club and brand new Moroccan Inspired Spa, The Spa in Dolphin Square. The facilities are open to all.All Just 5 mins walk from the nearby Pimlico tube, just 3 stops (7 mins) on the Victoria line to Oxford Circus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, LondonMarketing.com and Priceline so you can book your Dolphin House Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin House Hotel London
Dolphin Hotel London
Dolphin House Serviced Apartments London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin House Serviced Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.