We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming, but imperfect” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hand and Flower Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hand and Flower Hotel to your Saves list
Hand and Flower Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Hammersmith Rd, London W14 8XJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #285 of 1,052 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Charming, but imperfect”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

First thing to note is that these are rooms belonging to, and above, a pub. The room I had was nicely decorated nicely, in that boutique, home away from home style. Instant good points for me were the Nespresso, the large, very comfortable bed and the relative quiet, given that my room faced the main road. The bathroom looked great, but the shower turned to be pretty poor and the shower screen was far too short to prevent water getting everywhere - so sodden floor after every shower. The room was large but that's because there was no closet, dresser or any other furniture apart from the bed. This didn't bother me as it was only a short stay, but the room would definitely have benefited from having another full-length
mirror. Breakfast was good, with hot traditional eggs, bacon, full English available to order as well as help-yourself cereals, yoghurt and fruit. Staff were very friendly and helpful, I found - happy to oblige with requests for hair dryers, ironing boards, etc. I walked daily to Kensington High St tube station, which took about 10-15 minutes. There were plenty of shops and restaurants along that stretch of road and the area itself was very nice. Overall, I enjoyed the stay, but can't help feeling that a few tweaks and a little more attention to detail (substance over style) would've made it far more outstanding.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
handandflowerW14, General Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Hi and thank you for taking the time to write your review, we work extremely hard to ensure our customers have a happy and pleasant stay when booking with us. We hope you will choose us again in the future and see some of the changes that we have made since you last stayed.

Kind regards

Lee Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    59
    16
    11
    1
See reviews for
27
43
4
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Warm welcoming staff, so helpful, kind.. ace pub/bar/restaurant.. our room was comfortable, clean, had all the mod cons. was perfectly positioned for where we were visiting etc. Breakfast in the morning was gorgeous. On the day of departure, rather than lug our bags all around London, they let us keep all our luggage in their office. Couldn't recommend this place enough. Will definitely come back if we need to be in London again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
handandflowerW14, General Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Thank you for a fantastic review, it's always pleasing to all our staff when our customers take time to write about their experience. We hope to see you again in the none to distant future!

Kind regards

Lee Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkins, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I wanted to find something a little out of the ordinary for our London vacation but really didn't want to give up the comforts of a regular hotel and didn't want to break the bank. The Hand and Flower exceeded my expectations. It had a very homey feel with extremely friendly and attentive staff. The building had all the great charm of an old establishment but the room was very clean, extremely well updated and really provided a 'sanctuary' to come back to after a long day of sightseeing. I found myself referring to it as 'home' after one day! The biggest treat, however, was the food: a simple continental breakfast (with melt-in-your-mouth pastries) was available for days in which we had to leave in a hurry, but if there was a bit more time to relax we had our choice of generous and amazingly tasty hot breakfasts as well. We also stopped for dinner one night and had what was, by far, the most exceptional food of our entire trip. I can't wait to visit again!

Room Tip: The 'Sully' was fantastic -large and comfortable with a little panorama view of Hammersmith...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
handandflowerW14, General Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Hi and thanks for your time to write such a fantastic review. To all our friends stateside especially Minnesota we hope to see you all soon and welcome you all to The Hand and Flower once more.

Kind regards

Lee Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The Hand and Flower is situated close to the station Kensington/Olympia, West Kensington and bus lines 28, 9 and 10 eager to take you to city. You will not find a more wellcoming staff or cosy room. And the breakfast included in the price was second to none. We have never tasted it better in UK. Next time we need room in London, we will chose Hand and Flower.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
handandflowerW14, General Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review, we will no doubt have one of our fantastic breakfasts waiting for you on your next visit. Don't leave it too long!

Kind regards

Lee Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We needed a hotel near Hammersmith and Westfields, but something better than the standard chains for a reasonable price. The Hand and Flower did not disappoint. The staff were very welcoming and the room was attractive and extremely comfortable. We will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Hotel is on a main road opposite the rail line that said I didn't find a noise problem. We stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
handandflowerW14, General Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Hi and thanks for a great review, we're so happy to be hearing so many lovely comments from our guests. We look forward to your return and hope to see you soon here at The Hand and Flower.

Kind regards

Lee Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed for one night for a comedy gig at Hammersmith Apollo. Great location - 15 minute walk to the Apollo. Plenty of bars and restaurants close by. 2 minute walk from Kensington Olympia station.
The hotel was unique and rooms quirky and cosy. Staff very friendly and breakfast which was included in the price was excellent, not just a fry up - lots to choose from!
Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Lots of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
handandflowerW14, General Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review. We love when our guests enjoy themselves here with us at The Hand and Flower and we look forward to seeing you again in the none to distant future.

Kind regards

Lee Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Well, first of all thank you - all the people working there... This is not a hotel, it is a place that you feel yourself like home, especially if you are with kids (7 / 4 y.o). Bus station is just across the street and Hyde park - about 30 min. walk. Stayed at the family room end of March '13 - everything was just like in the company website. And the staff is really friendly, especially for the kids!

102 steps are there Craig, leading to our room. Counted them twice :)))

Thank you all and hope to see you soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
handandflowerW14, General Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review, we're so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay here with us and look forward to you returning in the non too distant future!

102 steps.... are you sure, that seems like an awful lot of stairs. I guess you can check again on your next visit!

Kind regards

Lee Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hand and Flower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hand and Flower Hotel

Address: 1 Hammersmith Rd, London W14 8XJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#246 Romantic Hotel in London
#257 Business Hotel in London
#311 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hand and Flower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Victorian pub/hotel in the heart of Hammersmith, The Hand and Flower has been extensively refurbished and incorporates eight luxurious guest rooms in an historic, century-old building. A fresh menu and real ales make it a great local, too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hand and Flower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hand And Flower Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hand and Flower Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.