We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five nights in cosy surroundings in Hammersmith/Kensington” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hand and Flower Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hand and Flower Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hand and Flower Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Hammersmith Rd, London W14 8XJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Trip Advisor - 10% off
Ranked #330 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Odense, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Five nights in cosy surroundings in Hammersmith/Kensington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The Hand and Flower is situated close to the station Kensington/Olympia, West Kensington and bus lines 28, 9 and 10 eager to take you to city. You will not find a more wellcoming staff or cosy room. And the breakfast included in the price was second to none. We have never tasted it better in UK. Next time we need room in London, we will chose Hand and Flower.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
handandflowerW14, General Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a great review, we will no doubt have one of our fantastic breakfasts waiting for you on your next visit. Don't leave it too long!

Kind regards

Lee Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    35
    12
    9
    1
See reviews for
15
30
3
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We needed a hotel near Hammersmith and Westfields, but something better than the standard chains for a reasonable price. The Hand and Flower did not disappoint. The staff were very welcoming and the room was attractive and extremely comfortable. We will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Hotel is on a main road opposite the rail line that said I didn't find a noise problem. We stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
handandflowerW14, General Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Hi and thanks for a great review, we're so happy to be hearing so many lovely comments from our guests. We look forward to your return and hope to see you soon here at The Hand and Flower.

Kind regards

Lee Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed for one night for a comedy gig at Hammersmith Apollo. Great location - 15 minute walk to the Apollo. Plenty of bars and restaurants close by. 2 minute walk from Kensington Olympia station.
The hotel was unique and rooms quirky and cosy. Staff very friendly and breakfast which was included in the price was excellent, not just a fry up - lots to choose from!
Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Lots of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
handandflowerW14, General Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a very nice review. We love when our guests enjoy themselves here with us at The Hand and Flower and we look forward to seeing you again in the none to distant future.

Kind regards

Lee Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Well, first of all thank you - all the people working there... This is not a hotel, it is a place that you feel yourself like home, especially if you are with kids (7 / 4 y.o). Bus station is just across the street and Hyde park - about 30 min. walk. Stayed at the family room end of March '13 - everything was just like in the company website. And the staff is really friendly, especially for the kids!

102 steps are there Craig, leading to our room. Counted them twice :)))

Thank you all and hope to see you soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
handandflowerW14, General Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review, we're so pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay here with us and look forward to you returning in the non too distant future!

102 steps.... are you sure, that seems like an awful lot of stairs. I guess you can check again on your next visit!

Kind regards

Lee Walton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My wife, two daughters (aged 7 & 3) & I have just spent two night on a short break to London and I can't recommend the Hand and Flower highly enough.
Before travelling, we spent a long time on various websites trying to choose the right hotel and after speaking on the phone to Craig at Hand & Flower regarding a few queries and reading other reviews, we decided to stay there. What a fantastic choice it was; I have stayed at many hotels in London and always approach our capital city's hotels with some trepidation, normally staying in large "branded" chains with indifferent staff. Hand And Flower is a real breath of fresh air.
We were greeted by Craig & Joyanna (I hope I've spelt this correctly) who were both very friendly and welcoming. We were kindly allowed to check in early and were taken to the family room, named "The Lovatt". Our room was simply lovely. We had a Queen sized bed and two single beds for the girls all of which were sumptuously comfortable, with lovely bed linen & towels laid out. There was an en-suite, and in a nod to Hand & Flower offering that little bit more, we had a BOSE i-Pod dock, Smart TV & PS3 which, although unused, would have been handy if the weather was poor.
We ate at the Hand And Flower both evenings and the range of beers and wines were really, really good. The food on both nights was fantastic and although they do not have a childrens menu as such, they were perfectly happy to serve/split an adults portion onto two plates for my daughters. Although we were, in essence, eating in a bar; the atmosphere was never rowdy even during the football match on TV and at no stage did I ever feel that it was an inappropriate place to be with my children. There was always a good choice of varied music playing in the background appropriate for the mood/time of day which gave Hand And Flower a really nice "mellow vibe".
Breakfast's were fantastic with a menu to choose from (ours was included in the room price) and you could have continental breakfast, cereals, or cooked breakfasts......or both should your appetite deem it necessary.
In terms of location, it's great. It's about a 10 minute walk to Kensington High Street Underground and from there the Natural History Museum, Buckingham Palace etc are only a two or three stops away and as such it's really easy to get around London. We went
In summary, what a fantastic place to stay. You could not ask for a nicer room, food or friendlier, accomodating hosts in Craig & Joyanna. I have always seen visiting London as a bit of a chore but this is the first time that i've actually enjoyed it and very central to that enjoyment was the quality and hospitality offered by Craig and his team at Hand & Flower. Without a doubt, we will return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
handandflowerW14, General Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to leave us a review on tripadvisor. I enjoyed reading your feedback and will pass your kind comments onto my team.
I look forward to welcoming you back to The Hand and Flower in the near future.

Kind Regards

Lee Walton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Myself and my girlfriend stayed for a trip to the Apollo. We were greeted at the bar by the friendly staff and booked in. Then taken to our room The Sully, as soon as we opened the door we knew we had booked somewhere great. The room was massive,lovely and light & with a king size bed, it was like sleeping on a cloud! The ensuite was massive aswell with a bath & shower. It was beautifully tiled and spotless. In the morning we went down to the bar area for breakfast which was superb and we were really spoilt by the staff. One of the best rooms we've ever stayed in & will be definetly staying again.

Room Tip: Go for the Sully room you won't be dissapointed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
handandflowerW14, General Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for your great review. It’s always good to hear that we are getting it right. We have a great team hear at The Hand and Flower and work hard to make everyones stay as enjoyable as possible. I have passed your comments onto my team and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Lee Walton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying here for a few nights with our two girls, age 6 and 11. I had read all the past reviews and despite some 'odd' past negative reviews we were still happy to book here. Unlike others we found the nearby station always to be open (our stay was Tuesday to Thursday) with a little help from a 'Tube station ' app we easily made our way around the many sights of London.

Yes, there are lots of stairs to get to the room, but in the context of a London trip where one spends a lot of time up and down the stairs of the Underground, they really weren't an issue. Breakfast was lovely, with the chef quite happy to make my daughter's fried egg face with bacon smile each morning. The staff were happy to deal with all requests that we made. They do not keep the hairdryers in the rooms because people were stealing them!! but happily produce one on request. The room had a heater which could be controlled by the occupier so the room was warm to out taste. There were plenty of power points to use to charge various items and even a Play Station for the children.

All in all this room was ideal for families and an ideal base for sight seeing in London.

Room Tip: Ask for a hairdryer upon arrival to save time :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
handandflowerW14, General Manager at Hand and Flower Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review. It's always a pleasure to hear that people enjoyed their time here at The Hand and Flower and especially when the little ones also come to visit, i hope they enjoyed the playstation and that it allowed you a little rest bite from all the hustle and bustle of London

Kind Regards

Lee Walton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hand and Flower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hand and Flower Hotel

Address: 1 Hammersmith Rd, London W14 8XJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
#295 Business Hotel in London
#318 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hand and Flower Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Victorian pub/hotel in the heart of Hammersmith, The Hand and Flower has been extensively refurbished and incorporates eight luxurious guest rooms in an historic, century-old building. A fresh menu and real ales make it a great local, too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Hand and Flower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hand And Flower Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hand and Flower Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.