We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice rooms, rude staff” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hand and Flower Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hand and Flower Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hand and Flower Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Hammersmith Rd, London W14 8XJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Trip Advisor - 10% off
Ranked #317 of 1,073 hotels in London
Galway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice rooms, rude staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I flew over from Ireland and stayed In the Hand and Flower for a night along with friends. We were going to a gig in Sheperds Bush. After a long day of planes, trains and automobiles, we arrived at the Hotel. We planned on checking in, have a quick drink and off to the gig. We arrived at 7pm and the check in desk was at the bar, beside the entrance to the kitchen and we felt like we were just getting in the way. While the rest were checking in, I ordered some drinks. I came across the rudest bar girl I ever encountered. Let’s just say she dropped my change on the floor for a finish.

The following morning I came down for breakfast. I asked if it would be ok to bring my wife’s breakfast up to the room as she was 6 months pregnant and needed the rest. That was ok. I proceed to eat mine and brought her breakfast upstairs when I finished. After about 10 minutes, the same lady that I spoke to at breakfast knocked on the door and with a raised voice told me we should have checked out 10 minutes previous.

Apart from staff, the rooms are really nice. First impressions last....unfortunately for them

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    25
    11
    7
    1
See reviews for
12
22
3
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

What a lovely stay we had here, only one night though. We stayed in the family room which was lovely, two single beds and a king size. The room even had a playstation for the kids :) Really clean and the staff were super friendly and helpful. Breakfast was fab and even sorted out the kids dippy eggs and soldiers for them. The only slight downfall was the four or five flights of stairs we had to climb with tired kids and they aren't really close to a tube station, but the hotel itself was great - def recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Although quite a walk from the nearest Tube Stations, there are plenty of bus links to all areas. I made the mistake of thinking that I would be able to connect easily to Olympia, but found out that the rail service is extremely limited during the week - as a previous reviewer has pointed out, Olympia would have been perfect as it is opposite the hotel. So the hotel is generally convenient for travel around London. The hotel staff are great; good breakfast service, excellent bar service and all staff were helpful and kind. The rooms are quirky and pretty, although less well-equipped than other rooms I've had in other hotels. There was a hanging rail rather than a wardrobe, for example, and the shelves on the wash basin and above the toilet were dangerously sloping! However, these small details aside - the Hand and Flower is a good place to stay in a very interesting part of London - beautiful Holland Park and trendy Notting Hill are only a stones throw away. I stayed three nights and would certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here as we wanted somewhere near Olympia exhibition hall. It is literally opposite so perfect. Bar is buzzing after any show with a great atmosphere. Rooms were lovely aswell. Breakfast was amazing with table service. Staff were superb. Would highly recommend for business trips.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed here during the Olympics and as we booked a year in advance we managed to get the old rates before the hotel was redeveloped!
We turned up early so the manager put us in a free room - which was actually bigger than the one we booked. The room was very clean, modern and nicely decorated.
The staff were extremely helpful and friendly.
Obviously staying here for our Olympic break we didnt' spend too much time at the hotel - but I would definately use again for a weekend break in London and take advantage of the bar and menu on offer.
Overall great hotel, only 5 mins walk to the nearest tube and in the decent enough location. Would recommend!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We have recently come back from a 1 night stay and have had a wonderful time at this hotel. We are a family of four and stayed in the family suite which was very clean and very comfortable. We arrived early to leave our luggage but was told the room was ready for us and allow to make use of it and upon departing the staff were more than happy to allow us to leave our luggage again. This was a real bonus. The only downside I would mention is that the room got very hot even though there was a fan provided, but this would not put us off staying there again. We heard no noise from the bar downstairs and found the staff extremely helpful and very polite. The food in the hotel was very nice indeed, along with the pleasant surroundings. Got a great deal which was good value for money.

Room Tip: The Kensington Olympia tube is only open at the weekends and Bank Holidays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We recently stayed at the Hand and Flower for 1 night during the Olympics and found the whole experience fantastic from start to finish. We arranged to arrive before the check in time expecting to leave our bags then come back later but the staff had the room ready and were more than willing to show us to our room during the busy lunch time period. We arrived back after a busy day at the Olympics and had an evening meal there which was elegantly presented and of the highest quality.

The whole pub had just gone through some refurbishments and you could still smell the new gloss paint (not in a bad way) and the twin room we had had been decorated to a very high standard. Excellent en-suite facility's with a bath and shower, free Wi-Fi, T.V, ipod docking station, tea and coffee machine all made our brief stay a very enjoyable one.

On a weekend there is a tube station 100 yards away and we saw regular buses for Kings Cross going up and down the street.

Breakfast in the morning was one of the best I have ever tasted (and I enjoy a good breakfast!) and nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

Well worth a stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Quiet, Mid-rang...
Show More
Brook Green Hotel
Brook Green Hotel
#264 of 1,073 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Luxury, Best Va...
Show More
Hammersmith / Fulham
Simply Rooms & Suites
Simply Rooms & Suites
#558 of 1,073 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
London Bridge
The Mad Hatter Hotel
The Mad Hatter Hotel
#272 of 1,073 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pets Allowed, Q...
Show More
Hilton London Olympia
Hilton London Olympia
#587 of 1,073 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 839 reviews
City Center, Pe...
Show More
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Novotel London West
Novotel London West
#475 of 1,073 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 1,802 reviews
Quiet, Mid-rang...
Show More
Camden / Primrose Hill
La Gaffe
La Gaffe
#255 of 1,073 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hand and Flower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hand and Flower Hotel

Address: 1 Hammersmith Rd, London W14 8XJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#289 Business Hotel in London
#313 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hand and Flower Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful Victorian pub/hotel in the heart of Hammersmith, The Hand and Flower has been extensively refurbished and incorporates eight luxurious guest rooms in an historic, century-old building. A fresh menu and real ales make it a great local, too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Hand and Flower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hand And Flower Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hand and Flower Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.