We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fabulous Shangri-La hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London to your Saves list
Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 St Thomas Street, London SE1 9QU, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Room with a View
Ranked #165 of 1,065 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Another fabulous Shangri-La hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed in Shangri-La hotels in KL and Shanghai and this is another hotel with outstanding standards, facilities and great staff. Delicious tea served on arrival in our bedroom, well thought out bedroom Views from our 50th floor bedroom were stunning but views into neighbouring bedroom was also very good!!!
I was disappointed that the swimming pool was not yet opened, but the small but well equipped gym had the same amazing views - super cool to take a jog with the London panorama.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaLondon, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Tippyleaf,

Thank you for your review. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We too are sorry that the pool was not ready during your visit, it will open on 11th August, we hope to welcome you back to Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London so that you can experience it once it opens.

Yours sincerely,

Darren,
Darren Gearing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    106
    52
    22
    14
See reviews for
47
310
13
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

From the views to the attention to detail that Shangri la hotels always have this was an exceptional stay! The staff were extremely attentive and very friendly. Unlike the last reviewer, I loved the toiletries and breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaLondon, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear meascott27,

Thank you for your recent review of Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London. I am delighted that your stay with us was “exceptional” and will pass on your kind praise to the whole team. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Darren,
Darren Gearing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My husband and I and our 9 year old son enjoyed a three night stay in early July. The location was ideal for our needs with easy Tube access and a short walk to the Tate Modern. Ground floor staff usually greeted us warmly when entering/leaving the lobby. They were helpful with luggage and hailing cabs. We did stand a few times at the upper level lobby concierge desk waiting for someone to man the station. It didn't necessarily slow us down too much, but I would expect it to always be attended to at a hotel at this price point.

The room had every amenity needed and was tastefully decorated in a modern style with Asian touches. The bathroom was well stocked, but I found the fragrance of the Acqua di Parma products too strong and masculine. In fact, I went out and bought something 'fresher and lighter' to use during the stay. I would have preferred London based company products too - maybe Moulton Brown. The bed was very comfortable with adequate room light. Even with a roll away bed for my son, we still had space to use the sofa and chair during room service. Speaking of room service, the food was excellent and arrived in a timely fashion. However, the table set up took much too long. I appreciate knowledgeable staff, but when it's close to midnight, I just want the table set up without a long explanation of each and every item on the tray - no need really to point out the ketchup bottles for the chips. We didn't eat in any of the restaurants so I can't speak to the food/service in them. From afar TING looked to have amazing views.

We enjoyed the TV in the bath mirror and the Toto washlet system. The one drawback to it, however, every light in the bathroom had to be on for it to work. Seems like some sort of electrical kink that needs to be worked out during the hotel's opening months. Also, my son was excited about using the website promoted roof top pool - that wasn't to be, as we informed at check-in that it wouldn't open until August :(

Overall, our room had spectacular views - especially at night when the city was lighted. The service was very good with a few flaws here and there. At other 5 star/luxury hotels, staff quickly learn guest names. The sense of 'care and concern' such recognition brings wasn't apparent here. I sensed staff was anxious to do things right but didn't always have enough experience or knowledge of the hotel/area to be 100% confident in doing their jobs...nothing more experience/training can't fix.

Even though there are some customer service and facility issues to be addressed, I will definitely consider the Shangri-La for my next trip to London.

Room Tip: Even a supposedly 'smaller' room because it was on 50th floor had more than enough square fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaLondon, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear CAMJDR94,

Thank you for reviewing Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London. I am glad to know that your overall stay with your family was an enjoyable one but I do apologise that there wasn't a member of the concierge team available on the occasions that you needed them, I have passed on this comment to ensure it does not happen again. I am delighted that the room service you received was “excellent”.

We hope to see you and your family again in the not so distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Darren,
Darren Gearing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushey, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We had booked a city view and was not disappointed. Our room was amazing, as you would expect for the money. Only two small negatives. We only had three pots of milk for our coffee and tea, also I would have liked a mirror in the bedroom, as I like to sit down and put my make up on and not stand in bathroom. The breakfast was nice cooked English and a help yourself, as one can only describe as miniature pastries, yogurts and fruit. The staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: The city view is best so I believe. I think if you have a room on the other side it looks on to a ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaLondon, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Diane M,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your overall stay and thank you for the feedback regarding the in room mirror and the milk, I will pass on your comments to the management team. I am delighted that you found all of the staff to be “pleasant and helpful”.
I hope to welcome you back to the Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Darren,
Darren Gearing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

I booked a Deluxe City View room for 2 nights to celebrate my partner's birthday. We arrived about 90 mins before the official 3pm check in time in the hope that our room would be ready so that we could settle in, change and head out for a spot of lunch. Unfortunately, our room wasn't ready and we ended up leaving our luggage with reception. The weather wasn't as warm as I had expected and needed to retrieve a jumper from my case before leaving for lunch. My only criticism is that there are no changing facilities - just a single disabled toilet tucked away at the back of the coffee bar which even after a 10 min wait remained occupied. Having given up, I ended up having to resort to opening my case in the main lobby area and changing in a less than private environment.....not ideal!
As you enter the hotel, the lobby area smells really welcoming with a clean oriental feel. We were shown to our room which was amazing on the 49th floor and left to take in the views and luxurious surroundings. As a gesture, the staff had arranged a plate if fruit and cake for my partner which was a lovely touch. The view from our room was over Guys Hospital taking in the London Eye, Westminster, and the Tate but not far enough around to see Tower Bridge.
The bathroom was a bit tricky having to remember to drop the blinds in fear of the room next door or above being able to see in!!!! (We had been made aware of this).
We used the Gong Bar twice and had a lovely corner table on our first visit so that we were able to take in the night time views over the city.
All in all, a lovely hotel and would recommend for a special treat as it isn't cheap....but well worth a visit!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaLondon, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear 1VC,

I appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. I am delighted to know that your overall visit to Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London was a pleasant one and in particular both of your visits to GONG.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards,

Darren,
Darren Gearing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

A fantastic visit this weekend for my partner's birthday. Service and attention from everyone we encountered was second-to-none throughout. Yes the views are incredibly impressive, but they were matched (in my opinion) by the effort of the hotel staff and the 'little touches' throughout our stay.

We stayed on the 46th floor overlooking the City. Great views, very comfortable room. The flowers and birthday cake for my partner were well appreciated too. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel to anyone and we'll definitely be returning again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaLondon, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear IanT_81,

Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted to hear that you had such a great stay to celebrate your partner’s birthday. I will pass on your praise to the whole team.

We hope to welcome you back to the Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Darren,
Darren Gearing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed one night here recently. Directed to the 35th floor reception and stood there like a lemming looking at two empty reception desks. A couple of minutes later a staff member arrived to check me in. Not a great start. Couldn't fault the room on the 45th floor nor the view. Every conceivable need is looked after in regards to ammenities in the room itself. Bed and pillows very comfortable and a bathroom that was giggly good. But what on earth is the story with the carpet choice ? Cheapens the entire setting. So too the lack of attention to the ambeint air temperature in the common areas. I never thought I 'd work up a sweat waiting for a lift. Had a cocktail or 2 at GONG. Again pretty good but for the insincere and somewhat rude lady running the front door. Tall English lass from up North. As with the carpet in the room what is with the fake tea lights? If you can't have candles becasue of fire regulations (my guess) why bother trying to create an atmosphere with 1 GBP knockoffs? The two serving staff members we dealt with were superb. Dora and William. Check out the next morning was slower and more laborious than check in.....All up was it worth paying £500 for the experience? (that was just for the room and nothing else) Not so sure it was.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShangriLaLondon, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear nw05250,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that your check-in and check-out experience was slower than usual, I have passed these comments on to the team.

I am delighted that Dora and William were “superb” and will be sure to pass on you kind comments to them both.

We hope that we may be able to welcome you back in the not so distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Darren,
Darren Gearing, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London

Address: 31 St Thomas Street, London SE1 9QU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#122 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London 5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
London's first elevated luxury hotel - starting at 125 metres high - Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London occupies levels 34 to 52 of The Shard, Western Europe's tallest building. Situated in London's most historic areas, Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London is in close proximity to the financial hubs of the City and Canary Wharf as well as key tourist attractions such as Tate Modern, the Tower of London, St. Paul's Cathedral and Borough Food Market. The hotel offers 202 guest rooms and suites throughout levels 36 and 50, all with unparalleled views across London. Three signature Shangri-La wining and dining venues and three river-facing event spaces on level 34. Level 52 is home to London's highest bar alongside the hotel's infinity Skypool and 24-hour gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shangri-La Hotel, At The Shard, London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.