We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy to reach by car, handy for the underground” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express London-Newbury Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express London-Newbury Park to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express London-Newbury Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   713 Eastern Avenue | Newbury Park, London 1G2 7RH, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #438 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Versailles, France
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Easy to reach by car, handy for the underground”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This hotel is very convenient when driving from the East of London and then travelling by tube.
The hotel carpark is secure and is rarely full. The central line station is about 5 minutes on foot.
The meals are basic but good value for money.
Breakfast is very good with several different cereals, fruit, juices and hot food too.
The rooms are clean and the overall maintenance is very good.
Any problems are resolved promptly. An excellent approach to customer service.

Room Tip: The twin rooms are at the rear, doubles at the front. The rooms at the end of the corridor and on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julio-Marques1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Newbury Park, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Gillest2,
Thank you for taking the time to whrite your review.
We at Holiday Inn Express Newbury Park praise ourselves for the excellent costumer service we offer our guests and the fantastic facilities we offer.

We hope to welcome you back again in a near future.

Thank you

Julio Marques
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    176
    61
    12
    4
See reviews for
73
98
25
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Having booked last minute for £105 a night - this hotel did not meet our expectations. Parking by the hotel is advertised for free, however, £1 fee applies. Bed was very uncomfortable to sleep on, soft and only a small double size. Room also tiny, a little bit rough round the edges. Shower / bathroom ok, clean, but no toiletries.
Breakfast was terrible. Very poor choice, always running out of rolls. No ham at all although cheese was served. No bacon either. Cutlery stained from the washing up liquid, cups for "coffee" also dirty. Selection of fruits consisted of few apples. If you are happy with a slice of toast and coffee coloured water - then ok, but definitely a significant room for improvement there.
Will not stay there again, for that matter will not book any Holliday Inn in a future.

Room Tip: Just book elsewhere, Premier Inn - half the price and at least a decent bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julio-Marques1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Newbury Park, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear GinaA,
I am very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay as we would expect.
The quality and standard of our rooms is of a brand standard level for Holiday Inn Express brand across the uk. We try our upmost to keep our rooms in prime condition with continuous updating in decoration and soft furnishings as per many of our guests comments and photographic evidence our rooms are of a very good standard.
Our complimentary continental breakfast with three hot items, according to brand standards and we offer a world renowne coffee brand to our guests.

I sencirely hoped you brought your disapointment to my attention before departure. I hope that you will give us a second chance next time you looking to book a room and I would appretiate if you could contact me directly so that I can look after your needs.

Thank you again

Julio Marques
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunstanton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Although on the noisy Eastern Avenue this hotel is ideally situated to the Central Line which takes you straight into London. When I walked into the reception area my first impression was how clean it was and hopefully this was going to be a good omen for the rest of the hotel. Luckily I was not disappointed, the room overlooked neighbouring flats which are in good condition, and could not hear the noise of the traffic unless I opened my window (thank goodness you could open a window to get some air) shut it when wanted to sleep. Was very pleased with the bedroom and the shower room was exceptional, the shower was excellent and even though had the room to myself was given double towels. Tea and Coffee in the room as well. When you walked into the breakfast bar the staff were on hand to assist and acknowledged you. There is hot food as well as continental. Reception staff were very friendly. If you want to eat out, there are plenty of restaurants within the area, and you can also get buses to Gants Hill (and Central Line) or Ilford for more places to eat. I stayed in this hotel October and November and would recommend this hotel for a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: I was on second floor near to Eastern Avenue, not sure if you had a room higher up and further back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julio-Marques1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Newbury Park, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Tavelerilford,
thak you for your recent comments. It is fantastic to see that service and facilities where greatly appretiated and praised.
We hope to welcome you back at Holiday Inn Express Newbury Park soon.

Wishing you and your family a merry christmas.

Julio Marques
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

If you want cereal and croissants your fine. Was looking forward to a hot English breakfast but all you are offered is luke warm beans, substandard sausages and some form of homogenized egg.

Beds uncomfortable if it's raining as it was on our stay you'll be kept awake all night with Chinese water torture, with constant drips dripping on flashings round windows.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julio-Marques1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Newbury Park, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on trip advisor .
Please let me remind you that Holiday Inn Express standard offer a set continental breakfast with three hot item only, this is the standard for all the Express brand across the world.
We are very sorry regarding the stormy winds you experienced during your stay infortunatly not much can be done about the weather we can only hope that next time you will be visiting us the sun will prevail.

Thank you
Julio Marques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

Almost all of the staff, regularly demonstrate impeccable, exvellent customer service - delivered with a friendly style and a "nothing is too much trouble" attitude :)

Monday-Saturday, the hotel works like a magnificent clock, offering reasonable pricesdbfood to a fabulous standard, exceptioall customer servce and bery clean rooms.

Sunday night's skeleton crew and multi-functioning team can really struggle, and I'd personally recommend avoiding the kitchen unless you're desperate. ...there are plenty of take away and fast food places near by.

The bar was reasonable and well stocked!

Luca Prusakova was our amazing guest service manager, who did a marvellous job of anything required and time after time impressed us with her friendly approach and happy attitude.

On a good night, the views from the 7th floor are amazing, showing Dartfod Bridge to one side and the City's financial power to the other.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julio-Marques1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Newbury Park, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Spike uk ,
Thank you for taking time to post your comments on trip advisor. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hotel facilities. Your comments have been shared with the team. Thank you
The next time you will be visiting London – you are most welcome at Holiday Inn Express Newbury Park

Julio Marques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend in October and had a fantastic time. The hotel price was excellent considering that it is in London and it felt very good value for money. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious and included in the price. The rooms were cosy, comfortable and spacious with nice bathroom facilities and tv. The hotel is a ten minute walk to Sainsburies and has a petrol station M&S food shop right next to it which is handy. It is just a few minutes walk from Newbury Park Underground station which is conveniently located on the central line (around 45mins to Oxford Circus). The only problem we had was that the london underground was having work done on the central line this weekend and we had not checked this before we booked. This meant a 1hr30mins journey to and from the hotel each day.This is not the fault of the hotel, but if we had known we may not have booked this. The london underground website does detail all their planned works so just check beforehand!

Great place, would recommend!

Room Tip: We booked the double room with sofa bed as it was the same price as the double room. It just gave us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julio-Marques1, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Newbury Park, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear RessicaW,
Thank you for your valuable feed back.
At Holiday Inn Express Newbury Park we try our upmost to please all our guests both with great costumer service and safe and confortable rooms that provide a great sleep.
We would be delighted to welcome you back any time soon.

Thank you

Julio Marques
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed during the Olympics. Great location for the Park, and wouldnt be a killer for those commuting into the centre of London. Local tube station an easy walk.

Rooms tidy and clean. Standard layout, but lack of teabags and milk left with the kettle facilities was a bit of a bummer.

Breakfast was included and we were pleasantly surprised by what it had on offer. Ok, it was not a full english, but for the price we paid, I was expecting basic continental and it was a lot better than that. A sausage sarnie, banana and yoghurt set us up lovely for a big day at the games.

Would use again in the right circumstances.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arshad-Mahmood, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Newbury Park, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Jodami,

Thank you for taking the time to post your commentary about your stay with us.

We are so pleased you had such an enjoyable time at the Holiday Inn Newbury Park.

Thank you

Julio Marques
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express London-Newbury Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London-Newbury Park

Address: 713 Eastern Avenue | Newbury Park, London 1G2 7RH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Best Value Hotel in London
#394 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London-Newbury Park 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Express by Holiday Inn London Newbury Park Hotel located on the A12 the main arterial road into the centre of London and within easy reach to the site of the 2012 Olympic games. The hotel is 3 minutes from the Central Line underground station giving easy access to Central London with Oxford Street only 30 minutes by tube, and to one of the largest public open spaces in London, Epping Forest. The hotel is at the very cutting edge of contemporary design and technology with wireless Internet in the public areas. Each room has high-speed Internet access, individually controlled air conditioning Complimentary continental breakfast available for all residents. After a long day in the office why not unwind in our Contemporary lounge bar area.With ExCel Centre,O2 and Canary Wharf only 15 minutes by underground, London Newbury Park is an ideal base for the Corporate Traveller. Offering 87 secureFree Car Parking Spaces you can leave your car and relax whilst you travel into London in one of our personalised taxi's. With ExCel centre within easy reach we are ideally placed for conference delegates for World Travel Market, International Boat Show, or guests attending concerts. The hotel is adjacent to The King George Conference Centre and delegates have Free car parking on site! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London-Newbury Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London-Newbury Park Hotel London
Holiday Inn London
London Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express London-Newbury Park England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express London-Newbury Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.