We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed Bugs” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Belmont & Astoria Hotels

Save Saved
You added Belmont & Astoria Hotels to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Belmont & Astoria Hotels
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 & 104 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UH , England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #775 of 1,071 hotels in London
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bed Bugs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here, reasonably simple and budget accomodation with the exception of the BED BUGS! Very quickly my partner and I were covered in huge welts, bites and caught several bugs crawling around in the bed.

We told management, who did offer some reimbursment, albeit very reluctantly and inadequete to cover the cost of the money lost for having to find new accomodation, the time and money spent washing and drying all of our belongings. I am sure that from other trip advisor reviews and the reaction of management that this is an ongoing problem, and they seem frankly quite disinterested in rectifying it.

I recommend spending more pounds, and saving yourself the hassle.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    49
    86
    52
    56
See reviews for
76
44
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed here three times in the run in the Christmas whilst working at St Mary's nearby. Great value hotel considering it includes full English breakfast and wireless broadband (stayed in the nearby Marriot later in my stay - 5x the price and wireless a "bargain" at GBP15 pd... If you set your expectations correctly (it isn't going to be the Ritz: expect clean but a little worn and a small, prefabbed en suite unit) you can't go far wrong. Staff were excellent too, letting me leave my smallish suitcase at reception prior to check in. I sometimes wonder what people expect from a hotel when they are paying lower quartile provincial hotel rates for a room five minutes walk from Tony Blair's gaff...

Room Tip: No views from the rear rooms, if that's important to you. Upper rooms attract less passing noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed for a night December 2012 with our two small children. Room was quite clean and functional. No lift :-(. Nothing worse than lugging suitcases up 3 flights of stairs. Staff friendly and helpful and held luggage for us which was nice ( & extremely handy). Breakfast good but restaurant very cramped. Quite a lot of noise from street traffic.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I could put up with the fact that the Hotel's hallway looked unkempt, with bits that had been painted over in a hurry that should have been tidied up first. We put up with the cold tap giving hot water, and the hot tap giving cold, and also the fact that one of the taps could twist around on the sink. The water damaged ceiling above one of the beds and the mould stains in the bathroom were not attractive, but I could even overlook this, because the family did actually enjoy the breakfast - although having to go next door but one for it was not the best way to start the day. I could put up with all of this if it were not for one thing. My daughter accidentally left her teddy bear in the room, when we left and didn't mention it for a week. When we rung up the Astoria, we were told that they had looked but couldn't find it and that they would probably have thrown it away. What kind of people would do this?
yes , I admit, we should have re-checked, we thought we had! but things do get left in hotel rooms and I would have expected a call , or an email, just to say "would you like your teddy back?"
In my opinion, Avoid this hotel like the plague, this does not seem to be a place that cares about it's guests!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

my sister and i spent a night and had great fun all round with good humor from the staff and lovely breakfast. Room basic but lovely comfy beds and nice and warm. Im returning next month. Let us leave luggage for two whole days. Very nice people.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Belmont & Astoria Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmont & Astoria Hotels

Also Known As:
Belmont & Astoria Hotel
Belmont & Astoria Hotel London
Belmont And Astoria Hotels
Belmont Astoria Hotel
Belmont Astoria London
Belmont & Astoria Hotels London, England
Address: 100 & 104 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UH , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #775 of 1,071 hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Belmont & Astoria Hotels 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Venere and Otel so you can book your Belmont & Astoria Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmont & Astoria Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.