We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It did the job for one night stay, but the best location for tourists however” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn London City - Tower Hill

Save Saved
You added Premier Inn London City - Tower Hill to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn London City - Tower Hill
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Prescot Street, London E1 8BB, England (East End / East London)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 1,073 hotels in London
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“It did the job for one night stay, but the best location for tourists however”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed here with friends recently. The room was clean, but not as modern as other PI's I have stayed in. Room was meant to be set up as a twin but wasn't. A quick visit down to reception and the friendly recepionist came to set up the extra bed a little while later. Apart from this, nothing to really fault about the hotel. Booked about a month in advance and still payed £132 for one Saturday night- very expensive. Location is ok, but depends on where you want to go. We went to Picadilly Circus, Oxford St and that kind of area. We found it to be quite a bit of a trek and too far out so would not book in this location again. Also found it to be quite far from Paddington, about 40mins on the tube. So if you are coming to see the sights and main 'touristy' areas of London, I'd wouldn't recommend this hotel for you. If not, it's absolutely fine and does the job. The Tower Hill tube station was about a 5min walk.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PremierInnTowerHill, Manager at Premier Inn London City - Tower Hill, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review posted on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us. I am very glad the team were able to sort out the room configuration for you, and very happy to hear you enjoyed the stay. Hopefully we can welcome you back to any of our other hotels in the future.

Kind regards
Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    636
    426
    82
    13
    8
See reviews for
396
334
50
166
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed here for one night on a Friday at a bargain price. I had booked a few weeks in advance & got a fantastic deal. The room was basic, but clean, spacious & noise free. The staff were all friendly & helpful. Breakfast was extra, but was good value as it was buffet style. The Tower Hill underground is close by, about 5 mins walk, the same as the Tower of London. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PremierInnTowerHill, Manager at Premier Inn London City - Tower Hill, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the 5 star review. I am very pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us, and that you got a really good deal booking early. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again very soon.

Kind regards
Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 4 nights in May 2012. The hotel was clean and the rooms large and quiet. The bathroom was also a good size. Breakfast at the hotel was lovely and excellent value and we found all of the staff to be very helpful.
Good location within walking distance to Tower Hill tube station and bus services. Close to attractions - Tower Bridge and the Tower of London. I would stay here again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PremierInnTowerHill, Manager at Premier Inn London City - Tower Hill, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on your stay with us. I am very pleased to see you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future!

Kind regards
Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We were very satisfied with our three-night stay at this hotel. Short walk to the Tower Hill tube station and No. 15 bus stop. Our room on the fifth floor was spacious, clean and quiet. The bed was exceptionally comfortable. The bathroom somewhat lacked storage space and towel racks, but the shower was decent and there was plenty of hot water. Hairdryer was in the room, which I prefer, and the lighting was good. No toiletries or tissues. Safe operational for a minimum fee.

Breakfast was very good and the staff were pleasant and efficient. The bar and snack concession in the lobby were a convenient plus. I particularly appreciated that they quickly stored our luggage in a locked room, instead of leaving it hanging around, like many hotels do. We just as quickly retrieved it before running off to catch our train home.

Perfect stay--highly recommend for budget minded tourists.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PremierInnTowerHill, Manager at Premier Inn London City - Tower Hill, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again very soon!

Kind regards
Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have no problems with the hotel or the staff. The hotel isn't the most modern and looks a little tired, but it's fine and was quiet at night. The staff were friendly, knowledgeable and welcoming. However, at £178 per night for a two night stay in a basic double room with one occupant, it was simply far too expensive. I'm sure others will be offered a lower price, but I needed to stay locally for a midweek exhibition and feel that the price was much too high.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PremierInnTowerHill, Manager at Premier Inn London City - Tower Hill, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on your recent stay with us. I am very pleased to hear the team looked after you during your time with us. To qualify for lower rates, I would strongly advise guests to book in advance to take advantage of the great specials advertised on the Premier Inn website. We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn again very soon.

Kind regards
Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

We had a nice one night stay at this hotel at the end of January. It was very clean and comfortable and overall value for money for a London hotel.

Our check in at reception was friendly and very efficient. The lady on reception was exceptionally welcoming and helpful - an excellent start to our stay.

Our room was in the basement which didn't bother us. It wasn't the lightest of rooms but as we were only staying for one night and generally only using it to sleep in this was fine.

The room was very big with the usual amenities (tv, kettle, hairdryer etc). It was clean and the bedding a crisp white. Bed very comfortable (firm mattress) allowing for a good night sleep.

Bathroom on the small side in comparison to our large room but again very clean with crisp white towels. Shower was excellent. Good size cubicle including a seat/bench and the water pressure was excellent. A good way to wake up fully!

We didn't eat in the hotel so cannot comment on the restaurant. In reception they had a coffee/bar area which was nice.

Hotel not far from Aldgate tube station so easy to get around from here if you want a base to explore. We extended our stay in London for an extra night but unfortunately the premier inn was fully booked so we had to move to another hotel. Would have been happy to stay a second night.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PremierInnTowerHill, Manager at Premier Inn London City - Tower Hill, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on your recent stay with us. I am very happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us, and glad the team looked after you very well. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel again very soon!

Kind regards
Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Had a enjoyable weekend break at this Premier Inn - first visit to this one and very convenient situated for tube station and pubs. Made very welcome and rooms were warm and cosy, despite the snow, and the staff were forever cleaning the entrance! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PremierInnTowerHill, Manager at Premier Inn London City - Tower Hill, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you kindly for the 5 star review. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, even with all the snow and cold! I am very happy to hear the team looked after you well, and hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon!

Kind regards
Louis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Premier Inn London City - Tower Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London City - Tower Hill

Address: 24 Prescot Street, London E1 8BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Family Hotel in London
#97 Romantic Hotel in London
#121 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Premier Inn London City - Tower Hill 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Premier Inn London City - Tower Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel London
London Premier Inn
Purple Hotel London
Sleep Inn City London Hotel
Purple Hotel City London
Premier Inn London City - Tower Hill England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn London City - Tower Hill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.