We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Easy Bar.B.Q & Crabshack

Big Easy Bar.B.Q & Crabshack
12 Maiden Lane | Covent Garden, London WC2E 7NA, England
+44 20 3728 4888
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Big Easy Bar.B.Q & Crabshack is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4,051 of 18,003 Restaurants in London
Price range: $16 - $62
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Big Easy Covent Garden is the second restaurant from the insanely popular Bar.B.Q and Crabshack with an even bigger emphasis on real home-smoked BBQ, their famous amazing value daily offers, great lobsters and steaks and now the most authentic home smoked BAR.B.Q. Meats are freshly smoked on the premises and in the kitchen by some of the biggest names in American Bar.B.Q.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

My first time here with friends for lunch. The service wasn't great, bit slow and 'clunky' but the site has only recently opened, so I'd expect that to improve over time. The menu is huge, as is the open kitchen in the basement. We ordered everything from crab, lobster, chicken, ribs, pulled pork and more and it was all delicious. Price wise you can eat well for less - the lunch menu offers 2 courses for £9.95 - excellent value and you can eat a lobster from £20, but the side dishes are a bit pricey for the portion size. Our waiter worked through our order to ensure that we got the best deal by combining dishes, which was a bonus. The décor is a bit 80s TGIFridays, but nothing wrong with being 'retro' I guess. It's a great place to go with a group, wouldn't go there as a couple - not quite the romantic vibe going on. Our waiter brought up the biggest live lobster they had to show my son, which was a big hit! My fussy 10 year old LOVED it here, so we will be going back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    161
    93
    63
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Coast
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Big Food Big Flavour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Definitely one for those with a big appetite but complimented by great food, great service and superb live entertainment - 3 piece blues band that would be worth paying to see in their own right.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“crab shack covent garden”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

very disappointing service - unfriendly and unhelpful reception desk, definitely discriminated as to who would get table first - served starters and main course together when asked why they said you did not specify that you wanted them separately!!! No apologies, food was excellent but some of the staff spoilt our night.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Visited easter bank holiday weekend, and at first when walking into the entrance and down a dark south american themed corridor we felt as though we were walking into a queue line at the latest roller coaster ride in Thorpe Park! We were greeted by none the less than 6 front of house staff welcoming us to the BIG easy bar b q all immaculately dressed in various checkered shirts to fit in with the theme. The theme was carried right through into the main restaurant the walls being decked out in chalkboard menus with crab and lobster selections, a warm and inviting ambience indeed. We only came in for milkshakes and were served at the bar no problem, the strawberry milkshake is average but the chocolate peanut butter was good reasonably priced for London at £4 a milkshake. Staff were attentive and friendly giving us free salted pretzels and ice water which was topped up frequently by waitresses walking by. We didn't eat here but we did observed those being served and wow certainly looks good so we will be back!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely lobster lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We have eaten here twice, the food was excellent and the staff were very attentive and friendly, it's a very busy and you need to book to make sure you get a table.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Easy Bar.B.Q & Crabshack also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Big Easy Bar.B.Q & Crabshack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Easy Bar.B.Q & Crabshack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.