We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grant Museum of Zoology

Grant Museum of Zoology
21 University Street, London WC1E 6DE, England (Bloomsbury / Holborn)
020 3108 2052
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 853 Attractions in London
Type: Natural History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Grant Museum is the only remaining university zoological museum in London. It houses around 67,000 specimens, covering the whole of the Animal Kingdom. Founded in 1827 as a teaching collection, the Museum is packed full of skeletons, mounted animals and specimens preserved in fluid. Many of the species are now endangered or extinct including the Tasmanian Tiger or Thylacine, the Quagga, and the Dodo. The Museum relocated to a new larger space on March 2011.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fascinating visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

A very unusual museum, thousands of specimens in one room. Most of the exhibits are in jars and can be a grisly to look at! We took our two boys (10 and 8) as I thought they would love it but they were bored inside 20 minutes, so probably best for 12 yrs plus. They have a toilet but no refreshments.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    47
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ulverston, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Old school museum fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Great small museum where you just explore the shelves yourself in any order, staring at tones of fun specimens in jars. Great fun and free. Really close to euston station, so if you've got 30-60 mins spare, pop in.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
103 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Different to other zoological collections in the captial”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Children and adults alike will be fascinated by this museum full of stuffed animals and weirdly position animal skeletons, a zoo if you will of a difference. Run by the UCL (university college of London), this museum is housed on the corner of one of its buildings in what was clearly once a large library/study room, the shelves of books all along the walls and the upstairs walkway present amongst the glass cases holding the museum exhibitions.

The sights that impressed me the most was the three sighted lit booth where with a small magnifying glass you can look at micro-organisms; the anaconda skeleton; and the range of pickled creatures in jars. Between the host of skeletons and the jarred items this is perhaps not a museum for the faint hearted but little boys will certainly love it.

It is barely a minute, two minute walk straight down the road from London Euston Square tube station and less then five minutes from London Euston national rail station, making it easy to get to through public transport. One thing I like about the Grant Museum is it is one of those attractions relatively unknown to the tourist hordes who come to London, meaning you are unlikely to be swarmed in your visit or rushed.

The museum is open in the afternoons from 1pm to 5pm and is free admission for everyone. It will keep you interested for about an hour so combine an afternoon’s sightseeing with seeing the Petrie Museum of Egyptian Archaeology, Pollock’s Toy Museum or the British Library, all of which are in easy walking distances. Combined with the multitude of cafes and pubs around the University College of London area and you have all the elements you need for a nice quiet afternoon out in London.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unusual Zoo, Mainly in a Jar!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

When we first went in it strikes you as an old room that has not changed for many years. But it is so interesting. There are plenty of animals and organisms in jars and skeletons to view. Its not that large so you need about a hour to stroll round and read what the many exhibits are. Could have done with more information about the items but i was told the staff are very knowledgeable and will spend time with you if its not busy. My advice would be to go at a time when its not busy to take it all in.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A legacy for us all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Every person walking this planet should be brought to a museum like this to fully appreciate our fascinating and unique planet, and maybe start respecting and looking after it to the best of our abilities! I was nearly moved to tears with the display of microscope preparations. Just beautiful!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grant Museum of Zoology also viewed

 

Been to Grant Museum of Zoology? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grant Museum of Zoology, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.