We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for the rate!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wardonia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wardonia Hotel to your Saves list
Wardonia Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   46-54 Argyle Street | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8ER, England (Bloomsbury)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #514 of 1,049 Hotels in London
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great choice for the rate!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

As many reviewers said, the location is very convenient (from the tube, take the Euston Road South exit, not the North one!) and you will be there in less than 5 minutes. Again, the room and bathroom are small, but enough to be functional, and very clean and well-maintained. I got lucky I got a room on the 1st floor facing the St Pancras Tower, which was a nice touch! As a female travelling solo, I was a little concerned about the area being so close to train stations (which can be seedy sometimes), but never felt unsafe and, actually, quite enjoyed the convenience of all the shops, grocery stores and restaurants in them.

There's a pub right next to the hotel that serves breakfast ($5.95 for English or continental breakfast). No complaints on the Wi-Fi, which worked great throughout my stay.

It was nice I was allowed to pay for the hotel at any time of my stay, rather than upfront as in many hotels I've stayed in the past. That can be a great help for those with daily withdrawal limits on their ATM card if you're planning to pay cash.

I recommend and definitely would stay there again...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    306
    179
    45
    30
See reviews for
66
256
135
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel is located really close to King's Cross tube station (and St Pancras). If you exit by the correct exit, it's just down the street.
We received a room on the highest level (4th floor) and we had to lug our suitcases up the stairs which were super narrow, thus dangerous. The room was TINY - just 2 single beds with a tiny space in between. The bathroom was also tiny with no windows and had a weird smell that never went away; and the sink was the tiniest i've seen in my life. But that being said, I've been to London quite a few times and I guess this is the case in most budget hotels/hostels.
The people at reception are nice enough, but insist that you leave your keys with them before you go out for the day, and when you get back, you tell them your room number and they hand you your key (they do NOT even ask you for your name or ID - what sort of security is that?)
On the whole, the prices are not low, but compared to other hotels it is on the more affordable side, so you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

I stayed on two occasions recently in a single room and in a twin room. The rooms are small but functional. On both visits I found the rooms to be spotlessly clean. Small bathrooms with excellent showers. Tea/coffee, TV and wifi. It was cold weather during my visits but the heating was great. 24 hr reception. The walls are thin and the room off the main corridor had more background noise. None of my rooms had a view but my main concern was cleanliness and it passed on that score. Bed was also very comfortable. Overall, for a cheap stay in central London and close to transport links you can't beat these prices. There is a pub next door where you can purchase breakfast, although I didn't try it. Ideal for short stay or business trip.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland uk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Perfect location for boarding eurostar...5 min walk. Room very small but spotless! No complaints as was aware of size. Tv and kettle/tea/coffee. Decor slighly outdated but was made up for by shiny white shower room! Staff at reception were very helpful although had to leave key when went out for tea. Desk manned 24 hours so was ok.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is a nice little compact hotel (hallways and doors and stairways would not pass code in america. It is close to the king cross tube and st pancras station. Service at the hotel was pleasant and efficient. My room which was suppose to be a double was small. Had my wife been with me, she would not have been pleased. It would not work for 2 people. I only paid 70lb for me with such a great location it is a great value. I will say my bathroom was recently update and looked sparking white, but it is good I'm relatively thin. The bed as a little hard and the pillows were like pancakes, but hey the price was fair.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I wanted a hotel neat the Piccadily line and this seemed to fit the bill. I knew the room would be small and was not concerned that the only place to put my suitcase was under the bed; they have obviously designed the beds to allow this. The bed was comfortable and the room (at the back) was quiet, even with the window open. The bathroom was surprisingly modern with great shower but very small. Narrow corridors and very narrow stairs, pokey landings. I did notice there were other larger rooms but did not bother asking for one of these.

I guess overall, the room was good value but my major disppointment was the WiFi which the hotel's website claimed was super-fast. I booked this hotel on the basis of good wifi but this is a joke. I had just returned from West Africa where the wifi was much faster. The WiFi here was the SLOWEST I have experienced, I could not get a connection on SKYPE, let alone make calls and dont even dream about video calls. Connecting to Hotmail was a 5 minute exercise.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room, they are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Yes it's small, but really what more could you expect for a hotel of this cost?

I found my stay to be very comfortable. The important things: large clean towels, modern bathroom with power shower and decent toiletries. Hairdryer, Good modern TV, clean and comfy bed, friendly welcome and excellent location. Oh and FREE wifi!

Sure it's no 5 star, but if you want that you'll need to pay a hell of a lot more than this!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wardonia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wardonia Hotel

Address: 46-54 Argyle Street | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #514 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Wardonia Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Wardonia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wardonia Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wardonia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.