We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ham, strawberry yogurt and cornflake breakfast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ravna Gora Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ravna Gora Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Ravna Gora Hotel
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   29 Holland Park Avenue, London W11 3RW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #416 of 517 London B&B and Inns
stoke
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ham, strawberry yogurt and cornflake breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in one of the 'executive' rooms from 9th-11th July 2012.

The room was excellent; freshly decorated with lovely furnishings, very clean and with a really comfy bed. Full range of TV channels and massive shower in the bathroom. Only downside was there was no bin and no tea/coffee making facility.

Breakfast was continental, and although a little strange, left us full until lunch time! The dining hall could do with a refurb, but was functional none the less!

The location is excellent. Tube station a stone's throw away and a whole range of shops, restaurants and bars a 5 minute walk away. Close to Portobello market too. Free parking at the hotel, where we found a space straight away, is also a massive bonus.

Only big criticism is the staff - didn't see a single smile for 3 days, and they were very abrupt. However, they did give us a spare key for the main door for nights we were coming in late and gave us information on places of interest to visit.

But on the whole, for location and a good nights sleep in a nice room, i'd definitely visit again!

Room Tip: Book an executive room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    27
    43
    36
    75
See reviews for
41
38
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The foyer to this hotel has been done up but the rooms are tiny with wall paper hanging off the waals and ceiling. There was a poster pinned to wall as decor. Towels were provided for the shower but no shower mat. I had a shower and fell when getting out smacking my head on toilet. The window didn't close or open. The breakfast was nice but there are lots of health and safety procedures that haven't been addressed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

This hotel / B&B is quirky. Run by Serbians, i think, there are a lot of historical pictures around the walls. The owners are obviously in a process of a rolling refurbishment programme and there is now a lift which is a big plus given there are 4 floors. The top floor has the exec rooms with en-suite showers / toilets and if staying you must get one of those! The other standard rooms we saw were more akin to a hostel with shared toilets etc. They looked clean enough but you really wouldn't want to have to sleep in them.
Now, I did say quirky! And I guess this applies mainly to breakfast :) A curious mix of corn flakes, a banana, yoghurt, cheese, salami, toast and jam! Served to you by a tall Russian / Serbian type lady who has little or no facial expression or social niceties :) Cultural I am certain, not personal. But, if you spend a little time in conversation with the owners, they probably don't have too much to smile about given their history and how they ended up in the UK! The sitting room reminds me of an old folks home with chairs around the walls, a piano and more historical notable Serb photos around the walls.
In summary, I liked the place because it's not a premier inn, hi express etc etc and it has a unique quality. Yes, they have some way to go to bring the rest of the rooms up to the standard of their "exec" rooms but at least they are doing it. If you are expecting grovelling staff or owners with constant incongruous welcoming smiles etc you ain't getting it but if you ask for local info or something and they can help, they will.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

If you're only staying for a couple of days and want to be close to all that London has to offer for a cheap price, then this is the hotel for you! The staff was nice, the rooms were clean and you're only 15-20 minutes away from London centre with the tube! Good enough for me!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

I booked this for my son, as i just wanted a hotel for him to stray, the night before he returned to the states.
Upon his arrival, he actually walked past the hotel a couple of times before he realised it was the correct address.
The hotel was boarded up, and he managed to open the door, and could not find anyone who spoke English. he said the hotel was in bad state, and was being renovated. Stay clear of this hotel, at least until its ready for business. Shame he had to experience this.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

But that was about it. The hotel was a block and a half from the tube stop, which was very convenient. The neighborhoodThe staff was reasonably friendly, and offered to lock up our bags the morning of arrival until we could check in later, so we were free to start sightseeing.

The room...well, it was pretty worn. Peeling wallpaper, beds with dips in the mattress and yes, we found one bed bug. (fortunately, we got no bites, and no infestation of our suitcases). I did tell the manager, and she looked panicked, and we found no others. The bathroom had an extremely dim light, and the the shower was inadequate. The room was facing the street, so we had some street noise, but that wasn't a big issue. Lighting in the room was sparse, and if you had electronics to charge you had to choose between light and charging. Not enough outlets in this old building.
The building looks like it must have been nice in it's heyday, and would be if a remodel was initiated. Old buildings have charm, but not when left to wear and tear. We had breakfast there one day - served in the basement room, and it was nothing special. Didn't eat there again. Starbucks by the tube stop was a much better option.
Overall, the low cost outweighed the bad, and the convenience of the location was really helpful. I would look further next time before booking here again, but if nothing else was available, it would do.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ravna Gora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravna Gora Hotel

Address: 29 Holland Park Avenue, London W11 3RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #416 of 517 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ravna Gora Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HostelBookers, Tingo, HotelsClick, Budget Places, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ravna Gora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravna Gora Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ravna Gora Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.