We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful and Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thatched House Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Thatched House Hotel to your Saves list
Thatched House Hotel
135 Cheam Road, London SM1 2BN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #433 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Helpful and Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

we stayed one night, to see a band in Sutton, the hotel has a very helpful owner, its small, quiet and friendly, breakfast was good, room clean and comfortable, we found that this hotel was excellent value for our stay !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    16
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
11
3
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Margate, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

The building is in need of attention both externally and internally. However the owner was friendly, if a little casual.
We stayed in the '4-poster room', which opened onto the garden, which was nice, but the bed was a very basic 4-poster, and too big for the room, and facilities were basic. - disappointing.
The door to our room wouldn't close properly, and neither did the door to the en-suite. The owner promised to sort it out as we went out, but couldn't, so when we arrived back late that evening, he told us to just slam it! This took several very noisy attempts, much to the annoyance of people in the next room!!
The door to the shower was also faulty, and was off it's rails by the time we left.
The breakfast, however, was cooked freshly, to order, and was delicious! And the cook/waitress was very sweet.
Overall, since this was supposed to be a treat, to visit our daughter on my birthday, I was very disappointed, since my husband had booked believing the room/hotel to be what it was not, and certainly did not live up to it's reviews. Would not return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stayed there for two nights, 15 minute walk to Sutton or you can get a bus from outside. Easy commute into London from there. The Hotel itself is on a busy road but that did not put us off. The room was clean and tidy. Breakfast was cooked to order and the receptionist were very helpful. I would more than likely go back there again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter away from the busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed at the Thatched House Hotel for a few days to visit my son who lives in Sutton. Room was warm, bed very comfy, shower room very clean. Breakfast was very filling with quick service, cooked to order. You help yourselves to fruit juice or cereal & toast followed by a full English or what every you fancy. Breakfast time is quite long so you can enjoy a lay in bed if you wish.
Paresh the owner, ordered taxis for us on quite a few occasions with no problems. Only £5 to the station in Sutton for all the restaurants although the hotel does provide a bar & a restaurant with limited opening times.
We will be coming back to stay at The Thatched house Hotel in the near future.

Room Tip: Have a room at the back of the hotel. Road in front is very busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

me and my family stayed at the Thatched house hotel from the 30th october till friday the 1st november for our sons wedding the hotel was great the staff were great and the food was great paresh the hotel owner could not do enough for us we will be staying at this hotel again in the future we came from ireland and the minute we got to the thatched house
hotel paresh and his staff became part of our family we have stayed in a lot of hotels in different countries but this is the warmest welcome and best service ever we recived in the thatched house hotel

Room Tip: room 21 for the garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Stayed here for one night on a business trip. Hotel website advertised that the hotel had been recently refurbished. Think they forgot about Room 22! The room had had a lick of paint but that was about it. The curtains didn't meet in the middle. Not much of a problem if you are not on the ground floor, but I was overlooking the car park. The carpet was very old and the skirting boards were coming away from the walls. Breakfast was OK. Not the best and no choice given. Paid £85 for the night. Not worth more than £60 and that's being generous. Won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Just wanted to say we had a very good stay here last night. We arrived at the hotel at 12.30pm, and our room was clean and so we were given the key. Asked where the nearest place was to grab a sandwich and was told there was a garage 5 mins away, and there was! Bought lunch and sat in the hotel garden, peace and quiet, you wouldn`t know there was all the noise of the traffic at the front! Reception rooms and corridors need a facelift but bedroom were fine. Full English breakfast included.............and very good it was too! Would highly recommend, very good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thatched House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thatched House Hotel

Address: 135 Cheam Road, London SM1 2BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#58 Best Value Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Thatched House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thatched House Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thatched House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.