We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always as comfortable as home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Road House

High Road House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added High Road House to your Saves list
High Road House
162-166 Chiswick High Road, London W4 1PR, England (Chiswick)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 535 London B&B and Inns
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Always as comfortable as home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Huge and comfortable beds. Sky + in room Complimentary toiletries always come in handy.
Great location. And simple but tasty food options until late. I come here often. Try the mac and cheese. Great shopping on chiswick high road

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    15
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
30
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed here on Saturday for one night as the location was perfect for our needs. We had heard of the Soho House Group but never visited one of their properties before and it really exceeded our expectations!

We opted for a "Tiny" room due to the limited amount of time we would actually be in the room, it was anything but tiny, plenty of room for what we needed. There was nothing we didn't like about it: comfy bed with lot of pillows, fab shower, more Cowshed products than you could ever use and loads of little 'touches' that had obviously been thought through very well; to be honest, all you need when staying here is a change of clothes, everything else is provided including toothpaste and a tooth brush!

We ate in the brasserie twice (lunch and breakfast), both times outside, and everything we had was delicious, no grumbles whatsoever. It was by far the busiest place on the street and for good reason I hasten to add!

We had late nibbles and cocktails in the members bar, my wife is still raving about the spinach and sweet onion fondue, it was that good!

We will be back and would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat! We booked through Mr & Mrs Smith so got a full size Cowshed product to take away for free, bonus!

Room Tip: Don't be afraid of going "Tiny", they're not (we stayed in room 10)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong Region, China
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We booked nearly all of the 14 rooms for our wedding weekend and absolutely loved our stay. We had the Playroom (superior room) and our guests were divided up between the Small and Tiny rooms, which were neither small nor tiny. The hotel team, rooms, ambiance, facilities and experience surpassed our expectations. The rate is very reasonable for a superb London location with access to the private member's club. The High Round House really made us feel welcome.

The Cowshed products were a big hit with all the guests and everyone enjoyed exploring the rooms and the drawers - the "pamper drawer" and tea and coffee drawer with home-made cookies were particular favourites. The beds were amazing - huge and comfy. When we were shown to the room Radio 4 was playing on the DAB Radio. The towels were huge, white and generous. The rain shower amazing and the selection of products to try left you feeling truly pampered. We all had breakfast at the House club, which was delicious using great quality ingredients. We also ate at the Brasserie in the evening and had cocktails in the club, and every experience was fantastic.

The Playroom was a superb setting for my wedding day preparations and photography - calm, white, light, airy and relaxing. Perfection. The whole House team were accomodating and the experience helped make our wedding weekend! We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I appreciate that the British like quirky "private members club" and that shabby is chic, but this place left me feeling cold. Only in London would a place like this pass for a club. The rooms were ok and different. I liked that. But the staff--and the self-imported membership officer--were truly AWFUL. I was introduced to a "membership officer" and the woman deigned to speak to me. She told me about the process of applying for membership and seemed proud of their very long waiting list. Waiting list? We aren't talking about the Groucho or Reform Club, but a club that is now part of a corporate chain. Remember "so-so house" in Manhattan. This is its twin. Spare me.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I was on audit being loved by the world when I was fortunate enough to find this place to stay - what a find. I absolutely loved it. Fantastic! One day I will be back. Room amazing and full of stuff to try, toiletries, drinks and nibbles. Breakfast lovely and evening meals out of this world. LOVED this place!!!

Room Tip: All good if not better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

I have stated at High Road House a few times recently and I have to say it really has been wonderful! The rooms are beautifully decorated and appointed with lovely things like home made biscuits and Cowshed toiletries.All very luxurious.The food both in room and in the dinning room is exceptional and the atmosphere in the bar is very relaxing and homely.The staff are always pleasant,have time for you and make a point of recognising you when you return each day which is nice.Such a lovely all round experience and a hotel I recommend to anyone needing to stay in the Chiswick area.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

We stayed in the hotel overnight after a birthday event in the club area. It was great because the lift from the club goes directly to the room corridor which was very convenient after the end of a good night partying. The rooms are quite small but very comfortable especially the bed which has a fabulous mattress and duvet. We heard some noise from the Chiswick High Road but is what you might expect in central london. The shower room was perfect for us because we are not big bath fans and the Cowshed accessories were a treat. We had breakfast in the club restaurant which feels more special than the downstairs brasserie which can be accessed by general public. It has a very relaxed Sunday morning vibe with plenty of papers to devour and a delicious fry up!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper you could ask for a room overlooking the back of the hotel away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to High Road House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Road House

Address: 162-166 Chiswick High Road, London W4 1PR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Chiswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 535 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your High Road House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Road House Hotel London
High Road House London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Road House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.