We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hoxton has a good restaurant.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Save Saved
You added The Hoxton, Shoreditch to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel) (East End / East London)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Port de Pollenca, Spain
1 review
“Hoxton has a good restaurant.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Nice small rooms and with down stairs in th lobby and restaurant it is always people.
Service and food in restaurant very good. Small breakfast bag at Your food every morning.
Trendy suraundings. Close to Liverpool Street station.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Thank you for sharing the love, great to hear that you liked the rooms and the food. Hope to have you in the house again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,202
    971
    124
    38
    24
See reviews for
341
1634
242
489
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (625)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Husband and I extended his business trip. He had a trade show at Excel and needed a place closer to that area. After doing a few searches, we discovered this gem - quirky, fun, easily accessible and more affordable than other centrally located hotels in London. We enjoyed the daily breakfast delivered to our door in convenient travel bags - banana and yogurt on the go. Close to Old Street Tube station. Will visit again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
You must visit again! Thank you for taking the time to spread the love. Hope to see you and hubby real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This place has seriously impressed me. It's not necessarily the design, which is great, but a tad overdone. It's also not necessarily the staff, which has a tad too much self-confidence when dealing with customers. It's also not necessarily the rooms, which are very nicely decorated, but which combine ally he good elements of other hotels. No, it's mostly the energy that has obviously been put into combining all elements that make for a good stay and to make that combination work.
What you get, then, is a great bed, a relaxing but inspiring room, a very nice shower, and a great breakfast in an atmosphere that makes you feel like you can relax and enjoy. And that is what every traveler ultimately wants. So I take my hat off to the Hoxton and hope to return here soon.

Room Tip: The rooms to the back are seriously quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
HIGH FIVES. We think it's very good, that you think we are very good. Great news that we impressed you, we do try! Thank you for taking the time to review us, do come back soon and take your hat off again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Where to begin? The Hoxton was first rate, from start to finish. The location is fantastic for East London sights and action. The staff were very friendly, helpful and accommodating. The rates were reasonable considering the level of service, style and location. The decor was very cool - this is a seriously hipster hotel but without the pretentious attitude (everyone was so friendly!). The beds were comfortable (and I'm super picky about mattresses). The lobby is a bar/restaurant and it's very loud in the evening, but our room (facing back of building, 4th floor) was dead silent. The windows were double glazed and I think the room must have been fully soundproofed. The A/C was above the door, around the corner from the bed so it didn't blow on you, but still cooled the room (and quietly!). Internet radio in the room was great too. Unlike so many nicer hotels, they don't "nickle-and-dime" you here: the wi-fi is free, works well even in the room and does not require a password, they give you free bottled water, have book exchanges, free room service mini-breakfast, coffee/tea in room, several free newspapers to choose from (including The Guardian and Observer, even on the weekend). I am glad I didn't cheap out and stay elsewhere, because this hotel really made the weekend special!

Room Tip: Our room on the 4th floor at the back of the building was dead silent. Lobby is loud but room was qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We're glad you didn't cheap out either and stay somewhere else. Great to hear that you had a special weekend, hope to see you in the hood again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We'd hoped to stay at this hotel for a while, and we were thrilled to finally get the chance for a long weekend in London. Unfortunately, this fell on the hottest weekend of the year so far, which limited our ability to enjoy the surroundings quite as much as we'd hoped - but it meant we spent a little more time in the hotel than planned. The good news is, this is a fantastic place where you can easily while away time.

From the moment you arrive, the sense that this is a little different is strong. The Hoxton's entrance doors swing open to reveal a huge open space - at your right the Hoxton Grill, and to your left a lounge with lovely big vintage chairs. Check-in is quick, with the staff well informed, friendly and informal. Also here on the ground floor are Apple Macs available for free internet access, and an old photo booth! Service is generally great - and nothing feels like too much trouble. A great touch is the 'taxi lamp'. Ask for a cab and the reception staff switch on a light outside the hotel which flashes until a cab stops!

Our room on the second floor was of fairly average size by London standards, but felt luxurious. The wood floors and black tiled bathroom looked fantastic, with the firm but comfortable bed appointed with high quality linens. The desk revealed all sorts of quirks - the Hoxton way is not to deluge the guest with information, but to post little notices to tell you how the important stuff works. Here we found a useful map of Hoxton and Shoreditch, and a paper bag on which to order the free breakfast offering. This is simple enough - circle the number of people, select the time you want the items, and hang it outside the door. Sure enough, at the appointed hour two bags of goodies arrived including delicious yoghurt and granola and excellent orange juice. Just like everything here, we felt that time had been spent on figuring out a really high quality but unpretentious offering. The hotel pulls this off really well.

Despite being on the busy Great Eastern Street, the hotel's glazing keeps things remarkably quiet with only the loudest of City Noises creeping in. If you want a quieter, but perhaps less colourful experience there is wing of the hotel which faces away from the main street too. Most of the time, despite the heat, the air-conditioning kept the room cool enough to keep the windows closes and sounds firmly outdoors. The other furnishings are basic but luxurious - in our room a vintage office chair, a large leather armchair with very cool 'cassette tape' styled cushion which I badly wanted to steal, and a selection of books. There's a huge TV if you have time to watch it, and wifi access is always free and easy to obtain with no passwords or complications.

One of the huge attractions of being in Hoxton is the area itself - for a while now it's been an arty, hip neighbourhood on the fringe of the City of London. Thus, you'll find an dizzying array of things to see and do. Eating and drinking are well catered for - aside from the Hoxton Grill which is part of the hotel, there are countless cool, interesting bars and restaurants in the area - especially focused on nearby Hoxton Square. There are also likely to be all kinds of pop-up events and shops in the area - and really the only way to find out is to wander around and follow your instincts. This is a busy, generally very safe area to walk - you're more likely to bump into hipsters than gangsters in Hoxton! While we were in town, Rivington Street was closed for "A Fete Worse Than Death" - lots of local artists and performers holding an old fashioned village fete in the middle of London, for example. Further afield is Brick Lane with it's market, vintage stores and fantastic Indian food and 24hr Beigel Bake. There's always something happening here, and never a quiet moment it seems. Don't worry about being far away from London's other attractions though - there are buses directly outside the hotel which head for Oxford Street, Waterloo and points west. Also nearby is Old Street station, and the new East London line which connects with the wider tube and rail network. However, if I've one tip it's to WALK in Hoxton. The street art, interesting buildings and generally feel of the place is truly interesting.

So overall, this is reasonably priced hotel which totally outperforms similar costing competitors. It feels luxurious and relaxing, despite being in a busy, buzzy neighbourhood, and the service and quality makes a stay feel like an event in itself.

Room Tip: There are several feature rooms which look interesting. The rooms facing Great Eastern Street will b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lengthy review, great to hear that you had such a great experience and enjoyed all parts of The Hox. We do hope to see you in the hood again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My wife and I always stay in the Hoxton when we come for a weekend in London- incredible staff, buzzing bar, great food (I'd actually say that the med rare blue cheese and bacon burger is the best in London, and I've tried a lot.....) The amazing Carlos is always really helpful - and the staff remember you when you come back, which is pretty incredible for a hotel of this size. This time we stayed in the brand new 'shoebox' room on the sixth floor which was awesome - try it, basically they make a small room feel much bigger than it actually is, and the bed is super comfy...Also, as we were the very first couple to stay in the room the manager laid on a present of two bottles of Moet contained in a.... shoebox! Amazing! (though of course I can't promise that will happen if you stay there;) Highly recommended, and we will be back again soon, no doubt.

Room Tip: Try the shoebox!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
That burger is amazing right? Great to hear you come back often and thank you for sharing the love. We're also over the MOON that you dig the shoebox, lovely to hear such good feedback. Hope to have you in the house again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel!! Amazing location, really close to all the funky bars, pubs & restaurants in Shoreditch. Really friendly staff. It was classy & a bit fancy, but not pretentious. The food in the restaurant was great too.
Loved the little breaky bags, a bit different from your standard, but great for a light breaky in bed before you start the day!!
Only downside was that the rooms are pretty small. Otherwise a great spot!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Well that is just GREAT! Thank you for taking the time to share the love, great to hear you liked the hotel, food and neighbourhood. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hoxton, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#49 Business Hotel in London
#49 Family Hotel in London
#51 Romantic Hotel in London
#53 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoxton, Shoreditch 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've been on the Shoreditch scene for a while now, and like the area we occupy, our style has developed and evolved over time, literally from the ground floor up. With 210 cleverly designed bedrooms, The Hoxton Grill restaurant run in partnership with the Soho House group, a destination bar and The Apartment, our meetings and events space, we have everything you might need all under one roof... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your The Hoxton, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London
The Hoxton, Shoreditch London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hoxton, Shoreditch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.