We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remarkable quality, great value and very, very cool....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Hoxton, Shoreditch to your Saves list
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel) (East End / East London)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Remarkable quality, great value and very, very cool....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We'd hoped to stay at this hotel for a while, and we were thrilled to finally get the chance for a long weekend in London. Unfortunately, this fell on the hottest weekend of the year so far, which limited our ability to enjoy the surroundings quite as much as we'd hoped - but it meant we spent a little more time in the hotel than planned. The good news is, this is a fantastic place where you can easily while away time.

From the moment you arrive, the sense that this is a little different is strong. The Hoxton's entrance doors swing open to reveal a huge open space - at your right the Hoxton Grill, and to your left a lounge with lovely big vintage chairs. Check-in is quick, with the staff well informed, friendly and informal. Also here on the ground floor are Apple Macs available for free internet access, and an old photo booth! Service is generally great - and nothing feels like too much trouble. A great touch is the 'taxi lamp'. Ask for a cab and the reception staff switch on a light outside the hotel which flashes until a cab stops!

Our room on the second floor was of fairly average size by London standards, but felt luxurious. The wood floors and black tiled bathroom looked fantastic, with the firm but comfortable bed appointed with high quality linens. The desk revealed all sorts of quirks - the Hoxton way is not to deluge the guest with information, but to post little notices to tell you how the important stuff works. Here we found a useful map of Hoxton and Shoreditch, and a paper bag on which to order the free breakfast offering. This is simple enough - circle the number of people, select the time you want the items, and hang it outside the door. Sure enough, at the appointed hour two bags of goodies arrived including delicious yoghurt and granola and excellent orange juice. Just like everything here, we felt that time had been spent on figuring out a really high quality but unpretentious offering. The hotel pulls this off really well.

Despite being on the busy Great Eastern Street, the hotel's glazing keeps things remarkably quiet with only the loudest of City Noises creeping in. If you want a quieter, but perhaps less colourful experience there is wing of the hotel which faces away from the main street too. Most of the time, despite the heat, the air-conditioning kept the room cool enough to keep the windows closes and sounds firmly outdoors. The other furnishings are basic but luxurious - in our room a vintage office chair, a large leather armchair with very cool 'cassette tape' styled cushion which I badly wanted to steal, and a selection of books. There's a huge TV if you have time to watch it, and wifi access is always free and easy to obtain with no passwords or complications.

One of the huge attractions of being in Hoxton is the area itself - for a while now it's been an arty, hip neighbourhood on the fringe of the City of London. Thus, you'll find an dizzying array of things to see and do. Eating and drinking are well catered for - aside from the Hoxton Grill which is part of the hotel, there are countless cool, interesting bars and restaurants in the area - especially focused on nearby Hoxton Square. There are also likely to be all kinds of pop-up events and shops in the area - and really the only way to find out is to wander around and follow your instincts. This is a busy, generally very safe area to walk - you're more likely to bump into hipsters than gangsters in Hoxton! While we were in town, Rivington Street was closed for "A Fete Worse Than Death" - lots of local artists and performers holding an old fashioned village fete in the middle of London, for example. Further afield is Brick Lane with it's market, vintage stores and fantastic Indian food and 24hr Beigel Bake. There's always something happening here, and never a quiet moment it seems. Don't worry about being far away from London's other attractions though - there are buses directly outside the hotel which head for Oxford Street, Waterloo and points west. Also nearby is Old Street station, and the new East London line which connects with the wider tube and rail network. However, if I've one tip it's to WALK in Hoxton. The street art, interesting buildings and generally feel of the place is truly interesting.

So overall, this is reasonably priced hotel which totally outperforms similar costing competitors. It feels luxurious and relaxing, despite being in a busy, buzzy neighbourhood, and the service and quality makes a stay feel like an event in itself.

Room Tip: There are several feature rooms which look interesting. The rooms facing Great Eastern Street will b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lengthy review, great to hear that you had such a great experience and enjoyed all parts of The Hox. We do hope to see you in the hood again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,244
    990
    130
    38
    25
See reviews for
346
1,664
244
507
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My wife and I always stay in the Hoxton when we come for a weekend in London- incredible staff, buzzing bar, great food (I'd actually say that the med rare blue cheese and bacon burger is the best in London, and I've tried a lot.....) The amazing Carlos is always really helpful - and the staff remember you when you come back, which is pretty incredible for a hotel of this size. This time we stayed in the brand new 'shoebox' room on the sixth floor which was awesome - try it, basically they make a small room feel much bigger than it actually is, and the bed is super comfy...Also, as we were the very first couple to stay in the room the manager laid on a present of two bottles of Moet contained in a.... shoebox! Amazing! (though of course I can't promise that will happen if you stay there;) Highly recommended, and we will be back again soon, no doubt.

Room Tip: Try the shoebox!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
That burger is amazing right? Great to hear you come back often and thank you for sharing the love. We're also over the MOON that you dig the shoebox, lovely to hear such good feedback. Hope to have you in the house again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel!! Amazing location, really close to all the funky bars, pubs & restaurants in Shoreditch. Really friendly staff. It was classy & a bit fancy, but not pretentious. The food in the restaurant was great too.
Loved the little breaky bags, a bit different from your standard, but great for a light breaky in bed before you start the day!!
Only downside was that the rooms are pretty small. Otherwise a great spot!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Well that is just GREAT! Thank you for taking the time to share the love, great to hear you liked the hotel, food and neighbourhood. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in June for a family wedding in Hackney. Really enjoyed the atmosphere. Attractive contemporary hotel. Being a Friday and Saturday night, it was very lively downstairs. Probably less so in the week. The room was very comfortable and modern. Free WiFi throughout. I particularly liked the little bottles of fresh milk for tea and coffee. The early morning delivery of breakfast - hanging outside the room was also a great idea.
I will definitely come and stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We think it's super cool that you think we are super cool. Thank you for taking the time to share the love. Great to hear that you enjoyed the brekkie and would defo come back, we'd love to have you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The interior of this hotel is gorgeous. It feels like total luxury and super grand, yet at the same time it feels really comfortable. It's an amazing balance to have achieved as quite often hotels can either feel rather stiff and bland or so luxurious that you feel you cannot even sit down as you'll ruin the arrangement of cushions.
So the downstairs areas are great - you can find a cosy corner or tables for larger numbers. I ate with friends and the food was scrumptious.
The bedroom was small but perfectly thought through and I rather like having a snug little place for the night.
My only mishap was a faulty fridge that was not on. In the morning I brewed a big cup of tea and unfortunately poured lumps of sour milk into it. But this was quickly addressed with 2 fresh cartons delivered pronto. Staff were apologetic and it wasn't a biggy. Instead it just gave the staff a chance to prove how attentive they were.

Room Tip: I suggest higher floors and not facing Great Eastern Street if you want less traffic noise. I think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
SWIT SWOOOO. You are not so bad yourself ;-) Thank you for taking the time to share the love, great to hear you are a big fan of the hotel. Good to hear the milk was replaced straight away too. Hope to have you in the house again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Absolutely love staying here. The rooms are amazing with the comfiest beds I've ever slept in! The meals are excellent and while definitely feeling like a 4*+ hotel, there is nothing to make you feel uncomfortable at all!

Particularly liked the 2 VW Golfs that were welded together to form a 'snug' at the entrance!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Ah THANK YOU! Great to hear you liked the hotel, not sure about those VW Golfs mind...must have of driven off ;-) Hope to see you in the house again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and can't express how comfortable the bed was. Really modern rooms and cool bar. Great location for nightlife(Hoxton), perfect for couples.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Great news, we're always more than happy to be labelled comfortable! Hope to have you sleeping with us again very soon. TA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hoxton, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in London
#53 Romantic Hotel in London
#60 Luxury Hotel in London
#62 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoxton, Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've been on the Shoreditch scene for a while now, and like the area we occupy, our style has developed and evolved over time, literally from the ground floor up. With 210 cleverly designed bedrooms, The Hoxton Grill restaurant run in partnership with the Soho House group, a destination bar and The Apartment, our meetings and events space, we have everything you might need all under one roof... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Hoxton, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London
The Hoxton, Shoreditch London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hoxton, Shoreditch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.