We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky & Fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Hoxton, Shoreditch to your Saves list
The Hoxton, Shoreditch
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel) (East End / East London)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Mooloolaba, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Funky & Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel!! Amazing location, really close to all the funky bars, pubs & restaurants in Shoreditch. Really friendly staff. It was classy & a bit fancy, but not pretentious. The food in the restaurant was great too.
Loved the little breaky bags, a bit different from your standard, but great for a light breaky in bed before you start the day!!
Only downside was that the rooms are pretty small. Otherwise a great spot!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Well that is just GREAT! Thank you for taking the time to share the love, great to hear you liked the hotel, food and neighbourhood. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,245
    991
    130
    38
    25
See reviews for
346
1,665
244
507
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in June for a family wedding in Hackney. Really enjoyed the atmosphere. Attractive contemporary hotel. Being a Friday and Saturday night, it was very lively downstairs. Probably less so in the week. The room was very comfortable and modern. Free WiFi throughout. I particularly liked the little bottles of fresh milk for tea and coffee. The early morning delivery of breakfast - hanging outside the room was also a great idea.
I will definitely come and stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
We think it's super cool that you think we are super cool. Thank you for taking the time to share the love. Great to hear that you enjoyed the brekkie and would defo come back, we'd love to have you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The interior of this hotel is gorgeous. It feels like total luxury and super grand, yet at the same time it feels really comfortable. It's an amazing balance to have achieved as quite often hotels can either feel rather stiff and bland or so luxurious that you feel you cannot even sit down as you'll ruin the arrangement of cushions.
So the downstairs areas are great - you can find a cosy corner or tables for larger numbers. I ate with friends and the food was scrumptious.
The bedroom was small but perfectly thought through and I rather like having a snug little place for the night.
My only mishap was a faulty fridge that was not on. In the morning I brewed a big cup of tea and unfortunately poured lumps of sour milk into it. But this was quickly addressed with 2 fresh cartons delivered pronto. Staff were apologetic and it wasn't a biggy. Instead it just gave the staff a chance to prove how attentive they were.

Room Tip: I suggest higher floors and not facing Great Eastern Street if you want less traffic noise. I think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
SWIT SWOOOO. You are not so bad yourself ;-) Thank you for taking the time to share the love, great to hear you are a big fan of the hotel. Good to hear the milk was replaced straight away too. Hope to have you in the house again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Absolutely love staying here. The rooms are amazing with the comfiest beds I've ever slept in! The meals are excellent and while definitely feeling like a 4*+ hotel, there is nothing to make you feel uncomfortable at all!

Particularly liked the 2 VW Golfs that were welded together to form a 'snug' at the entrance!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Ah THANK YOU! Great to hear you liked the hotel, not sure about those VW Golfs mind...must have of driven off ;-) Hope to see you in the house again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and can't express how comfortable the bed was. Really modern rooms and cool bar. Great location for nightlife(Hoxton), perfect for couples.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Great news, we're always more than happy to be labelled comfortable! Hope to have you sleeping with us again very soon. TA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

what an amazing hotel! The rooms are so slick, with high quality amenities and stylish decor. The staff were great, generous and professional, they bend over backwards to help you! We loved our stay, and the icing on the cake was the free Mango Bicycle rental, which absolutely made our weekend.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Why thank you! What an amazing review ;-) Great to hear you loved the hotel and took advantage of the bikes too! Hope to have you in the 'hood again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed here last weekend and can't rate it highly enough - nice contemporary styling, comfy rooms, great food and drink and attentive, friendly staff.

All at a great price for a central London hotel - we will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hox_Team, Hox_Team at The Hoxton, Shoreditch, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Why THANK YOU! Great to hear that you dig the hotel, hope to have you in the house again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hoxton, Shoreditch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoxton, Shoreditch

Address: 81 Great Eastern Street, London EC2A 3HU, England (Formerly Hoxton Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in London
#53 Romantic Hotel in London
#59 Luxury Hotel in London
#64 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hoxton, Shoreditch 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We've been on the Shoreditch scene for a while now, and like the area we occupy, our style has developed and evolved over time, literally from the ground floor up. With 210 cleverly designed bedrooms, The Hoxton Grill restaurant run in partnership with the Soho House group, a destination bar and The Apartment, our meetings and events space, we have everything you might need all under one roof... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Hoxton, Shoreditch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoxton Hotel London
The Hoxton, Shoreditch London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hoxton, Shoreditch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.